We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Business trip”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I travelled to New Orleans from New England and the Roosevelt hotel was recommended for our one night stay It is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been in. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. It is within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Janice D,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us with during your business trip to New Orleans. We are delighted to learn that you were able to sight-see our beautiful city during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community and we hope that you are able to visit us again soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,506
    791
    281
    119
    71
See reviews for
598
1,483
128
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay here during a conference and could not have been more pleased. From the point of our arrival to our departure, I felt truly at home. The lobby was incredibly beautiful! Frederick not only helped us with our bags to our room, but gave us a little tour on the way explaining the history of the hotel- which I really appreciated. He was kind enough to give us some tips of his favorite spots, as well. Our room in this historic hotel was spacious and comfortable- not always the case in a building deemed historic. The restaurants and bars here have delicious options and have a lot more character than a typical hotel restaurant/ bar. It's located very close (2/3 blocks)to Bourbon St. & the FQ, but not in it, which I kind of liked because it was nice & quiet. I don't think I would stay anywhere else on my future trips to NOLA, unless I opted for an altogether different experience such as a B&B or a rental. My thanks to the staff at the Roosevelt for giving me a wonderful stay. I don't think anyone would be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear JohnnySconnie,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that your experience was a memorable one and that you would return to The Roosevelt for future trips. We are very pleased that Frederick made you feel like you were home and greeted you with wonderful New Orleans charm. He is definitely an asset to our team and we will make sure that we share your comments with him. Thank you for your kind comments about our historic hotel and that you loved our beauty and charm. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we do look forward to your return. Thank you again for sharing.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Roosevelt is the most elegant hotel in New Orleans. The hotel lobby showcases the old world charm of New Orleans with all of its French inspired architecture and decor. Once you check in you do have to use your key card to gain access to the guest levels of rooms. This adds exclusivity and security to the hotel. They have a fabulous restaurant, bar and lounge to entice your taste buds. The lounge has fresh pastries and deserts with all types of coffees, espressos and cappuccinos for morning, noon and night. I stayed in a King Suite and it was perfect. Two individual rooms. One was the den/lounging area and the other was the bedroom. It had one and a half baths and two large closets. Each room has its own big flat screen TV with a small TV in the bathroom. The best toiletries, Salvatore Ferragamo soaps, shampoos and body wash. Nightly turn down service with chocolates and robes laid out on the bed. I would highly suggest staying here whenever you go to New Orleans. Very easy walk to French Quarter, Bourbon Street and Canal Place Shoppes.

Room Tip: High floors away from Elevators to help with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDB0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear DDB076,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are overjoyed that you feel our hotel is the most elegant hotel in New Orleans. Comments like yours are delightful and we love reading about our guest experiences. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that we have the ability to serve you again.

Best,

The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were at the Roosevelt for a conference for two days and I was so impressed with the service from the staff and the management. We had the best service over and over from The Sazerac Bar (great service with comfortable couches and chairs to catch up with friends after a long day), private lunch (which was delicious, tomato bisque, Chef salad and apple tart were very memorable) to the wait at the bathrooms (honestly they would escort you to a bathroom without a line, this was a conference for at least 1500 maybe more, mostly women). Don't miss the gift shop, its awesome too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear pglecher,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay at our hotel during the conference. Thank you for sharing your experience with our staff and we are delighted that they were able to be of assistance you during your stay. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and we look forward to your return.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentine, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My family and I stayed at the Roosevelt a couple nights this week and were extremely pleased with the entire experience. It appears that our travel agent may have made a tiny mistake in our reservations, but Gabriel at the registration desk reassured us, corrected everything immediately and even upgraded both rooms, one to a very nice suite. I mentioned to her that I couldn't quite read her name tag and she said "It's Gabriel, like the Angel". She's not like an angel, she IS an angel! When I asked her where I could book a tour, she guided me to the Concierge.

Don, at the Concierge's desk, made our trip perfect. He made several suggestions for our city tour, he asked us what we like to eat and then he made reservations for us at Le Foret for the first night and at Arnuad's main dining room the second night. He went far, far beyond what anyone at any other establishment would have ever done to make our trip as personally memorable as it was. His knowledge of New Orleans is amazing and he was able to convey his love for the city to us so that we could appreciate it as he does. He even came over to us in the lobby, as we were about to leave, to wish my mother Happy Birthday.

My mother accidentally left a treasured item at Le Foret and the nice lady there called me later that evening to say that they found it and that she would bring it over to the Roosevelt when she closed the restaurant. We had not even contacted Le Foret to look for it, they just figured out who had left it and, on their own initiative, fixed everything.

The quality of the Roosevelt hotel and the quality of the wonderful people who get to "work" there are amazing. The level of the helpful, friendly, customer service skills is as high as it can be anywhere. I almost wonder if some of the guests who have posted negative comments here about the staff might not ever be happy anyplace, under any circumstance?

I highly and completely recommend the Roosevelt!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear David B,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience the last time you were able to travel to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your stay with our TripAdvisor community. Thank you for your kind words about Gabriel, and we will be happy to share them with her. We are delighted that she was able to correct the booking mistake and help you with your reservation. We know that there are a lot of things to do in New Orleans and we are pleased that Don was able to narrow down some choices for you. He is an asset to our Concierge’s team and thank you for your kind words. We hope that the next time you are in New Orleans we have the pleasure to serve you again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was checked in to a room which was not empty, smelled, dirty after they had already made a mistake at check in. I reserved four rooms for me and 6 other employees. Had to go back to the lobby, wait in line to get to the counter for good 30 min, and then they gave me a 12$ voucher for a drink. That was more hurtful, to be treated like that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
5 Thank Mehdi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Mehdi K,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to prevent similar issues from occurring in the future. Should you return to our area, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel was so beautiful. we stayed in the King bed suite and was totally well worth the price. The staff was very helpful and nice. The spa was also wonderful! We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. The restaurants were great as well. The food is delicious. Bourbon street is within walking distance. The hotel is in a great location and look forward to staying here again when we go back to NOLA.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Opal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Opal W,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. We love to hear feedback from our guests, and it delights us that you had a wonderful time. We are overjoyed that our staff was helpful and made your stay pleasant and memorable. Thank you for taking the time and sharing this experience with our TripAdvisor community. We hope that the next time you are in New Orleans you have a chance to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,926 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,513 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
4,625 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing