We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Ranked #20 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxurious Escape”
Reviewed 15 January 2011

While this hotel is off the beaten path (aka not on Bourbon Street), be prepared for rowdy parties, which can keep you up at night if your main objective is to get rest and relaxation. My husband and I were rudely awakened in the early morning to noise from the presidential suite ... Our room was right below it and we soon discovered the rooms aren't sound proofed. Luckily, the hotel staff was able to move us to a different room. Half asleep, we changed rooms during the middle of the night and pleasantly discovered that we had been upgraded to an even larger suite --- complete with a larger sitting room and beautiful bathroom with a claw foot tub (our first suite was also very well appointed; however, smaller compared to our "new" room). It also had a better view, overlooking the pool.

Hotel is very beautiful --- Hilton did a great job with the renovations. Property features a great bar --- the Sazerac --- and restaurant --- Domenica (a John Besh restaurant). It's walking distance to pretty much everything, including the Superdome (in case you're down there for a Saints game). Rooms were very well appointed and clean and featured nice amenities. The hotel also features a lovely gift shop --- the perfect spot for picking up a present for a friend or family member.

Parking at the hotel can be pretty steep. If in town with a rental car, you may want to consider parking at the garage just before the hotel. It was half the price ($20 versus $40) and they would allow you to come and go as you pleased if you paid ahead.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawkito20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,401
    769
    271
    118
    66
See reviews for
573
1,433
125
962
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel has rooms that are as advertised. Fantastic, clean, upscale rooms. Me and my 4 friends got there for our"early check-in" we were promised. HA! We waited in the crowded, hectic lobby for 2 plus hours for a room. Horrible experience. I FINALLY found one girl who was helpful and she refunded my parking fee (after some convincing). Save your money....stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nayblay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
519 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This hotel had been renovated and is wonderful. It retained its opulence from times past and is beautiful. Check in and out were a breeze. The employees all are friendly and helpful. We had signed up for a potential upgrade to a suite and got a Waldorf Suite for $99 extra per night. It was a very large suite with a table and chairs and chandelier over it. There was a large sofa and chairs set there and even a bathroom. The bedroom was large and had a tub plus shower (although the shower is closet-sized). There was a makeup table, also. The typical high ceilings added to the ambiance. Being located across Canal Street from the French Quarter allows one to just cross the street and be a block off Bourbon Street. The only thing that is really not good is the $40 valet parking tab. Since I was staying as part of a conference group, I was advised to park at 848 Carondelet Street for $10 per day and walk back to the hotel. I did this and it is not a bad walk (about 8/10 mile). We took a cab to the garage and got dropped off right at our car as this garage is a former Chevy dealership. You pay at a machine as you enter and put the receipt on your dash. I was able to sidestep the $13 daily internet fee by being a member of a conference block. If you are NOT in a block, take your device to the lobby level where access is free. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

where do i start well me and my girlfriend wanted to get away for new years eve so we made the drive from dallas to new orleans and i had reserved a king suite at the roosevelt and requested a early check in we arrived around 1:30 and we were told our room will be ready in about a hour well 4:00pm comes around still no room after many attempts at the front desk with rude employees finally had a nice young lady that upgraded us to a luxury suite for the night but we had to check out the next morning and go back to the room that we reserved which we agreed to. well there we go again 2 and a half hours later still our room was not ready so almost 3 hours later we finally got it it wasnt the room we requested with a tub and a view so we decided to take it anyway the only compensation we got was 2 drinks and free brunch and to top that off the valet is $44 a night so you would think they would be more proffesional but no i went back to my car 5 min after we parked to get my phone and it was on the side of the road still with the engine running and window down with nobody watching it and note this is a brand new BMW and then there was a small crack on the front bumper once i got it back but i wasnt even gonna waste my time on trying to get anything out of them so in other words it could have been a way better stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bigktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We had been to The Roosevelt for cocktails previously, and decided we would stay there on our next trip if we could find a reasonably priced room. We were able to get a full suite for $130 a night during the slow period right after Christmas... reasonably priced is the understatement of the year. It was a steal. It's a great location. The staff is friendly and engaging. Domenica was delicious The Roosevelt is our new favorite hotel in New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabUlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My boyfriend and I visited New Orleans for 3 nights over New Years Eve for a wedding. I have been to New Orleans several times and this is the nicest hotel I have visited to date.

The hotel is completely renovated and is absolutely beautiful. We booked the king suite that was an upgraded room and it was completely worth the extra money. The lobby was beautiful, the room was great, and the staff at the restaurants and concierge were very helpful.

This will be the only hotel I will stay at in New Orleans when I return!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHREVEPORT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I grew up in the City and knew the Roosevelt during its golden years. Had a suite booked for last New Years (2010) right after they opened, but had to cancel. This past weekend, we decided to visit NO at the last minute and I booked a reservation on-line. I was surprised to get a room for New Years Day and the two days following, because the holiday and the Sugar Bowl should have had the hotel booked. At any rate, we got a Deluxe King w/breakfast for about $350 a night.
We arrived at about 11:30 am and were greeted by the valet service. The young man was very engaging and assisted us with the car and our bags. He passed us off to a bellman and we went to the front desk to check in. Check in was efficient and friendly. They gave us an envelope with our breakfast tickets and told us to go up to the room (8th floor). Our bags would follow. Thirty minutes passed and no bags. We were hungry and wanted to head out to get something to eat, but had to wait for our bags. I called the front desk and within 10 minutes the bags arrived. Once again, a very friendly employee assisted us. We were about to leave when the front desk called to asked if we had our luggage receipts. I told them the luggage had arrived; thought the call was odd.
The hotel was decorated for Christmas just as I had remembered. Absolutely gorgeous. Noticed on the way out that the front entrance was dirty, lots of trash and cigarette butts. The doorman and the valets were standing around talking. This was the case the entire stay.
Our room was very nice. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I had ever slept in. Perfect for me, a little soft for my wife. The bathroom and amenities were fine. We were very disappointed with the shower. We took lukewarm to cold showers the entire stay, not good. Towels and robes were fine. There was no coffee service in the room. Had to go downstairs to the coffee shop.
The in-hotel food options were limited. We had drinks in the Sazerac Bar and it was very nice. Did not eat at John Besh's place in the hotel. The coffee shop is fine but limited. Valet parking was very efficient and expensive.
In summary, our stay was fine, just not memorable. Other than cost, It did not compare with similar trips to Chicago (The Drake) or New York (The Waldorf). We will give it another try in the future, but expectations will be reduced.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMSCHO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,992 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,380 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll at the rooftop pool, Waldorf Astoria Spa and legendary Sazerac Bar at The Roosevelt, New Orleans. Bask in the glow and elegant history of the huge chandeliers in the grand lobby, and relax in your beautifully upscale room or suite. Experience luxurious Southern hospitality at the historical Roosevelt New Orleans Waldorf Astoria. Our landmark hotel is a short walk to the French Quarter, close to New Orleans nightlife, dining and culture, providing an elegant sanctuary in a vibrant Mardi Gras town. Highlights • Close to the French Quarter, museums, restaurants and attractions • Exclusive Waldorf Astoria Spa • Rustic Italian dining at award-winning Domenica, a John Besh restaurant • Live music and inspiring cuisine at the Fountain Lounge • Seasonal rooftop pool and bar serving cocktails and snacks • Luxurious gifts by local designers in the Emporium Gift Shop The Roosevelt New Orleans is a repeat winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, which is an award given to hotels that consistently earn great reviews from travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing