We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new home in Nawlins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“My new home in Nawlins”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Roosevelt is just outside the French Quarter, two blocks from the corner of Canal and Bourbon and right on the Canal Street streetcar line. Upon entering the hotel, you are immediately struck by the beautiful block-long lobby of marble and crystal chandeliers. The staff are all friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. Check-in was very fast, and we had a very large room with sitting area. We ate at the Italian restaurant (reviewed elsewhere) which was excellent, and spent enough time in the Sazerac bar to have squatters' rights. Bedding was comfortable, rooms were cleaned well. In short, this is a wonderful hotel with a great location and am see no reason for considering other properties when in New Orleans. The breakfast menu is all a la carte with no buffet for those who like to graze.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,502
    791
    280
    119
    71
See reviews for
598
1,482
128
999
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We choose to stay at the Roosevelt a second time for two reasons first we were impressed with the staff, hotel and location and the second reason that it was Mardi Gras and wanted to be close to everything.

Check-in was smooth and quick, our room was ready and we didn't have to wait long for our bags to be brought up.

The room was clean, except the TV in the bathroom was missing the remote we did request one but never received though cleaning service did stop by and apologize that one could not be found.

Our 4 night stay was great, right across the street from the French Quarter is great you can go out and enjoy the evening but then able to get away from the noise and enjoy a quiet sleep.

All the staff that we encountered through out the hotel were great, friendly and professional.

Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear jcm88,

Thank you so much for being a patron of The Roosevelt New Orleans. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us during Mardi Gras and will return to us again. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a magnificent four night stay and enjoyed Carnival to the fullest. We hope that you are able to travel back to New Orleans soon and we look forward to your future stay.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Honestly, I really don't know where to begin this time. Excellent location right off Canal Street where quite a few interesting things happen and maybe a block away from the infamous Bourbon Street! I've stayed in just about every room this property has to offer: King and 2 Queen both Deluxe and Superior rooms, King Suite, the one and only 2 Queen Suite they offer, the Luxury Suite, Waldorf Suite and so on. This time was a true surprise to our stay. Once reservations was notified that my brother would be proposing in our stay during the fun filled season of Mardi Gras in New Orleans, we were granted access to the Teddy Roosevelt Presidential Suite!! Amazing, breath taking, gorgeously arranged, and luxury at its finest just to say the least about this room. This room had everything you can think of: lavish furniture to satisfy even the most exquisite tastes, right in the heart of the room was a piano that my musically inclined fiancé made great use of, a bar, dining table for 8, King bed that felt as if the Greeks themselves would have slept on, claw foot tub, walk in shower, and the list just goes on and on!! Our weekend stay was most memorable and yes we would like to apologize for being to loud due to the tall vaulted ceilings of what seemed like a penthouse in the sky causing quite a few echoes but I mean lets be serious, who really sleeps during Mardi Gras :-/ lol. Nonetheless, we are most gracious for whoever made this possible because it was truly something unforgettable. To the General Manger, I work for Marriott Hotels so I hope it carries weight from the hotel hospitality standpoint when I say you have definitely put together an outstanding team providing the most respectful and polite guest service for The Roosevelt part of The Waldorf Astoria Collection because it starts from the top and trickles down to the staff etc. This property has earned our loyalty to stay with you guys every Mardi Gras season from now on pending on your availability and I would love to speak with someone to possibly do some networking from a business standpoint for our company travels to New Orleans. Once again, THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH and continue to provide a memorable experience for your guests!!

Room Tip: Request a view of Canal Street for the most lively views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear psiphi,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to travel to New Orleans and experience Carnival in our lovely city. Mardi Gras is a busy time in New Orleans and we are pleased you enjoyed yourself. We will definitely pass along your comments to our General Manager and thank you for your superb comments about our team. We do believe that memories start at The Roosevelt New Orleans and we are pleased that we helped in making your brother’s proposal even more special. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we hope that next time you travel to New Orleans you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

They renovated not too long ago so the carpets, soft goods and some case goods look relatively new. This is an older hotel so the suite sizes are huge. It's a two tower hotel which is always confusing. We stayed in a suite into the older tower so although the room was huge, it was really really dark, with no windows at all in the bedroom portion and one set of windows in living room portion. It was very quiet which was nice since this is very near the French quarter. They have a new spa which we did not get to try. Check in and front desk staff were not good. Curt and unwelcoming check in along with room not ready for over an hour after check in time. Perfunctory, insincere apology --they must do this to a lot of guests.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank pkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear pkmiles,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the size of your suite accomodations. We apologize for the delay in preparing a room for your arrival and do understand this can affect your plans throughout your stay. We always prioritize our guests upon arrival and our housekeeping works diligently to prepare rooms accodingly, especially during the busy Mardi Gras season. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the entire front desk staff for your arrival experience. Should you wish to discuss your visit in more detail please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you again for choosing the Roosevelt New Orleans and we hope you consider us for future visits to New Orleans.

Jason Egli | Manager of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for four nights, Saturday through Wednesday. We tend to stay at high-end hotels, so when you're spending the price for these types of places there are certain standards that you expect. Rather than complaining about the weather or sightseeing events, we choose to review the hotel for what it is compared to previous trips to high-end hotels.


Pros: traditional appearance of
lobby, good restaurants and
bars, clean rooms with Salvatori Ferragamo bathroom
amenities, turndown service in
the evening, clean and classy
bathroom, flatscreen TV with
on-demand movies, fast
accessible elevators, heated
fourth floor rooftop pool and hot tub, great pool towels, nice view of neighboring church from pool,
pool open until 10 PM, and
location location location. I emphasize location because it is very close to Bourbon Street without having to deal with the noise from Bourbon Street. You are able to access all of the restaurants, stores, and fun of New Orleans within quick walking distance. Additionally, you have the street trolley
available to you for further locations only about one half of a block from the exit of this hotel.

Cons: traditional king rooms are small in size compared to
previous hotels we've stayed at, don't expect a stellar view from your room. There is a refrigerator with pay items in it,
however do not expect a refrigerator for personal use...... As compared to our previous
stays at the Ritz in which a fridge was offered for no additional cost. Bathroom amenities were lacking multiple items such as Q-tips and other commonly used items that you
typically don't want to bring with you on a trip. Bed was certainly not as comfortable as a Westin
heavenly bed. Rooftop pool and hot tub were very small and
pool bar was not open during entire stay. In order to receive food and or drinks at the pool
We had to use our cell phones to call the main front desk
number to place our order. Once our orders were placed, the service was extremely slow and inefficient. On all fronts, if you are looking for high-end hotel service experience, this is not the place to stay. For
example, while near meaningless, we came from Bourbon Street with a hotdog purchased from a street vendor and proceeded to sit down at the hotel bar for some drinks and were rejected service due to having outside food. A simple offering of a container would
have easily been the remedy for us to spend more money at this hotel.

Overall, an okay hotel with a great location for the fun
available in New Orleans. Rooms are okay when
compared to other hotels of this price. Rooftop pool and hot tub is a plus. We will certainly come back to New Orleans, however
we will stay elsewhere. You can easily stay elsewhere for a
much cheaper cost with comparable service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcf061911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Let’s start off by saying this is a beautiful hotel! Even if you don’t say here please come for a drink in one of the lounges. Once you step inside the doors you feel like you are stepping back in time. All of the employees were very friendly and always willing to help you out. When we checked in it was before 3pm and the only rooms were on lower floors which was ok with me. We ended up with a room on the third floor. We had an view of the building tower across from me but I wasn’t that concerned with the view. The room itself was fabulous!! It was a large long room with a entry room and sitting area as you entered and the bed and bathroom at the other end of the room. Housekeeping was fantastic during our week visit and the room was always clean without seeing a bunch of carts in the hallways and turndown service was always a nice thing to come back to in the evenings.
We were attending for a conference at the same time as the NBA All-Star weekend and the hotel never seems packed. Hallways were quiet even though I know the hotel was near capacity. The lounges were always a great spot to grab a drink and people watch listen to a little live music and relax.
The hotel is in the middle of everything. It is within walking distance to most of the items you are going to want to see when you visit New Orleans! I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I found my room on the third floor quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Jennifer k,

Thank you so very much for your kind comments about The Roosevelt New Orleans. We are pleased to read that you recommended our Fountain Lounge and the Sazerac Bar. Comments like those; we do appreciate and enjoy reading. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We hope that the next time you are in New Orleans you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

An upper range hotel, but for a few days over Mardi Gras it was great- so close to French Quarter and the parades, but no noise when in room. Don't have breakfast in Fountain Lounge- very expensive, typical American breakfast Food in Domenica Restaurant excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Adeladi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,918 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,659 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
2,511 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing