We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
henderson, nv
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old Hotel!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 3-night stay at The Roosevelt in NOLA. The hotel itself well located in the heart of the French Quarter. Walking to Canal or Bourbon Streets is very easy. The property is historic and impressive. It's extraordinarily well maintained. The variety of food and drink on site is beyond compare. We were upgraded to a two room suite, which was very impressive. The room was very quiet and the bed was heavenly. The temperature was a bit hard to control, and we found it overly warm for sleeping until we simply eliminated the feature duvet. Our overall experience at this property was wonderful, and I would recommend a family or business stay to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendakaynv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear brendakaynv,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that we were able to upgrade your stay and have the pleasure of relaxing in one of our suites. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel grounds and amenities. We are pleased that you were very comfortable and able to enjoy yourself while you were staying with us. We hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon and we hope you are able to visit us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,506
    791
    281
    119
    71
See reviews for
598
1,483
128
1,002
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week ... Undoubtedly one of the best hotels in the country. Great staff and amazing leadership from the management team . Well done all ... This is how it's done . This is one place that is not home away from home ... It is better than home !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NitinRamtri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear NitinRamtri,

Thank you for your wonderful comment. We are overjoyed when we read reviews like yours because our goal at The Roosevelt Hotel is to deliver memorable moments to all of our guest. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope that if you are ever traveling back to New Orleans that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is the second time I have reviewed the Roosevelt, but have stayed here on a number of occasions. This last stay re-affirmed the truly exceptional service that they offer, most especially the service of Don Starr, concierge. Don went well above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that myself and my friend were taken care of during our stay. Professional, courteous - a true delight. I would highly recommend all who visit the Roosevelt to ask for him and his assistance - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Elegant, beautiful, stellar service, perfect. Everything was as good as a hotel experience can be. I was there for one night and a business meeting the following day. My room was a classic suite with the appointments and amenities one would expect from one of the finest hotels in America. I was impressed with their staff's kind and professional service. A pleasure and privilege!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GoodServiceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Being my first time in New Orleans, what struck me the most was how much history there is in New Orleans. Having said this, The Roosevelt has so much character as it looks like a hotel from the past. There is just so much charm in the hotel.

Just a few things on my experience:

- I attended the NADA conference and found myself without calling cards. The concierge gave me great advice and I ended up in the UPS store on the mezzanine. I had calling cards in a few hours. Great tip from the concierge and the UPS staff was amazing as well.

-location is great.

-The hotel room I got was big - for any standards. Two double beds greeted me and my companion. One of the nicest rooms I have stayed in in a while.

-Breakfast was set for us in conference rooms - very forgettable breakfasts but that was probably from the organizer.

-Something though about the service: when they knock on the rooms to check if you need anything, they just bang on the door. Happened several times. Not the nicest thing for a jet lagged traveler taking a nap in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Had an awesome room on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlsoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is by far, my favorite place to stay in New Orleans. I travel for business and pleasure and can't imagine staying anyplace other than the Roosevelt. I always look forward to the extra attention from the staff, especially Albert Hendrix. He always makes sure everything is perfect upon my arrival. This is a perfect place to stay with kids too. It is across from the Quarter and quiet. Our rooms were always clean (Myra made sure of this) and we had to extend our stay and Alexandria made sure we were well taken care of. The new fountain lounge has great gumbo and a friendly, attentive staff. It was too cold to use the pool but is a great amenity. I would always highly recommend the Roosevelt because it is a great hotel but mostly the staff is what makes it so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank nik35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear nik35805,

We were delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience the last time you stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and we will definitely make sure that they receive your compliment. We thank you for your loyalty and we hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

no better place to be when it comes to work, food, relaxing and pleasure. if you are looking for a place to get work done in a beautiful , relaxing atmosphere, this is your place. the hotel is excellent, the food music and drinks can't be beat. The service and the people are what dreams are made of. It is difficult not to stay focus on work in this environment while relaxing at every availiable moment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Fred M,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that your staycation was a relaxing and refreshing experience. It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience in our restaurant and that our staff was wonderful. We hope that if you have a chance to stay in New Orleans again for a mini break you are able to stay with us.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
2,922 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing