We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As you all probably already know, you get what you pay for in hotels. This one has it all clean comfortable rooms, quality linens, ambiance, and location. As for location the Roosevelt is easy walking distance to the French Quarter, but far enough away to avoid the noise and congestion. Its location also give you easy access to downtown restaurants with (away from the food traps of the quarter).

On negative comment: Be wary of the pushy bell hops. I got trapped in an elevator by one with a cart full of luggage (when all he had to do was let me out before he pushed in) and I ended up taking an unwanted tour of the hotel. This pushy behavior was pretty regular, but I found the rest of the staff most pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Ed M,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time the last time you visited The Roosevelt New Orleans. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel rooms and ambiance and that you left our hotel with many memorable moments. We hope you have a wonderful time in New Orleans and that your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon.
Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,837)
There are newer reviews for The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,249 - 2,255 of 3,837 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

And with the Roosevelt, you spend more to get better quality. As far as French Quarter hotels go, this is one of the nicest in my opinion. It's beautiful inside - very historic. Check-in was a breeze. We were given a room on the floor we requested (4th floor, same as the pool) and a corner room which was bigger than the other king bed rooms. However, and this is where how much you pay to stay here doesn't quite line up with what you get, the room was still rather small. Sleeping area fit only the bed, a desk, the dresser and a sitting chair. It felt so cramped I couldn't imagine this being one of the "bigger rooms" as the front desk clerk had described. Room size aside, the bed was comfortable and the view was decent.

I loved the bathroom! It had a modern design and fixtures. The shower was fantastic with multiple jets and a removable wand. Ladies, there is a lighted magnifying mirror provided which is always a nice touch. The hotel also provides to-die-for robes and slippers. Overall, showering and getting ready in this room felt spa-like. I truly enjoyed it.

So why 4 stars? I find some of their policies annoying. For example, they do not allow guests to bring coolers to their rooms. We were not aware of this until we went to valet the car and the doorman wouldn't take the cooler out of our trunk. The work around? We had to leave the cooler with security, have our bags brought up to our room, and return downstairs with empty trash bags to collect the items from our cooler. I just couldn't see the point in this. Everything in the cooler (which, by the way, was just champagne, strawberries, and cheese) still made it's way to the room, just in trash bags instead of the cooler we brought. We didn't make a big stink about this and the porter was perfectly nice about it but it was still just a silly hassle. Then we get to the room and they want to charge $25 for a fridge. And you can't use the mini-bar fridge either unless you want to run the risk of moving something and getting charged (it's all sitting on sensors). So, into the ice bucket our things went. I just feel that for what we paid, a small fridge is a luxury they could have afforded to provide.

Another downer for me was the pool/pool bar situation. The pool itself isn't large, it's more of a dipping pool than a swimming one. The best part about the pool is it's rooftop which is pretty neat for the Quarter. At the time of day we arrived, chairs were hard to come by and you basically had to watch people and jump up when they left. Ok, fine, to be expected. What I didn't expect was the bees. They were bad and I'm not sure if it was the plants nearby or the sugary drinks from the bar but they eventually caused us to move. No surprise here but they do not allow outside drinks and the pool bar prices are HIGH. One mojito and one margarita cost us $31.00 - without tip. And service was pitifully slow. We left without even closing out our tab because we couldn't stand to sit there and wait for the bartender to pay attention.

Other than that, I quite enjoyed my stay. I just think for the price they charge, they need to ease up on the nitpicking. You have a gorgeous hotel, you need to let people enjoy it.

Room Tip: Request a corner room to get more space
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KS1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Roosevelt staff went above and beyond. While staying at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary the staff sent us a bottle of champange with a note signed by the staff and as well upgraded us to a suite at check-in without my asking. We stayed at this hotel due to our previous experiences here as the staff provides 5 star service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank differencemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was beyond satisfied with my stay at the hotel. The interior was gorgeous, the pool perfect, and the staff all super helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning to this beautiful, clean, quiet property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Kasey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had an amazing stay at The Roosevelt. We have been to many hotels but this is definitely in the top 5. Everything about it is beautiful and historic. We did not have a good view but did not need one since we spent enough time in the French Quarter.

The room was beyond quiet and the beds were amazingly comfortable. We were traveling with our small dog and were super happy that it was pet friendly (yet clean). Since it is a city, finding a patch of grass is difficult though.

My only complaint would be not having a fridge in the room. There is a mini-bar fridge but it is full and not very cold. With all of the amazing food in New Orleans you often have leftovers which is a waste when there is no where to put them.

A special shout out to Justin, Randy, and Ernie who took care of us. We loved their southern charm, which we did not see at other hotels on our trip. This made our stay there all the more excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvHaribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

everything was great, room was clean and lovely, acknowledged our anniversary with a bottle of champagne sent to the room and started the weekend off great!!!!! location was perfect and the staff was always accommodating

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank N2832VZdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This beautiful hotel gets better and better since it was re-introduced by Waldorf Astoria. The hotel is spotless and the staff is friendly and very professional Some of the guest room are small as are the bathrooms but they are tastefully appointed and squeaky clean. The Sazerac Bar is historic and lovely.

This quality does not come cheap. Prices are more like NYC or London than most New Orleans establishments. But worth a splurge when you can handle the $$$$!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinibill7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,427 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,204 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,722 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £144 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing