We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, and comfortable hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location, and comfortable hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

HHonors Gold Member

Was offered no upgrade at check-in. Searched online for availability and sure enough there were better rooms still available. Had to contact the front desk and then pick up the keys for the larger room.

Room was great, spacious, very clean. Pool area and bar was also adequate.

It's in a central location and you can't really go wrong at such a location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stBuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,322
    746
    262
    112
    62
See reviews for
548
1,375
123
945
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel was renovated after Katrina. They did a excellent job of keeping the look and feel of the property. From the grand entrance to the elevators. The staff is attentive and pleasant. Our room was very well maintain and clean. Facing Canal street was a grand view of city life. I will say that the night life over in the French Quarter did keep the local fire station and ambulance crews busy, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. The luxurious bed and pillows made up for it and a great nights sleep was had! The entire staff was accommodating and helpful, weather you were looking for a restaurant or asking how to get around the city. Once again, "you get what you pay for" the price is higher than most of the competing hotels, but worth the money. Looking forward to returning to New Orleans and a stay at the Roosevelt!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Autin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A must stay historical hotel in downtown New Orleans. Walking distance to downtown attractions. The staff at the Roosevelt will make your stay here very enjoyable. Enjoy the gift shop, spa, bar, Italian restaurant, bakery and coffee shop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the valet services to the lobby, all of the employees were very professional and courteous upon arrival. It was a business trip; however, it was an absolute pleasure to have stayed here. It made it feel like a vacations despite the meetings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a beautiful hotel, with friendly staff and great restaurants/cafes/bars. Our trip to New Orleans was magic, and this hotel made it perfect. Beautiful room with lots of character, comfortable bed, and brilliant shower - we did splash out on a suite, but it was worth it, particularly considering we were room-bound during a particularly bad rain storm, so it was nice not feeling cooped up and trapped. It was too cold at the time of our visit to use the pool, but we did sit up on the rooftop and enjoy some quiet time. The public areas are simply stunning so I spent quite a while taking photographs, which the Roosevelt themselves shared on Pinterest. Teddy's Cafe was so convenient (you can't have more than one chocolate) and the Sazerac Bar is an absolute must. The restaurant was also a welcome sight after a long trip, with some really satisfying, real food! (We'd just been to Vegas, so were dying for something that actually tasted like food.) Great location - easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go, and felt very safe. It's not cheap, but you get exactly what you pay for, which is a nice change. I will be coming back to Nola, and will be coming back to the Roosevelt (after I save up).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear CynWasHere,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We love hearing how our guests left our hotel with many memorable memories. We are delighted that you had a wonderful suite to relax and rejuvenate from your days of travel. We hope that if your travels bring you back to New Orleans you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

It was our 25th anniversary and we chose to take a quick trip to one of our favorite cities. I got a pretty good price on-line (didn't count on the taxes and additional fees, make sure you figure those in to your budget) This hotel is really beautiful. The lobby is upscale and plush. The hotel bar is cozy and there's a John Besh restaurant on-site! The location is great, easy walk to everything in French quarter. Our suite was wonderful. Two complaints: the pool bar wasn't open consistent hours (having a pool was one reason we chose it) and the price for parking, over $50/day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Kevin P,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you shared your 25th wedding anniversary with us and we know that these milestones are important. We hope that the next time you traveling to New Orleans you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

As you all probably already know, you get what you pay for in hotels. This one has it all clean comfortable rooms, quality linens, ambiance, and location. As for location the Roosevelt is easy walking distance to the French Quarter, but far enough away to avoid the noise and congestion. Its location also give you easy access to downtown restaurants with (away from the food traps of the quarter).

On negative comment: Be wary of the pushy bell hops. I got trapped in an elevator by one with a cart full of luggage (when all he had to do was let me out before he pushed in) and I ended up taking an unwanted tour of the hotel. This pushy behavior was pretty regular, but I found the rest of the staff most pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ed M,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time the last time you visited The Roosevelt New Orleans. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel rooms and ambiance and that you left our hotel with many memorable moments. We hope you have a wonderful time in New Orleans and that your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon.
Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing