We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here the Fourth of July weekend for the Essence Festival and the rooms are great. It is centrally located close to the casino, convention center, and bourbon street. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Witfame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    819
    299
    95
    47
See reviews for
361
695
73
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Was here as overflow from a conference at the Sheraton next door, this hotel was very nice. Counter personnel courteous and professional. The location is at the French Quarter, clost to a lot of good restaurants. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here one night with my family. We were cruising out of New Orleans. If coming here in a taxi or shuttle, make sure you specifically identify this hotel. There is another Marriott property on Canal street and it can be confusing.

I liked the location on Canal. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter, but separated from some of the bustle. Our room was nice, but there were a few cleanliness issues. The bathroom is very small. There was some street noise, but it was not too bad. The inside of the hotel looked great and every employee we interacted with was helpful and nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruise,J.D.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I moved to New Orleans for work in 2006. I've only ever stayed in the JW once but I've been going to the lobby bar weekly since 2006 with coworkers that were staying in the hotel. Ever since then I have been bringing my friends to get a drink from Deborah the bartender. She embodies the love of New Orleans and talking to her taught me to love the Saints, the fleur de lis, and the great food. Since then the bar was remodeled and some other great bartenders have joined the team so I continue to go for the great experience. Oh, but I miss the purse hooks since the remodel. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Melissa P,

We're so glad you took the time to share your JW Marriott story. We've been lucky enough over the years to develop great relationships with regular visitors, and sometimes it's nice to just take a step back and reflect on all the good times.

You couldn't have picked a better go-to bar in New Orleans. Deborah, as you know, is the best of the best. Not only can she mix one of the tastiest cocktail in all of the Big Easy, but her positive attitude can also brighten anyone's day.

Your business means a great deal to us, and we're looking forward to many more years of great food, drinks, and conversation—and in the near future, purse hooks. Cheers!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel ws better than I had anticipated. The location is great - short walking distance to the French Quarter. Close enough to the action but not in the center of it...
The concierge and other hotel staff were very helpful when we asked for maps, directions, details on public transportation, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole_VW415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I weren't even staying at the hotel but had a great experience. We stopped in at the bar because of a rainstorm and met George the bartender. Sure his drinks were great, sure we weren't in a hurry, but his awesome personality made us stay. As a successful businessman, I can say this to the Marriott Corp, "he needs to be training your other employees".

If you are traveling in the area, go ask for this guy

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location is fantastic - at the edge of the French Quarter, 5 minute walk to everything, but still quiet at night. The staff is so nice and thoughtful, the property is well taken care off, the rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a concierge floor which I recommend. Honestly, not one complaint! We stayed with 2 children and they were entertained by the staff, taken care off in the room, and we all enjoyed our 4 nights here. Breakfast is not included unless you are on concierge floor, but within minutes you have tons of cafes and options. The pool is small, but very enjoyable. The hotel offers free apples, waters, ear phones for working out, etc and you just feel welcome here.

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge floor if you care about free breakfast and lounge. Otherwise eat outside, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Karolina517,

We appreciate that you took the time to review your family's recent stay here at the JW Marriott New Orleans. Staying on our Concierge Level was a great choice, and it sounds like everything either lived up to or exceeded your expectations. From the moment you step through our front doors, it's our goal to impart a warm feeling of comfort and familiarity. And when you step outside our doors, we do our best equip you for a memorable time on the town. Our location certainly makes exploring, dining, and sightseeing easy, and our staff's local knowledge means you'll encounter only the best that New Orleans has to offer.

We hope to see you and your family again soon. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help coordinate your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing