We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from luxury... But serves its purpose just fine :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #94 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far from luxury... But serves its purpose just fine :)”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here 2 nights at the end of May for her birthday (June 1st). This hotel is very old and dated, however the staff was extremely nice and hospitable. We were upgraded to a balcony room no extra charge. Location was good, quiet. When in New Orleans, we really only need a place to sleep. Not the cleanest, most luxurious place in the world.. But it served its purpose just fine. Decor and the building in general is very old, but it's the French Quarter, and that's expected. There is street parking available if you can find it (and be careful because they WILL tow your car if illegally parked!).. We used the off-site parking garage for free. A tad inconvenient, but we didn't really mind. I've stayed all over the place in & outside of the Quarter. I actually got married at the Omni back in October... If you're expecting the Omni or the Royal Sonesta - don't stay here. But if you're just looking for a friendly little quaint place to lay your head at the end of a fun day in Nola, this place isn't bad. The staff was super friendly and gave us lots of advice (which most I already knew, but if you're new to the city, it's very helpful). It's further down into the Quarter so noise isn't really an issue. The location is very convenient to the French Market as well as the Marigny neighborhood/Frenchmen Street which is a highly recommended go-to for a change of atmosphere from the chaos of Bourbon. In New Orleans you get what you pay for, and normally you pay for location. I'd say we got what we paid for judging from amenities and "level" of hotel we were staying. Room rate wasn't bad at all - the balcony room upgrade was surely nice! It was just my mother & myself so we didn't need all the luxuries really. Not a bad hotel.
Pros: price, location, free parking, nice staff, quiet area
Cons: hotel is dated, parking garage isn't on-site, no refrigerator, no pool

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    154
    47
    29
    23
See reviews for
66
183
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The only good thing this place has going for it is Ms. Barbra she is a delight. The hotel is run down, no air conditioning in the Hotel, you do have air conditioning in your room. The place needs a good cleaning and repairs. I hope the Owners will work on this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loric014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed this place for its great location, and it's charm and character. It is right in French quarter but not noisy, with a delightful courtyard in the middle. The rooms were clean with great showers but is not the hilton, the staff were really helpful. Yes it is a bit tired, needs paint etc but they are working on these issues

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have stayed at Villa Convento about 4 times over the past 15 years. It used to be a clean quaint simple place that was a good value. Now it has fallen into serious disrepair and is not clean. After arrival, we walked up dirty carpeted stair that had an area of crushed crackers on a few steps. 5 days later the crackers were still on the steps. Actually the carpets were filthy throughout. In our simple room, the chest of drawers was literally falling apart. I tried to tighten the drawer pulls and realign a bit to make it work, using a nail file. Why doesn't the person at the front desk get up and start vacuuming? Get a screw driver and fix the furnishings? The place could be whipped into shape with consistent elbow grease, but it appears no one cares - the reviews on the web are misleading and will shift with time, I believe. The courtyard is run down and unattended and there were guest smoking cigarettes and drinking beer there 24/7. Well, it's NOLA, but the place has the feel of a flop-house.

In short, the only positive is the location of Villa Convento. There are places for the same price nearby (I checked).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, and you are a non-smokerm be sure you get a room on the street because otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogionthemove2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I stayed there last September and we are headed back this year. We even booked the same room. There is a mystique you feel when you walk in the door. The rooms are simple and elegant. I like the old feel of the place and the price is amazing. Just a hop, skip, and a jump away from wherever you want to be in the french quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billymudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My now husband and I stayed here 4 nights last week while in the quarter to get married. We enjoyed the convenience to the quarter and Frenchmen's street and the lovely view over the roof tops. The receptionists (all of them) could not have been more helpful or kind. This is not a place that you would stay if you are a hotel snob, but someone who would enjoy character and understand and appreciate the age of the building. She has some quirks and oddities, but we liked that about her. We couldn't get our tv to work, but I am sure if we had asked it would have been taken care of. We will be back! Thanks Warren, Barbara, and the other receptionist who so kindly played the player piano for us (sorry we didn't catch your name), you made us feel special and right at home!

Room Tip: We had a great balcony room on the third floor corner that had a fantastic view, with another window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kpbirdk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel is not like your usual modern Best Western or Marriott. Everything is a bit old and tired but it is all clean. It is also in a very convenient and quiet location. Another reason to stay here is one receptionist, Barbara. She will try her best to make your stay comfortable. My husband and I found the mattress to be too soft. She had someone place a wooden board under the mattress. It made a difference. There should be more receptionists like her.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888mary939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 163 in New Orleans
823 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#91 of 163 in New Orleans
551 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Property: Hotel Villa Convento
Address: 616 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-3204
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing