We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #75 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed in June 2013 for business. Great location on edge of French Quarter, so walking distance to just about anything you might need. Hotel interior was well done, room met all needs. Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for any trip to New Orleans, business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher floors can have good view of city and/or river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,655 - 1,661 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

A fantastic Marriott property, which deserves a much higher ranking on Trip Advisor. From the friendly staff and excellent service, this really should be your first choice of hotels in New Orleans.

The JW has a solid concierge lounge, which like many other US properties, is closed on the weekends.

My executive corner room was fantastic, with a large bath / shower combo. As other reviewers have mentioned, the beds are super comfortable. It is also nice to be able to control the air-con on those humid, NOLA nights and to keep the room very cool.

The reakfast buffet in the restaurant is of a high calibre and all of the servers were super-friendly. The bar was nice and friendly.

Free bottled water is available in the rooms, at the main entrance to the hotel (in an iced bucket) and in the gym.

Location-wise, the JW is close enough to the French Quarter for partying purposes, but far enough away that it is quiet haven of peace. I stayed for 4-nights while attending a conference at the Hotel Monteleone – I was so pleased with my choice and can’t wait to go back! The JW is a much nicer hotel than the Monteleone, which had very small rooms and shabby-chic decor.

Ted and his team should be really proud of such a top-notch property! Thanks again for making my trip so memorable.

Room Tip: Opt for a corner room is you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Wembleygal,

Thank you for your kind words. We certainly are proud of our property, and feedback like yours inspires us to work even harder. It sounds like you had a great visit, complete with your sweeping corner-room views and our signature service.

And I'm so glad you mentioned our breakfast buffet. Our chefs put a lot of effort into crafting a balanced, delicious meal that will give guests the energy they need to paint the town red.

It was our pleasure to have hosted you in New Orleans, and I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon. There are so many memories to be made, many more amazing things to see—and, of course, no shortage of great Southern cooking.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My fiance and I just return from a quick trip to NOLA, I couldn't find a hotel in my budget and started to get frustrated so as a last minute effort I went to price line, I placed a bid and ended up winning the JW. Never stayed at a JW before but I can't imagine staying any where else now. So beautiful when we walked in clean, bright an inviting. The ladies at the front desk so helpful quick check in. Once in the room marble every where, clean, ipod dock, cordless phone. Ran out of bottle water called the service desk for more and they came right away. Love NOLA the very next time we go it will definitely be the JW

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjsmom5106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Typical business type hotel used for family vacation. Very friendly hotel employees providing really good service. We where impressed by the concierge that was very friendly and helpful in all ways.

All areas including our room was really nice.

Up in the floors (above ca. 15 floor) and the side of the hotel facing the Mississippi river there is noise from the next building's roof mounted AC vents. It didn't really bother us, but still very strong. The view over the French quarter and the Mississippi river was nice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank GEM_reiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent Hotel with a great location. Great bath and plenty of towls.
Steve the bartender is a great guy and recommended Finn's to us - best seafood in 30 years. He knows the city.

One of the best Marriott's.

book early stay longer

Room Tip: book a king and make sure they confirm it in writing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Beautiful hotel. This was our third visit to this particular hotel. Staff very friendly and ever helpful. Just running into one of them in an elevator or hallway, they want to know how you are doing and if everything is OK. More than OK! The rooms are well kept with all the amenities, and comfortable, comfortable bed. We enjoyed the pool, the hotel bar/lounge and the restaurant. The hotel is right on Canal Street so central to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and we were disappointed to leave. The staff was wonderful. They were friendly, professional and helpful. The rooms were very nice. The beds were luxurious and comfortable. The rooms were modern and clean. The concierge lounge is the best I have experienced. Great food in the morning and evening. Well worth staying just to experience the level of service at the lounge. The hotel is steps from the French Quarter or the Riverwalk and Casino.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResortMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ResortMike,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Our staff always puts the guests' needs first, with the hope of creating a truly unforgettable vacation.

We're very pleased you were able to recognize and enjoy the luxury of our concierge lounge. This space adds a little extra something to your visit. Our gorgeous rooms and cozy amenities are always a crowd pleaser.

We hope to see you for a return visit in the near future. Please let us know if we can be of service as you plan your next trip to the JW Marriott New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie

General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
3,642 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,618 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 167 in New Orleans
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £147 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in luxury in the French Quarter at JW Marriott New Orleans. Our hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana features one-of-a-kind elegance and style. Discover our vibrant setting moments from the French Market, Jackson Square and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing