We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grenoble House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$325
US$279
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$432
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$285
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$359
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$359
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
443
101
22
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
101
22
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenliving roomleave your keyfrench quarterbourbon streetpool and hot tubquiet streetjuice and coffeehome away from homeno elevatorperfect locationfirst floorfrench doorsguest housewithin walking distanceking suitehigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We celebrated a big birthday in the French quarter and a first time visit for our cousin so my partner chose Grenoble house. It is situated in the french quarter and we found it to be a hidden treasure. Close enough to everything with great accommodations yet away from the constant noise. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor walk up, 42 steps, which after the 3rd day and walking around the French quarter seemed like a easy walk to the store. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our rooms were cleaned daily with little water bottles for us daily. The breakfast coffee and great pastries were worth looking forward to every morning downstairs. A great place to stay in the French quarter. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you don't like to walk do not choose the 3rd floor. There are no elevators.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose Grenoble House for a few days of our honeymoon trip and first time in New Orleans. The hotel's location in the French Quarter makes it a good base for exploring, but unfortunately we were a bit disappointed with the whole experience.
The rooms are all apartment style, which might be nice if you're traveling with a group. I found the spiral staircase to the bedroom rather inconvenient and also quite scary. Our second floor apartment was also not very spacious.

The decor is very very outdated, especially the bathrooms look like they have not been redone in decades. I could live with that if it was at least spotlessly clean! On arrival there was hair all over the bathroom floor (and walls inside the shower!), and soap marks inside the handwash basin. We were also quite disgusted by the filthy rugs in the bedroom and bathroom. They were both completely encrusted in hair and flith, and obvisouly not hoovered a lot. We put a towel on top of the bathroom rug every day so we did't have to stand on it barefoot.

The worst thing for us though was the noise! You get the constant whirring of industrial strength aircon 24 hours a day, and sadly the single-glazed windows and paper thin walls cannot keep any noise out. We could even hear the neighbour SNORE at night!!
To top it all off the bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever slept in. The very hard mattress made me wake up with backpain every day!

The only positive experience about this stay was the very friendly and helpful staff, who would assist with anything.
Given that this was not really cheap we expected a bit more. Would probably rather not stay there again. If you value a good night's sleep I would not recommend this hotel. If you just look for somewhere to sleep and are a heavy sleeper go for it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stripeytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic P, Manager at Grenoble House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

First of all, Thank you for the review. Just wanted you to know that I added a sound proof window to your suite to block out the noise from the AC unit. (works great) I am also adding sound proof windows throughout the hotel where necessary. I also shared your review with my cleaning staff and I will make sure to stay on top of them. It is because of reviews like yours that I will be able to improve the hotel and make sure that our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The place is hidden in a great location within the FQ. We had a clean one bedroom apartment style room on the second floor in the back. The staff and owners are great. They are polite. There was bottled water that was replenished in the fridge and fresh towels each day. The only small thing I would say is the lack of water pressure and a shower door that slid open and wouldn't close. If you want a quaint almost B&B style, this is the place. If you want hotel style luxury, you should probably book somewhere else.

3  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently had a terrific stay in the French Quarter at the Grenoble House. The staff was great and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. They were helpful, knowledgeable and you could tell truly wanted you to have a nice time. The rooms and the atmosphere really gave you the feel of living in old New Orleans but with the modern conveniences that we have all come to enjoy when we travel. The location is perfect and puts you within walking distance to all major attractions in the Quarter. As a native New Orleanian who comes back to the city often I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the rooms in the far back of the complex,#207. Was very large, private and quite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delta123253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just got home from a 3 night stay at Grenoble House and we loved it! From the perfect location to the charming rooms and the great staff we could not have been happier. As others have mentioned we felt safe, loved being able to leave the key, found the staff very friendly but they really let you have privacy. Chantal the front desk manager and concierge is a star. She is very funny and gives you honest opinions about what to visit. The only small change I might make is a bit higher end and more toiletries would be nice (body wash instead of a tiny bar of soap for example). We would definitely stay here on any visit to New Orleans, thanks again Grenoble House!!

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room to avoid noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews