We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the heart of New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a beautiful, historical hotel where the quality and service match the opulence of the interior. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. It's conveniently located to the French Quarter, shopping, and eating. Plus there is a beautiful roof pool when you want to just relax, which is rare in the heart of a city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,823)
There are newer reviews for The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,219 - 2,225 of 3,823 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the second time within a year that I've had the great good fortune to stay for a long weekend at The Roosevelt. Other hotels, new and historic, would do well to study the customer service (above and beyond) of ALL LEVELS of Roosevelt staff. I've stayed in three other "historic hotels" and sadly, they seem content to rest on their history instead of honoring that history while keeping up with new technology and new methods to attract/keep loyal guests. The Roosevelt understands that you can't just have been good in the past, you gotta keep up with the needs and demands of savvy travelers. Among the amenities we enjoyed, the Rooftop Pool (sadly the Rooftop Bar wasn't open on either of my visits), Sazerac Bar (a complimentary beverage), Domenica Restaurant, Room Service, Teddy's Café (free refills on tea and coffee) and the Gift Shop. Again, ALL our interactions with cashiers, housekeeping, servers/waiters, Concierge, front desk staff: every one was well-informed and even more importantly, appropriately empowered to offer token lagniappes to add to our enjoyment.
The rooms are smallish, but so quiet and CLEAN, which after a day treading the DNA-imbued sidewalks and streets of NOLA is a very welcome thing indeed.
The location is very, very convenient for those who wisely use the trolley to move around the city and as close to Bourbon Street as one who just goes to Bourbon Street for the marvelous restaurants would want to be.
So save those Roosevelt dimes and treat yourself and someone you love to a lovely Roosevelt Respite.

Room Tip: Room 20458 is rightly-sized for one or two people. It has a king bed, comfortable sitting area and i...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just spent a long weekend at the Roosevelt and hated to leave. The surroundings are beautiful, the staff extremely professional and helpful, a great location, wonderful amenities, lots of history. We enjoyed the Sazerac Bar, Rooftop Bar and Pool and Domenica Restaurant. We left knowing we really had a luxurious getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was a excellent experience altogether, fantastic staff, great food, walking distance to most interesting spots, and a very, very nice concierge. The room is nicely decorated and the fact that it has two big screen TV's and a sitting room makes a huge difference. The beds are fantastic, hard to leave them in the morning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Valeria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We love to stay at historic places. This hotel was re-opened after complete restoration and renovation about 5 years ago, and is exquisitely appointed in the lobby! Its like stepping into the early part of the century's opulent luxury. The rooms are 100% current technology and luxury, though, and extremely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMCDALLISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great classic hotel! The location is great! Everything is within walking distance! Shops and shopping, as well as plenty of restaurants! The staff members were polite and friendly! The rooms were very nice. And very big! The bathroom was big as well! Will go back! Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear WorldTraveler2054,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you were able to stay with us the last time you visited New Orleans. We are delighted to read that our staff was extremely polite and friendly. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have nothing but positive things to stay about this hotel. The customer service was excellent, the concierge was extremely knowledgeable and the room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The restaurant Teddy's was a great place for morning coffee and pastries, much better than Starbucks. Location is very convenient to everything, but quiet. If you don't want to pay $42 for valet parking, there is a garage across the street for $20.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2urhlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoosevelt, Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear 2urhlth,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at The Roosevelt New Orleans. Reviews like yours are greatly appreciated and thank you for sharing. We are overjoyed that our staff was extremely knowledgeable and that they made your stay memorable. Thank you for your kind comment about our Teddy’s Café; the coffee blend that we serve is specially made for our hotel. We hope that your travels do not keep you far from New Orleans and that you are able to stay with us again.

Best,
The Roosevelt New Orleans Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,198 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 165 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £138 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing