We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,513)
Filter reviews
2,513 results
Traveller rating
1,103
885
347
112
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,103
885
347
112
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal streetgreat locationthe executive loungecorner roomfrench quartercommon streetlobby barbourbon stfitness centervery nice hoteljazz festvalet parkingthe entire staffmardi grastwo blocksgarden districtjackson square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,579 - 1,584 of 2,513 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was there for business and was pampered with kindness. The staff in this spot make it a great place to work and play.
In the heart of the French Quarter, you are steps away from the convention center and from the Adult playground on Bourbon Street.
The rooms are spacious and keep very clean. The amenities are numerous. With a restaurant and bar on site if you find your business keeps you at task, your good with great food and drink. Try the buttermilk pancakes with real maple syrup, oh yummy!
I've been to N O several times and this was my first time at The J W. I have this spot book marked for future reference.

Room Tip: Go high up the view is wonderful
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It took us a bit to found the hotel's entrance, but once we did, the hotel was fine. I liked the location that was somewhat on Canal Street but not right on the main drag as the rooms were not noisy. You were close to Bourbon Street if that is your thing or Royal if you prefer the antique shops over the bars, with a short walk through an extension from the lobby past shops and the hotel bar, and across Canal. We thought the rooms were OK - maybe a bit small and underwhelming but the room rates were very reasonable and a really good value, particularly since breakfast buffet was included. (Tip: Starbucks is in the Sheraton half a block over). We also liked the location as it is in the vacinity of the business district, with good restaurants that are not the standard tourist traps (see my Peche review). The one aspect of the hotel was that I thought the service was inconsistent: The valet were not especially pleasant but the waitstaff at breakfast were great. Bottom line - if you can get a screaming deal, take it. If you are paying top dollar and want luxury, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a one night weekend stay here. The hotel is on Canal so its well situated in that its close enough to the party zone but far enough when you need to escape it. Parking at the hotel is pricey but that isn't surprising, however look around and you will find cheap to free parking.

Checked in, which was quick and was assigned a room. Go up to the room and honestly its a room with a rubbish view for lack of a better word. Seriously not what you expect as a Platinum member (75 nights a year with Marriott) with the Marriott program. Pretty disappointing. Go back downstairs and let the front desk know and this time assigned a new room with a really good view. Don't know why its so difficult to do this on the first go round. Hotel management needs to understand that the first 5 minutes really sets a tone on the stay, especially someone who stays a couple hundred nights a year at hotels.

Was also given a $10 voucher as a welcome amenity which could be used for expenses. Luckily it could also be used to upgrade our complimentary breakfasts to the full buffet ($5 each for the uograde). The room itself was just fine and the internet worked well. The pool at the hotel was pretty tiny. The nice part of this hotel is the executive lounge. The lounge itself is rather small but there weren't a whole lot of people there. Note that this lounge is closed Friday and Saturday and opens up Sunday night. Another thing which really blows....why cant the lounge be kept open over the weekend? The food on offer was actually really good. From fish to Jambalaya to bread pudding. Quite varied offerings and most of it tasting really good.

Breakfast was at the restaurant downstairs and is fantastic. If the crab omelette is on offer, do yourself a favor and get it. Amazing! Lots of the usual offerings like bagels, salmon, eggs bacon etc. But the crab omelette really stood out. We were able to get breakfast to go since we were in a rush and the folks there were kind enough to get stuff packed for us to go.

On the whole the stay was good but knowing that you weren't given a good room to begin with despite being a loyal member doesn't make one feel very appreciated. Might or might not be back next time....I guess price will decide that but for now there certainly isn't any deciding factor that will make this my first choice in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear sandyjb83,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize that your initial room did not meet your expectations. I understand that spending so many nights in hotels can be challenging, so we try our best to bring you an experience as personal and unique as New Orleans itself. We pride ourselves on our exquisite dining options, amenities and integration into the city, all of which you were kind enough to mention. And despite the oversight upon your arrival, we also value customer service and loyalty enormously, most of all with our Platinum members like you. We sincerely hope that you consider visiting us again, and please don't hesitate to contact me directly with any questions.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had to make a fast trip to New Orleans for business and the JW had rooms, so we stayed here. What a great location for easy walking to scores of great eating places and sights.
Room was very nice and quiet. Everything I have come to expect from a JW.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear TexasJimC,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're so glad you were able to find comfortable accommodations while on the road for business. Though we try to provide everything you could possibly need right here on property, our central location does indeed offer plenty of options for post-meeting dining, drinks, and diversions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, whether for leisure or business. Either way, we'll be ready to roll out the red carpet and provide more of the great service, exceptional comfort, and unique amenities that you've come to expect.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This upscale hotel is on the perimeter of the French Quarter (Canal Street) which makes it a great place to based. Just a brief walk to Bourbon St. or Royal St. (my favorite) or the riverfront. The service is what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. They really want one to have a comfortable stay. Just ask the Concierge and it will get done. The Canal Street Grill has a really nice breakfast buffet. The only odd thing; the bathroom sinks were unusually low.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMonroeTwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear MattMonroeTwp,

Thank you for your review. You're absolutely right about out hotel's unique location. Guests are always pleasantly surprised to discover just how close we are to many of the New Orleans' top destinations. Of course, peace and quiet is often just as important as accessibility, and there's plenty to be had at the JW Marriott as well--especially on our upper floors, where the views are second to none.

It sounds like everything about your stay hit the mark, from the service to the cuisine. We take all feedback very seriously, and if we can find a way to adjust our sinks before your next visit, rest assured, we will. As you said, our priority is ensuring that each and every guest has a comfortable stay. Until then, please let us know if there's anything we can do to help plan another exceptional vacation.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews