We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New "Home Base" in NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Topsham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Our New "Home Base" in NOLA”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have previously stayed at the Riverfront Hilton when visiting New Orleans, but decided to try the Roosevelt after reading the excellent reviews on this site. We were not disappointed and plan to return on our next visit. As mentioned in previous postings, every staff member we encountered during our stay was smiling, polite and extremely helpful - with one exception that I will later address. The hotel is gorgeous - and I don't use that word often. The lobby was beautifully decorated with lights, garlands, Christmas trees and bows and smelled of pine. Wonderful! We enjoyed watching groups of families and friends taking their annual photos with the lobby and gingerbread village as back drops. Our room was spacious, clean and relaxing. However we had some difficulty using the multi-headed shower that did not appear to work properly. During our stay we had breakfast at Teddy's and after dinner drinks at Sazarac. Wait staff were attentive and professional. We are looking forward to returning to the Roosevelt. I did briefly interact with a "prickly" individual in the Gift Shop (she was possibly a manager or supervisor) but found that experience to be an exception to the otherwise impeccable service at the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 10th floor on the inside "court yard" of the hotel and was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,473
    786
    278
    119
    70
See reviews for
593
1,470
128
988
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I love everything about this historic hotel. The location is fantastic--close to the French Quarter but not too close. The staff members I met were polite and helpful--especially Randy, the best bellman/valet ever. He'll grab you a cab and also tell you all the places to eat and hear music.

The food was delicious. And I haven't even mentioned the gorgeous chandeliers and furnishings of the main floor or the comfortable, well-appointed suites--even the bathrooms are fabulous.

Yes, it is not a cheap stay, but if you want to splurge, this is the place. True Southern comfort in a beautiful setting. The meeting areas are the only downside--the space is a little chopped up and some of the breakout rooms were pretty small, but in terms of the stay itself--spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had to have an unusual trip to Baton Rouge to peruse a business opportunity. Cut it short, and serendipitously stayed in NOLA for a long weekend, The Roosevelt. The historical attraction of the interior, is matched by the service of all the staff. The room was clean, comfortable, well designed, and quiet. Wife loved the bathrooms. The Sazarec Bar was great, and we went on an eating odyssey, mostly in the wharehouse distrect. We also has some great moments at Dominica.
The rooms can be pricey predicated on economic scale, (thus the avg rating on value) but if you have the means, it is a great value for location, service, design, amenities and peace of mind. We will stay again on our next trip to make it easy in "The Big Easy"

Room Tip: Tower away from the Church for a peaceful night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommaso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Top marks all around for the Roosevelt. My room (11th floor, tower 1) was very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable, with a superb shower. The staff were consummate professionals: helpful and efficient. The lobby, complete with holiday decorations, was a sight to behold. The location is ideal if you want to be very close (a block away) but not actually inside the French Quarter.

My only (minor) complaint is the excessive charges for Wi-Fi - $15 per day per device. With a phone and a laptop I was spending over 10% of my bill on internet access.

I would not hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riobard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A lot of tourists enter the hotel and visit the hotel because the lobby itself is already an attraction (especially in November/December because of the christmas decoration). The location is perfect it is very close to Bourbon street and the French quarter.
The hotel offers different restaurants/cafes/bars. I was a little bit disappointed because of the breakfast, they only offer a la carte and really expensive breakfast so we decided to go to another place to eat. The italian restaurant is very well booked so it is better to book a table in advance.
The hotel offers a rooftop pool and bar, but the bar was closed when we went there.
The employees are helpful and housekeeping offers turndown service.

Room Tip: They gave us at the beginning a kingsize room, which was really small and in front of the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sina2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Dina2424,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. The holidays at The Roosevelt is a festive time and we hope that you left our Winter Wonderland with many memorable experiences. We hope if you travel back to New Orleans you will be able to visit us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

ALL HAIL THE ICONIC ROOSEVELT HOTEL !! Truly a New Orleans legend.

We just spent two glorious nights in a Waldorf Suite to celebrate my wife’s birthday and it was amazing. I’ll start by saying that you'll definitely want to consider staying in such a room for a special occasion. But at $636/night (before taxes, fees) it certainly has to be a truly special occasion. We had 30 friends and family traveling from 6 states to join us in the celebration, so it was important to have a room where everyone could congregate comfortably.

And with the Waldorf Suites averaging between 1,100 and 1,300 square feet there was plenty of room to mingle. The room ? – well here’s what you get. First, I’ve never stayed in a room with a doorbell. This feature was particularly nice since friends and family arrived at different times during the day and evening and often the noise level in the room was loud enough to need a doorbell. The room had a full living room with requisite furniture plus a dining room with table, six chairs and buffet. The master bedroom was cavernous and contained the appropriate “seated dressing and make-up area” for my lady. The bathroom had dual sinks, a soaking tub, shower and toilet. The shower featured “body jets” for a luxurious feel after hard days of entertaining. Ha ! Ha !

There was also a guest bathroom just off the dining room. The last important feature of the room was a kitchen/bar area separate but just off the living room. Much mixology occurred on the granite countertop. There was a small refrigerator plus sink and cabinets below the counter. All in all this room was amazing. And they must be soundproofed well. Request room 20445 when booking a very special occasion. Lastly, I’ll note that we celebrated my wife’s party in a private room on the second floor of the hotel. It was catered by the Roosevelt Hotel and was simply out of this world. The 3-hour event featured Louisiana’s finest cuisine and libations and every detail was managed and taken care of by the magical Michelle M., Associate Director of Catering. Also remember that during the holiday season, the hotel lobby is world renowned for its decorations and open to the public (from just after Thanksgiving to New Year’s). As such, there is a continuous stream of revelers enjoying and photographing the scene(s). But at 8 am in the morning each day, it’s virtually deserted and those of us staying in the hotel were able to enjoy the sublime decorations and finery undisturbed.

IT WAS SIMPLY WONDERFUL. Definitely an experience for the ages !!

Beach Mark

Room Tip: 20445 - Nuff Said !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Beach-Mark,

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience at The Roosevelt Hotel. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Your review was a delight to read and we are ecstatic that your wife had an amazing birthday. We are happy to learn that Michelle was able to deliver the birthday celebration that will be remembered for many years. She is definitely an asset to The Roosevelt team and we will share your review with her. Thank you again for sharing this joyful time with The Roosevelt Hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Very classy hotel in the heart of the CBD about 1/2 block from Canal Street and the French Quarter. If you are in town during the Holidays, you must stop by and Check out the Christmas decorations inside, and I am sure you will be stopping to take a few pictures. Also check out some of the bars and restaurants at the hotel and you will definitely find a lively crowd during happy hour on the weekdays as a lot of people who work or live in the area stop by for food and drinks aright after work.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Good RahulMD,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor Community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us this holiday season. Holidays at The Roosevelt Hotel are a wonderful time and something that we look forward to each year. Thank you for you kind comments about our bars and restaurants. The Roosevelt for many years has been a wonderful meeting place to socialize and reconnect with friends and family. We hope if you travel to New Orleans again that you are able to stay with us again.

Happy Holidays,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,875 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,473 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,555 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing