We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel In NOLA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #94 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel In NOLA!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I seriously LOVE this hotel! The staff is super nice and they go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. If you are looking for crystal chandeliers and snobby desk help you should go somewhere else. This hotel may not have 5 stars, but it is so charming. The courtyard is lovely and the rooms are clean. This is the 2nd time we've stayed here and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    153
    47
    29
    23
See reviews for
66
183
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Amazing location : 5min to the french quarter and bourbon street.
Staff super friendly and helpfull. Barbara is wonderfull!!
Typical New Orleans architecture.
A MUST go!!
We payed $100 for 3 people, one night on june 25th.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lufalmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

While it's not the classiest hotel in New Orleans, it has everything I needed (comfortable bed, hot shower, free wifi, and even tea-making facilities) at a bargain price, and I doubt you would find friendlier or more helpful staff anywhere. I arrived just before check-out time, so they upgraded me to a balcony room at no extra cost so that I could move my bags in immediately. I left to attend a conference and returned when it was finished, and again they gave me a balcony room at no extra charge. It's a block and a half from Bourbon Street and convenient to the French Markets, and while it's about half a mile from the best seafood restaurants, walking through the French Quarter is a pleasure. Okay, it's a little shabbier than the photos on the website suggest, but so am I, and when I have the good fortune to visit New Orleans again, this is definitely where I'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

My dog and I stayed here while our French Quarter residence was undergoing some major repair work. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from my home. I have recommended it to my friends when they visit and they always enjoy it. The staff is super nice and spoiled us rotten during our stay (my dog still tries to pull in there as we walk by!). Everything worked fine. It was clean. The one tiny concern I did have was addressed immediately. It's also locally owned and operated. The house itself is of 19th century construction and is well-located to great coffee shops, restaurants, and music venues. There really isn't any reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenndevillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had made our wedding plans on June the 6th and chose Hotel Villa Convento due to the historical reviews of the hotel.
One of the vintage hotels in NOLA and historical aviance, is like turning back the wheels of time.
Warren, the manager allowed us to get married in the wonderful decorum of the courtyard (Magnificent).The staff went up and beyond the call of duty and jumped through hoops to make our stay memorable.
Warren the IV, Barbara, Herbert,Vince and Leroy are the most wonderful people to know. You wont find anyone better to assist in your lodgings than the staff at Hotel Villa Convento. Barbara and Herbert were kind enough to be the witnesses during our marriage. Herbert took so many extraordinary photos and made it super perfect for us.
Staying here was like being with family which in essence made this a lifetime experience from beginning to end.

The location of the hotel Villa convento is in the perfect setting of all the points of interests.
We most highly recommend hotel Villa convento for your New Orleans get away.

Room Tip: The courtyard and the balcony rooms inside and out are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundaeSchoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We arrived on Saturday night and had an inside room....very clean, nice decor but small which was fine with us as we did not plan to spend a lot of time in the room. On Sunday we talked with Warren, who offered to move us for the remainder of the week and the room was to die for!! We had a sitting room, gorgeous king size bedroom, a beautiful bathroom, two balconies, a refrigerator and the accommodations actually made our trip!! The view of the Quarter from the 4th floor was awesome and we actually ate "dinner" (wine and cheese) 3 nights from the balcony because it was so romantic. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, everything was extremely clean and you cannot beat this location. Our last trip to Nola, we stayed right off Bourbon in the middle of the Quarter and felt like we were dropped into the middle of a fraternity party, this time staying closer to the French Market, Jackson Square and Frenchman's Street was a totally different experience that I highly recommend to anyone wanting the real Nola experience. I will definitely stay here again our next trip and ask for room 400!!! You can't lose by staying here!

Room Tip: The 4th floor is awesome, but if you want Internet get a lower floor, but definately get a balcony r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hana1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eutaw, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Villa Convento numerous times. The staff is always friendly,helpful with directions and suggestions on where to eat. The location is great, can walk anywhere in French Quarter with ease, free off site parking and a wonderful bakery right across the street for breakfast or lunch. This is not your modern Hilton style hotel, with some rooms having paint/wallpaper peeling, but the rooms are always clean and that means a lot to me! I can bring my own shampoo and lotion, don't need the expensive extras!

Room Tip: I like the balcony rooms best, so I can sit out and watch the people, and didn't notice the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griess44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
804 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#95 of 162 in New Orleans
528 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,253 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Property: Hotel Villa Convento
Address: 616 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-3204
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing