We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$518
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Pavillon Hotel(New Orleans)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Court Hotel(New Orleans)
US$903
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$388
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$752
US$331
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$435
US$398
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,170)
Filter reviews
4,170 results
Traveller rating
2,759
861
322
140
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,759
861
322
140
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssazerac barfountain loungeteddy's cafedomenica restaurantbeautiful hotelpersonal conciergethe blue roomfrench quarterking suiteturn down servicechristmas decorationscanal streetclassic hotelbeautiful lobbyroom serviceold worldconcierge desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,826 - 2,831 of 4,170 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

One of the finest hotels in the country. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays. My suite was wonderful and service excellent. On our flight from Phoenix to New Orleans we read an article from our airline's magazine. It featured a few cocktails from various bars around New Orleans. We decided to do the "tour". We were very happy to discover that the Sazerac bar located in the Roosevelt was on the list. What a wonderful atmosphere this bar has. We enjoyed ourselves very much. However...we had no seating as the bar was full, we didn't mind standing up at the bar itself. This Hotel and Bar are definitely on the top of our list of fabulous places we've been.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear TedM,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during the holiday season. We are so very proud that you think our hotel is one of the finest hotels in the country. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our Trip Advisor community. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family of five was nearly overwhelmed when entering the Roosevelt for the first time to begin our four night stay. The entire expanse of lobby is brightly lit with holiday trees and lighting. It was a great picture opportunity and was unexpected.

The hotel is professionally run - the common areas are clean and attention to detail is apparent everywhere. The rooms are clean and updated, defying the age of the property.

The Sazerac Bar is a popular (read crowded) meeting spot - reminds me of the King Cole Room at the St. Regis in NYC. Domenica is a John Besch restaurant located inside the hotel - it's excellent. (see the restaurant review).

Overall, I give this five stars. Given that our objective was to allow the kids to experience New Orleans, we'll probably look for something inside the French Quarter next time rather than a couple of blocks away like the Roosevelt - but that's not a knock on the Roosevelt. It's the Grand Dame of luxury properties in New Orleans and is a very good selection.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxeFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear giborca,

We are delighted that you and your family were able to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel during the holiday season. We know that our lobby can give a wonderful impression and we are delighted that it was still decorated when you arrived. We were pleased that you were able to visit the Sazerac Bar and experience the vibe of this historic bar. We hope that in the New Year you are able to travel back to New Orleans and are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff was helpful, the room was great and the food excellent. Overall a wonderful experience. I highly recommend a visit during the Christmas Holiday the lobby has a wonderful set up. The breakfast was excellent. I also highly recommend the SPA. We had a wonderful couples massage there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Christopher W,

We are delighted that you had a great stay the last time you visited The Roosevelt Hotel. We are pleased that you were able to experience our Waldorf Wonderland and hope that you left with many memorable moments. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent stay with our Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience in the Guerlain Spa and that you would recommend I to others. We hope you have a wonderful New Year and that your travels can bring you back to New Orleans.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you're looking to stay in a fairyland hotel during the Christmas Holidays then the Roosevelt in New Orleans is your ideal choice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Three in particular, Randy who greets you when you arrive at the hotel, Chris Galvin at check-in, and Cody the concierge who was particularly helpful and managed with little notice to obtain a booking for Christmas dinner only add to the experience. The lobby decorations are unbelievable and the hotel is located a stone's throw form trolley buses as well as from the French Quarter. As well the hotel shop on the ground floor has some very nice items and all Christmas items were 50% as of the 26th!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz29Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Shaz29Ann,

We are delighted that you decided to stay with us this holiday season. We are always happy to hear that our Waldorf Wonderland decorations made your stay even more special. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are pleased to hear that some of our staff members created special moments with you making your stay extra special. We hope that in the New Year that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed in the luxury suite on 12/30 & 12/31. Pros: Room was beautifully decorated with enough space to have a party for about 20 people. Small but very attractive bathroom with a deep soaking tub right under a large window facing the pool. Housekeeping ladies were very nice and professional on every interaction I had with them. Cons: The service level in any other part of this hotel was unacceptable(Guest Relations, Front Desk, Bell Desk, etc...). This is the second time I've stayed here in the past 3 months and have been disappointed with the service level both times. Definitely not even close to Waldorf Astoria standards (excluding housekeeping).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
6  Thank Mohammad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dera Mohammad S,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and allowing us the opportunity to be presented with your feedback. It is of the utmost importance that we receive feedback from our most loyal guests and continue to use that feedback effectively and continue to grow the service that we provide. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with some members of staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews