We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded my expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is perfect for many reasons. It is right off of some of the main parade routes and the staff is above par. The rooms are large, clean and very nice decor. I recommend the bar in the hotel called Sazerac's. Very nice ambiance if you are just chilling or going out on the town. If you go during Christmas check out their website. They really go all out on the entryway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CajunQueen70124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,322
    746
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
548
1,375
123
945
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was my second trip to the Roosevelt and surprisingly, my experience was even better than my 2013 stay. I say surprisingly because that stay was nothing but positive for me. Since 2013, the Roosevelt has opened or renovated some of its lobby bar and dining options, including the Fountain Lounge which is a nice space to relax and have a Sazerac or an Abita. We also tried Domenica on this visit and the food was fantastic. One cannot help but delight in the historical luxury and ambiance of this magnificent hotel, and once again, we saw several wedding parties doing just that. We even bumped into one ecstatic groom in the elevator, who announced with pride and enthusiasm that he had just moments ago, said his vows. When the elevator doors opened onto the wedding festivities floor, there was so much excitement and happiness apparent on all the guests' faces. This hotel continues to exceed my high expectations, and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_from_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMBALL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The history that this hotel has is incredible. The original tile in the lobby is beautiful. I would stay there again! It has a great location to things you would want to do in New Orleans. My room was next to the elevator and in previous hotels it is the noisiest room, this one was so very quiet - I loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at many, many hotels in and near the French Quarter in the past, but decided to give this property a try. We were impressed with the lobby that was decorated beautifully for Christmas. I decided to get an 'Astoria Suite' as a special surprise for my wife. It was a surprise alright! They gave us room 200227 on the second floor. It's located on the convention floor behind a double door in a very awkward place. We had gone to the room by ourselves and as we entered it was like entering a cave. In the middle of the day and so dark we groped all over for a light switch……..to find out that there are no light switches, only switches on the lamps themselves. So while we were searching I threw open the first window to discover a brick wall in front of me! I threw open the next window and I could see some sky if you looked high enough over all the heating and cooling pipes. My wife was able to get the lights on, we were in the living room part and my wife laughed and said, 'We got the crappidy crapster room'. In the middle of the living room sits a 3' x 3' pillar. It's totally in the way for enjoying the room. The bedroom was down the hall passed both bathrooms that sit side by side. The bedroom feels like it is in a different cave. The two rooms are so far apart that we had to yell to hear each other! We looked at each other and decided to see if they could move us. Nope, hotel was full. That sucked.
The next day, the manager showed us two rooms of a lower category. Much better. We moved and enjoyed the rest of our stay. However, when the bill came they still charged us two nights for an Astoria suite. Bitter insult. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay Away from Astoria Suites!!!!! Do not accept room 200227!!! Horrible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Grant G,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during your last visit to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Please note we have responded to the experience you had directly via email and are happy to discuss further. We strive to ensure each experience at the Roosevelt is memorable, genuine and at the highest level of service possible. With the historic nature of our property it affords our guests a variety of suites and we feel strongly there is a suite to fit every need. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best,
Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Great comfortable bed and lovely to have a suite. Little things could have been better - the drape on the bed was stained, the curtains needed attention or they let in light. Service was ok if a little slow

Enjoyed stay but would try a different hotel next time I'm in town

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank no1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Roosevelt is a gorgeous hotel in a great location for visiting New Orleans. Just a block away from the French Quarter, two blocks from Bourbon Street, and right on some of the streetcar routes. It is about a 20-minute cab ride from the airport. I was attending a meeting and the convention area is very nice.

The rooms are very nice and super comfortable. They provide robes, slippers, and a hairdryer. Turn down service every night offers newly made beds, chocolates, and a card with the next day's weather. The lobby and bar are beautiful. The Sazerac bar is very nice, but expensive as is everything else in the hotel. There is a coffee bar/breakfast place also located in the lobby and it opens at 6AM. The hotel is at a perfect location, only a few blocks from the French Quarter, in quieter Business District. The concierge gave us very good tips for the foods to try in NOLA and recommended few interesting tours to try.

Only complain about this hotel is the parking. Parking is $42+ tax over night; I am surprised no one mentions the ridiculous parking rate. Do not let them valet; it is only $20 per 24 hr. across the street with Premium Parking with in/out privilege.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edcmoverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I got a chance to stay at the Roosevelt Hotel due to a company function that she was organizing. the cost is typically more than we are apt to spend on a hotel, but her company put us up in a suite.
the rooms are very nice and well kept. the staff is extremely attentive and accommodating.
There are a number of restaurants and bars to choose from all all were wonderful! I especially enjoyed Sazerac!!! ( though it is somewhat pricey by our standards). The hotel itself is down town not far from the French Quarter and you can quickly get to all of the attractions. We really enjoyed our stay there!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear MinnDude,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during your last visit to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that our staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. We hope that the next time you travel to New Orleans you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt Hotel Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing