We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly, I enjoyed my stay....for the most part”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Surprisingly, I enjoyed my stay....for the most part”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I read the reviews and ended up choosing this hotel (mostly because the others I wanted were already booked up!) The "face-to-face service" was great but the
behind-the-scenes" staff could use some improvement. Housekeeping was minimal - no refreshing of the used items. I left generous tips every morning and didn't feel like the room was left to typical standards. And my room was teeny tiny! I noticed the room was never vacuumed - the same crumbs were there my entire stay. I had to roam the halls looking for housekeeping to ask for additional Kleenex. The nighttime turn-down service was much more thoughtful though! I wish I could I have tipped them. Front desk was terrific. I have medium status with Hilton Honors and they seemed to acknowledge that, although couldn't help me with an upgrade due to hotel availability. My expectations were low knowing that it was an old hotel. Overall, it was better than I though it would be, but I might try another hotel the next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunscreen212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,469
    784
    278
    119
    69
See reviews for
592
1,468
128
985
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was there for a convention, and initially picked the place because it was one of the hotels recommended by the meeting. It was a nice and luxurious room. I travel often for meetings and I have stayed at multiple hotels all around the world. The Waldorf Astoria has been the best hotel I stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Mays E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Room was clean, bedding fresh, super comfortable bed and service outstanding. The nightly rate is a bit pricey, however, to be steps away from Canal St there is a cost. Very nice for a couples romantic get-a-way. Overnight delivery trucks were a noicey so just be prepared to be awakend at times.

Room Tip: Choice a room away from the loading dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevisisforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Hats off to the entire staff. I don't think I have ever been to a hotel where even the staff working to change linens would greet you so kindly in the hallway, and with a smile. I'm not sure if it is because of Waldorf Astoria, because of New Orleans or a combo between the two but it made us feel extremely safe and welcomed. Every time we ran into someone in the hallway the greeted us with a smile and a kind, sincere "good morning." The thing that we missed the most at the hotel, however, was the presence of complimentary tea/coffee. I realize there is a barista downstairs so its a conflict of interest, but most hotels at least have a way to heat up water and with my wife being sick on this trip it would have been very beneficial. I found myself going outside the hotel often to get reasonably priced tea/coffee. Everything else about the hotel was outstanding. We attended a wedding reception and the found was amazing. I wish I had time to eat more of it! My daughter and I also got to meet Chef John Besh in the lobby which was a really cool touch. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Enjoyed the old'school theme. Friendly and helpful staff, variety of on-location restaurants and sparkling rooms. A few blocks off the Riverwalk, but still a good location. I will definitely go back and recommend others to try it out.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the hotel is extremely quiet and well maintained. The room was extremely comfortable and the shower was awesome. The pool is outdoors with a hot tub and bar. The issue is the price. For the rate the concierge was virtually useless (they couldnt even recommend an oyster bar thats attached to the other hilton and couldnt be bothered to know anything about tours), the location was a bit farther than some of the other hotels, and the "status" perks are poor. As a gold member we received a drink ticket, to a bar you couldnt get a seat at (sazerac). If you're getting married or having a bar mitzvah this hotel would be stellar, but for a vacation in NO I'd seek out a different hotel. There is another Hilton property on St Charles avenue that seems to be more of a vacation spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great place ... Sazerac bar was something from the past come to life! Staff was very cordial and helpful. Meeting rooms were very ornate and the perfect temperature. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a classic hotel stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,864 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,638 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,463 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing