We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
257
173
55
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
173
55
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french market croissant d'or balcony room rising sun few blocks peeling paint cookie cutter bourbon street quiet street directly across the street location is great parking garage jackson square historic building frenchman st french quarter hotel mardi gras
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We have visited here for the last 15 or 20 years and Hotel Villa Convento is always our first choice. Located in a quiet part of the Quarter, this family owned property has a top notch staff that is always friendly and informative. They have made substantial upgrades the last 5 years, and the newly renovated courtyard is very comfortable. Only two blocks away from the French Market, and two and a half blocks from Bourbon Street, it is convenient to everything. The owners do not boast that they are a luxury hotel, and they are not. No turn down service or chocolate on your pillow. If you need that, do not stay there. The front desk is not manned from midnight to six AM. The rooms are comfortable and the price is reasonable. It suits our needs perfectly. More and more people are discovering this place, so it's getting harder and harder for us to find us a room on a spur of the moment trip, but that just confirms that Hotel Villa Convento is great place to stay. Warren, Emily, and Triskell, we look forward to seeing you in June 2018, and again with my 3 sons in August. You have become our true home while we visit in New Orleans.

Room tip: rooms 103 and 104 have a queen and a full, the loft rooms accommodate 4 or 5 people depending on which one you book.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikemartindds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We had a balcony room on the 3rd floor. Even the hotel is older, they provided amenities like a hair dryer, travel iron, and coffee in the morning. Delicious breakfast across the street. Close to French Market, Jackson Square etc.. Staff was great and even put a happy birthday sign on our door as we were in NOLA to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Wilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This is a small older but well maintained hotel in the French Quarter.
the staff is friendly and helpful. IT is quaint and charming does have an elevator but several room do require the use of stairs.
It is located near the rear of the Quarter but easy close access ot Royal and Bourbon street. If you want a quaint hotel this is for you
We would stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chinatravler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I liked this place. It's very authentic, the location is great, the staff are nice. It can be a little creaky (floorboards) if you have neighbours above you, but overall the vibe here is awesome. Close to everywhere you need to be. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Pros: comfortable beds, great location, hotel will hold onto your luggage after you check out so you can keep exploring before your flight, friendly staff

Cons: moldy ceilings, wallpaper falling off the walls, poor water pressure in shower, shower temp fluctuated A LOT to the point of being scalded, many of our light bulbs were out, no late check in (we arrived at 12:20 and they would not accommodate us by staying the extra 20 minutes to check us in.. instead left a key for us to let ourselves in), two different sized beds which was not advertised, elevator sounded like a death trap, hotel hallways/staircases were being repainted while we were there, courtyard was a mess

Overall, it served its purpose and we were not there much anyways. We slept and showered and then headed off to better places. If you’re paying more than $100 a night though, I would say it’s not worth it. We got a deal and saved some money by staying there, but it would definitely not be worth it to pay more.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews