We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 1/2 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“4 1/2 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at The Roosevelt. The Hotel has been beautifully restored. The rooms are gracious and grand. The service is very good. I would like to thank Ramey and Peter in particular. There is a lot of attention to detail. In terms of the rooms, you can hear the doors open and close. The location is fantastic. You can walk everywhere and are not in the middle of the quarter.
Teddy's Cafe was reasonable and actually had good coffee and snacks.
Fountain Lounge was overpriced and the wine was a very small pour, yet pricey.
Sazerac Bar was fun, but they do not serve food.
Dominica was okay.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    747
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
548
1,376
123
946
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. This was my first trip to the Big Easy. We are going back and staying at the Roosevelt.
Great food and wonderful staff.
The restaurant manager Nicole Williams and her staff really made me feel at home with the southern hospitality.
The Roosevelt is a must if you are planning a trip to New Orleans!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for a business conference. It was a beautiful hotel & in the perfect location. Within walking distance to the French Market, Bourbon Street, Royal, etc. Rooms were very nice & the staff was great. I will definitely stay here again when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

While the hotel itself was charming and the rooms spacious and well-appointed, it was the staff that made my experience here so memorable. From the Bell Desk to the Concierge to the Housekeepers, every interaction I had with a member of the staff was warm and cordial with many going above and beyond what I "expected" at a hotel of this caliber, exceeding my expectations at every turn. Specifically, Don in the Concierge Department was amazingly warm, thoughtful, and generous and his personalized attention was beyond compare. I obviously highly recommend this hotel and commend them on their attention to detail and the quality of people they have representing their brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

For all the hype of staying at the Waldorf Astoria, I found that it was just as plain as any other hotel. I was quite disappointed that I could hear the couple in the next room enjoying themselves. The bathroom while nice was not cleaned properly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Melkirk Allista... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Why is this number 5? This place is amazing and so beautiful, you almost don't want to leave the hotel. Everything was five stars: our room, service, location, food. The Roosevelt Hotel Bar was buzzing every night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavsc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasant ridge, mi
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I just returned from a weekend at the Roosevelt. It was outstanding!! I had requested an early check in via email and did receive an email back that they would try. Upon arriving, the gentleman that email me came to the desk to inform me that it would be no problem, he then walked my husband and I to our room. The room was spacious and comfortable. The lobby is gorgeous. The staff helpful. The restaurant had wonderful food(especially the turtle soup!) service was lacking a little.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdotbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,814 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing