We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider another location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I’m not sure if it’s the slow crawl of restoring post-Katrina standards for the city’s upkeep of public areas, but New Orleans must pay more attention to the highly trafficked walkways of the French Quarter and its bordering streets. A light post, taken down (somehow) and left lying with its exposed wires and metal stakes on Camp Street, innumerable sidewalk potholes waiting like a bear trap to break a tibia. It’s the location that is the best and worst part of this hotel, and it’s the guestroom details that need work in order for this to be close to a JW experience.

Outside of its Canal Street entrance, a good half block from where the guestroom tower is actually located, the slop spills out of Bourbon, and you don’t move an inch before the solicitors are ringing in your ear like the brass band from the night before. I say this to that uncompromising Marriott Rewards fille de joie who is spending his or her hard owned points on what Marriott describes as Luxury accommodation; consider more of an escape location. The warehouse district is only a few blocks south, but seemingly miles away from fending off the freaks that are relentlessly trying to sell you what you seriously don’t want. And, yes, the hotel is decent, but it is nothing more than a Marriott, far short of what a guest would expect for a JW. There is a dead Shula’s Steakhouse, just like any other Marriott, and the rooms are of early 2000’s template. The lounge, I must say, is great for the preprandial drink, and it even features a bartender who is proud in his similarity to George Constanza. The front desk and the bellmen were attentive and helpful. The beds are ok, the TV screen is flat, but the bathrooms are tiny, have sporadic lukewarm water in the shower and mine featured a strand of black hair so long and blatantly stuck on the wall that I wondered whether the facilities were cleaned at all. The sink did not drain and two housekeepers barged in the room in the middle of the afternoon without giving adequate announcement or waiting for me to answer the knock of the door. They simply said “we’re checking something,” then scurried off.

If you want to stumble home from the sludgy floors of Bourbon Street every night, this hotel is located just far enough away to maintain some dignity. But if you’re in New Orleans to catch some local scenes, see more than the French Quarter, do yourself a favor and find some real luxury. Even the Lowes has this beat by a mile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aptidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Aptidude,

Thanks for your thorough, eloquent review of your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Though we cannot control what happens outside the hotel, we certainly think our central location is a positive feature for the hotel. We're just close enough to the action to make travel and sightseeing a breeze, but far enough to escape the constant thrum of noise and activity. We sincerely apologize for any unpleasantness you may have encountered while in the French Quarter. We can only hope our hotel offered enough calm, quiet, and comfort to balance it all out. Providing great service and immaculate facilities are two of our main priorities, which is why we are confident you'll find a return visit to be far more satisfactory. Please don't hesitate to get in touch directly if you have any other comments or questions.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,445 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

I travel all the time and stay here approx 150 days a year. The folks there treat me as family. The hotels rate are average for the area so dont be surprised. Parking is about $35 per day with tax. If you dont need a car, take a shuttle or a taxi. In the long run, this will same you money. Schulas is a great place to eat downstairs, but extrememy pricy. After all, it is just steak and you are in the seafood capital. If you were to spend the $70 to $100 per person, there are better places...

They just renovated the first floor. Thet took a nice looking entrance and make is crappy.... However, if you overlook these things, great location with great staff....

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Corn room if you plan on being there a while.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseyb532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Casey B,

So great to hear from you. We’re honored to be your home away from home, and
sincerely appreciate your continued patronage, and I appreciate your comment
regarding our staff. As you mentioned, there are countless, world-class restaurants in
the area, and we’re always more than happy to make a recommendation. We eagerly
anticipate your return, and hopefully our latest renovations will begin to grow on you!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Wife and I went there for Christmas time Dec 2012, we stayed there for 5 nights. I was excited to book the JW Marriott, because my experience with JW has been really great. Usually a 5 diamond hotel. But this hotel was OK, very average rooms like any Marriott or Hilton. The rooms were small, the restroom.bath area was small, specially given the premium price they charge for there rooms. Pillows were very uncomfortable. There is a regular Marriott literally right across the Canal street. Might as well book that and pay half the price. That said the staff is very nice, room service is quick. The hotel is clean, the Shulas Steak house is very good. SPA is OK, nothing special, very small. Now the location, its very nicely located in the French quarter, but not in the middle of it, so you don't have to hear the noise. I would still recommend getting the regular Marriott across the street or a Hilton or Hyatt. Not worth the $300 per night for regular room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkamalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear kkamalx,

Thank you for your review. You’re right about our location—central yet secluded—and
I am pleased to hear that our staff made a positive impression. However, we regret to
learn of your overall dissatisfaction. High expectations are justified, and we work hard
to meet and exceed them for every guest. While the Marriott New Orleans is a fine hotel
indeed, we’d love another chance to show you what makes the JW Marriott special.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

As with any JW Marriott location, it's pricy. You might get lucky with an off season special, but this is not the hotel for bargain hunters. I found the service (luggage porter and front desk) to be quite courteous and responsive. Top-notch restaurants downstairs and central location on Canal Street (0.7 mile walk to WWII Museum and less to the French Quarter). Guest laundry available (sometimes your only option at a JWM is the ridiculously overpriced dry cleaning service, but not the case at this location). Gym facility is very good (several high quality treadmills, stationary bikes, and ellipticals, plus a few weight machines and a full set of dumb bells).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a great romantic getaway at this wonderful hotel. The JW Marriott in New Orleans is in an excellent location for walking to most of the main areas and attractions. We enjoyed a Hornets and a Saint's game, the Allstate Sugar Bowl fanfest and New Years Eve in Jackson's Square. All of these locations were within walking distance along with the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. Our room was upgraded at no additonal cost, and on a higher floor. The room was spacious, clean and had an awesome veiw of Canal Street. The staff was very helpful, friendly, curteous and professional at all times. We were treated very special, and room service was GREAT for those late night munchies! The bar and Shula's restaurants are also awesome! I have never enjoyed a vacation in the winter as much as this one. Also a plus shopping and CVS and Walgreens are just down the street. When I come back to New Orleans..The JW Marriot will be the only place we stay.

Room Tip: I would call ahead and request a higher floor. The street can be pretty noisey. I also loved the kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taronda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have nothing but the highest complements for the staff at the JW. The check-in staff was very helpful in accommodating some requests for my family during our stay over Christmas. Andy, the concierge had some great recommendations for Christmas Day dinner 'on short notice' and was very understanding of our needs.

Our vacation was problematic from the beginning because one of our children became sick. Regrettably, we had to cut our trip short, and the desk staff was understanding of our situation. We hated to leave since there was so much of New Orleans that we did not get to see. Upon arriving at home, we were greeted with a care package from Austin at the front desk of the JW, and inside were some wonderful treats from New Orleans. It was a very thoughtful gesture, and we won't forget that.

We will definitely keep the JW as our first choice for hotel when we return to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Rooms 2212 and 2214 are adjoining rooms with a view of French Quarter across Canal Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great stay at JW in November. Clean rooms, friendly staff, especially Alfred at the main entrance door, who made us feel like we were special. Hotel is close to great restaurants and just across Canal Street to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: High floor best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY2AZgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear NY2AZgal,

Thank you, from all of us here at the JW Marriott New Orleans, for your kind words.
We know it takes time to write a review, and we sincerely appreciate your effort. We’re
delighted to know that you enjoyed your November visit, and we’ll be sure to pass your
compliments along to Alfred. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,609 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
3,188 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £150 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing