We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic visit to Roosevelt Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nostalgic visit to Roosevelt Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sometimes you just need to get away, even if it's a short distance away and recharge your batteries. This is exactly what I did last week. I stayed at the Roosevelt, which is nostalgic for me, as I worked here as a cashier for the Blue Room and Sazerac restaurants while I was in graduate school. The hotel has been maintained in beautiful condition; the staff was wonderful and there were no long waits for any service, despite the fact that this was a holiday weekend with a big music festival in town. I really enjoyed sunbathing and relaxing in the pool. And the food I was served through room service was delicious. The room is well furnished and comes with robes and slippers and about anything you would need. The hotel is well positioned, with other wonderful restaurants within a short walk as well as the French Quarter and riverwalk and Harrah's casino.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank angelad411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,472
    786
    278
    119
    70
See reviews for
593
1,470
128
988
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Roosevelt is a gem in a city that can be hard to find luxury. What a beautiful and historic place. The hotel exudes history and luxury. A quick and easy walk to most sites in the French Quarter. The lounges and restaurants were nice and sophisticated. The standard rooms can be a little small.This was fine for me, as I was alone. The suites are very spacious and beautiful. The staff was excellent. What a great place to stay when visiting the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor available. Great view if you have one towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTIS_OF_DALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Elegance abounds in this hotel which shows accouterments from the past. Within walking distance of Bourbon Street, Cafe Du Monde and the mighty Mississippi. Concierge service was excellent at arranging swamp tours, ghost tours and museums and also pointing out non tourist pockets that highlight how the locals population lives, eats and plays. The experience was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel was nice and clean (except for the pool) but service was subpar. I forgot something in my room before I checked out. I called 2 hours later, no one saw it. I stopped by a few hours after that and anyone I talked to only wanted to pass on the problem to someone else--still no results. The maids must make out like bandits there with no repercussions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent old-fashioned hotel, as expected from a WA property. Stay would be enhanced by having coffee/tea making facility in the room, as well as availability of an Internet connection free of charge - surely this could be covered by the not inconsiderable nightly room rates. The noise emanating from the Domenica restaurant was such that it discouraged my wife and I from dining there - a pity given John Besh's reputation although one wonders how much personal attention he can give to each of his numerous ventures. Certainly would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here with you sons and all really enjoyed ourselves. From its location we were able to walk to anywhere in the French Quarter and over to the Aquarium. The decor is amazing! One of the best hotels we've stayed in! Loved the history and charm without feeling dated!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralynnparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our stay here was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, clean and welcoming. The staff are knowledgable and helpful and the room was perfect in every way. We will definitely be returning soon and can't wait to come back for the jazz music and great food right there at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,873 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,467 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing