We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Room wasn't what we had booked. Had to go back to front desk to change and they did. Room next door had at least TWO children running and yelling for hours. Had to notify front desk who notified security at ten pm at night time. Kids finally went to bed. And guest what,it started all over again in the morning.

When we checked out Sunday morning, it was cold and pouring down raining. I had to go outside and stand on the steps with all the other people that checked out. This is with Valet Service, which I paid over $35.00 a night. There excuse was there was over 100 people checking out that morning. When I told them that we could just wait in our room and to call us when you retrieved our vehicle, they said that they couldn't do that. Finally after 35 minutes, they brought me my vehicle. I been staying in NO for over 25 years and live just down the road. This wasn't worth the price of a "Famous Hotel"
My mother n law was married in the Blue Room back in the 50's.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear albert f,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us the last time you visited New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are happy to note that our front desk staff was able to provide the correct accommodations and rest assured that our valet management team will be following up regarding your feedback. Thank you again for choosing the Roosevelt New Orleans and we look forward to the next opportunity to host you as our guest.

Best,
Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,400
    768
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
572
1,432
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our second stay in the last three years and once again we found the same very courteous and prompt staff. Beautiful, clean and well kept hotel. Rooms are a bit tight, but not any more so than most New Orleans older hotel rooms. Location couldn't be better, steps from the French Quarter and downtown business district.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is perfect for many reasons. It is right off of some of the main parade routes and the staff is above par. The rooms are large, clean and very nice decor. I recommend the bar in the hotel called Sazerac's. Very nice ambiance if you are just chilling or going out on the town. If you go during Christmas check out their website. They really go all out on the entryway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CajunQueen70124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was my second trip to the Roosevelt and surprisingly, my experience was even better than my 2013 stay. I say surprisingly because that stay was nothing but positive for me. Since 2013, the Roosevelt has opened or renovated some of its lobby bar and dining options, including the Fountain Lounge which is a nice space to relax and have a Sazerac or an Abita. We also tried Domenica on this visit and the food was fantastic. One cannot help but delight in the historical luxury and ambiance of this magnificent hotel, and once again, we saw several wedding parties doing just that. We even bumped into one ecstatic groom in the elevator, who announced with pride and enthusiasm that he had just moments ago, said his vows. When the elevator doors opened onto the wedding festivities floor, there was so much excitement and happiness apparent on all the guests' faces. This hotel continues to exceed my high expectations, and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_from_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOMBALL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The history that this hotel has is incredible. The original tile in the lobby is beautiful. I would stay there again! It has a great location to things you would want to do in New Orleans. My room was next to the elevator and in previous hotels it is the noisiest room, this one was so very quiet - I loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at many, many hotels in and near the French Quarter in the past, but decided to give this property a try. We were impressed with the lobby that was decorated beautifully for Christmas. I decided to get an 'Astoria Suite' as a special surprise for my wife. It was a surprise alright! They gave us room 200227 on the second floor. It's located on the convention floor behind a double door in a very awkward place. We had gone to the room by ourselves and as we entered it was like entering a cave. In the middle of the day and so dark we groped all over for a light switch……..to find out that there are no light switches, only switches on the lamps themselves. So while we were searching I threw open the first window to discover a brick wall in front of me! I threw open the next window and I could see some sky if you looked high enough over all the heating and cooling pipes. My wife was able to get the lights on, we were in the living room part and my wife laughed and said, 'We got the crappidy crapster room'. In the middle of the living room sits a 3' x 3' pillar. It's totally in the way for enjoying the room. The bedroom was down the hall passed both bathrooms that sit side by side. The bedroom feels like it is in a different cave. The two rooms are so far apart that we had to yell to hear each other! We looked at each other and decided to see if they could move us. Nope, hotel was full. That sucked.
The next day, the manager showed us two rooms of a lower category. Much better. We moved and enjoyed the rest of our stay. However, when the bill came they still charged us two nights for an Astoria suite. Bitter insult. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay Away from Astoria Suites!!!!! Do not accept room 200227!!! Horrible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Grant G,

We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during your last visit to New Orleans. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Please note we have responded to the experience you had directly via email and are happy to discuss further. We strive to ensure each experience at the Roosevelt is memorable, genuine and at the highest level of service possible. With the historic nature of our property it affords our guests a variety of suites and we feel strongly there is a suite to fit every need. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best,
Jason Egli
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Great comfortable bed and lovely to have a suite. Little things could have been better - the drape on the bed was stained, the curtains needed attention or they let in light. Service was ok if a little slow

Enjoyed stay but would try a different hotel next time I'm in town

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank no1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,988 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing