We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay, amazing hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Roosevelt definitely delivers as an elite hotel in New Orleans. This was my first stay, and I was blown away. I originally booked a standard king room for my fiancee and I (I proposed earlier in the day and got the room to celebrate), but I emailed the staff and told them my plans. They quickly informed me they could upgrade me to a luxury suite, which ended up being one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. Upon checking in, we were personally met by Albert, one of the personal concierges, and he guided us to our room and even helped with our luggage. Shortly after settling in, a bottle of champagne and strawberries was sent up, another great touch. All in all, it was more than I could have asked for. The bed was great, the shower was great. My fiancee loved the tub. It was huge. We had dinner plans that night, so we didn't have much time to explore. We did spend about an hour at the rooftop poll. It is small and was crowded, but the drinks were great and the atmosphere was very relaxing. I'll definitely make sure I stay at the Roosevelt the next time I'm in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sean1,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are always overjoyed when guest share life milestones with our hotel. We want to congratulate you on your recent engagement and hope you have a lifetime of happiness. We are pleased that Albert, our personal concierge, was able to exceed your expectations and make this joy time. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,330
    748
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
551
1,377
123
948
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The Roosevelt delivers exceptional comfort, great service, and a perfect location that will make your New Orleans trip even better. Visit the spa and rooftop pool. The Sazarac lounge is always fun too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tupelohoney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi tupelohoney66,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had exceptional service the last time you stayed at The Roosevelt New Orleans. At The Roosevelt New Orleans, we believe that we do create a wonderful city oasis for our guest. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and if you are able to return you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! My family was just passing through New Orleans, and this hotel was just what we wanted! The lobby is out of this world gorgeous with marble eveywhere and ornate chandeliers. The room was beautiful, very spacious with large, comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The hotel is in walking distance from all of the attractions, and the staff was very knowledgeable with directions!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Amy C,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that during your travel through New Orleans you were able to stay at The Roosevelt New Orleans. Thank you for your kind comments about our gorgeous marble and ornate chandeliers. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from the Crescent City you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is over the top. This was my second stay. Room was ready upon early arrival, upgraded our entire group to suites. If you are a diamond member, this is your spot. I have stayed here with non-status members of Hilton and they had the same excited reaction to the hotel. Great location, out of the French quarter noise, but close enough to be right there. The pool is a great hangout. Enjoy the drinks and chill. Really a great place with nice people working there.

Room Tip: Tower 2 is ideal for great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliotL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear ElliotL37,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay. Staying at The Roosevelt New Orleans, it creates a city oasis because our hotel is close enough to the attractions but you can definitely slip away and relax. We are pleased that you were able to stay at our pool and enjoy the New Orleans Sun. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights on my first trip to New Orleans. The hotel is located across the street from Bourbon Street so location is fine. The lobby is quite beautiful and the restaurants are also very nice. We spent a few hours in the Fountain lodge listening to a 3 piece jazz band and the atmosphere was fun. Albert our concierge was great. We were not only escorted to our room we were given maps and tips on where to go and how to get there, he spent a good 20 minutes helping us get the lay of the land. We are HHonors members so we were upgraded from a standard King to a King suite. 650 sq. Ft with a separate sitting area and second powder room. The room was exceptionally clean and very nicely furnished. There were 3 tvs in the suite one in the main bathroom. The rooms were quiet which was appreciated. The pool is small but the area is very nice. My experiences with the front desk were only positive. They are on top of everything, one night we told housekeeping we didn't want turn down service and the front desk called us to confirm this. I called the concierge desk about a rental car for a day and was given a quick and accurate response which saved me doing my own research, and their recommendations for authentic BBQ were exactly what we wanted (The Joint). I have to stop to single out a couple of staff members. Randy was outside of the hotel everyday that we were there either hailing us a cab or giving us directions He was great, he always put a smile on my face and could not be more helpful or pleasant. George the bellman as well was very personable and friendly. My only complaints are these. There is no coffeemaker in the room, for me this is a pretty big complaint but for others might not matter. Second and also a big one, the bed was way to soft, again a personal preference.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. It's convenient to everything. It is expensive though! ! $5 Cokes and near $20 burgers! ! $ 42 Valet parking! ! WHOOO! ! I will say though, for those prices, I can't complain because it was worth it in my opinion. I booked with my Visa Signature and got several perks included. $25 Dining credit, free Wi Fi, Breakfast at the Fountain Lodge and a room upgrade! ! Front Desk clerks were outstanding! ! (Shunta & Courtney) Room Service was outstanding as well. Exceeded my expectations! Great experience for us! Next time we're in the area, guess where we're staying?!! Better start saving now though! ! Ha!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester/London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for four nights with a friend in a suite with two beds. The room was huge, clean and the beds were excellent but it just felt empty and cold. I couldn't quite put my finger on what was wrong but it felt functional rather than luxurious. The bathroom was tiny with a shower in the bathtub rather than a separate shower. When I queried this, I was told that some rooms do have separate showers, but not these suites which seemed a little strange. And what is it with the tiny towels???
Pool is not huge but the pool area is great, as are all the public areas. The restaurants and bars are also good - we had breakfast included in our rate and it was a la carte and delicious.
Staff are all very friendly and obliging.
Would I recommend a stay here - probably yes, but if I am ever back in NOLA I'd probably want to try somewhere else like the Ritz Carlton before going back to the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSavvyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,820 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing