We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return stay even better than 1st stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Return stay even better than 1st stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I recently spent two nights at the JW Marriott in New Orleans and had a terrific stay. My room was very large (corner room) with view of Canal Street. There is a new Chef and the food in the Executive Lounge was outstanding. Front desk staff, especially Elizabeth, were welcoming and highly professional. As usual, the fitness center was excellent. The only downside is lack of a Business Center. There is a small area on the 3rd floor that is more of FedEx drop off and high charges for small printing. The door staff were excellent and recommended great places for local cuisine.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great, especially facing Canal Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    819
    299
    96
    47
See reviews for
362
696
73
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

To date, the most helpful and friendly staff of any hotel I have ever stayed at. When calling front desk they greet by name. Same with all porters. This place has it together. From the room condition, to in and out of room amenities this place will accommodate anyone who can be and will allow themselves to be reasonably accommodated. The only mishaps occurred with room service. 3 out of 6 orders were faulty as they forgot our syrup at breakfast and crème brûlée twice. However both times the crème brûlée wasn't charged and one full meal was comp'd without asking. The 30-45 minute wait was never more than 15 and with the mishaps they were back within 5-10 minutes. Impressive for anywhere if you can realize people make mistakes if not... Well.. Stay at home. Five stars. Would never stay or try anywhere else here. Rocks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AZBUSINESS1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Trenton F,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your kind words are truly a testament to the JW Marriott New Orleans commitment to friendly, timely, personal service - an easy promise to keep when joined by such lovely guests. I appreciate the feedback concerning the in-room dining order, we will use your feedback to insure all orders are done right the first time. Thank you once again for joining us, and we hope your visit was a memorable one!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Despite some nice aspects of the hotel, including the location right across Canal Street from the French Quarter, I regrettably would not recommend staying here due to the extremely thin walls. We had a couple of neighbors talking on the loud side for a couple of nights in the room next door, and could hear every word. But even when someone much quieter moved in, we could even hear him clearing his throat. I know the thin walls would not be a problem if the neighboring rooms have only very quiet people in them, but that's not always the case and this is party town New Orleans...

On the more positive side: I was impressed by the friendly and very helpful staff, including the folks we'd phone for service requests, the front desk personnel who upgraded my wife and me to a corner room due to my Marriott Gold status (even during a busy convention week) and the engineering personnel who fixed the ventilation a couple of times. The head of the engineering unit even followed up both times to make sure that the work was done, which was very professional and impressive.

The corner room we had was nice and decently spacious, with a good-sized tv that had good on-demand movie and tv channel options.

Good concierge service. Among the several ways in which they were helpful, we got two great recommendations from them: The Palace Cafe (which is much more a restaurant than a cafe) right across the street. And they also turned us on to the restaurant Luke a few blocks away, informing us of the 3-5 pm happy hour in which all drinks are half price and the (very good) oysters were only 50 cents each. The final recommendation (the Pelican Club) was a real disappointment in terms of ambiance, service and food, but I guess everyone has different tastes.

Didn't make it to the lounge, so can't comment on that. The one time i ordered room service it was some very mediocre chicken wings. As for the "house made" potato chips in the bar..which you have to pay for since they are specially prepared...I'd opt for Lays any day.

A couple more minor complaints: The internet service was ok, but a bit on the slow side. And despite the best efforts of engineering, it seemed that the best they could do was just set the temperature at a given level. Trying to adjust the temperature on our own did not seem to do any good. We let reception know about this when we checked out.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, for a quiet room you'd be better off in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Southside,

I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us at the JW Marriott New Orleans was an enjoyable experience overall. As you know, our hotel is situated just steps away from the heart of the historic French Quarter, and we are happy that you took the opportunity to explore the area during your visit. In addition to providing expert recommendations, our concierge is careful to take notice of Gold members, and it was our pleasure to reward an upgrade. It is disappointing to read that not all of your stay was so pleasant, however, and we sincerely apologize for the problems with your guest room. Commotion from unruly guests is unfortunately inevitable at times, but trouble with the building itself falls squarely on us. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to correct these issues. We hope you will consider giving the hotel another chance, and please feel free to reach out to me directly with any other concerns.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was there for business and was pampered with kindness. The staff in this spot make it a great place to work and play.
In the heart of the French Quarter, you are steps away from the convention center and from the Adult playground on Bourbon Street.
The rooms are spacious and keep very clean. The amenities are numerous. With a restaurant and bar on site if you find your business keeps you at task, your good with great food and drink. Try the buttermilk pancakes with real maple syrup, oh yummy!
I've been to N O several times and this was my first time at The J W. I have this spot book marked for future reference.

Room Tip: Go high up the view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It took us a bit to found the hotel's entrance, but once we did, the hotel was fine. I liked the location that was somewhat on Canal Street but not right on the main drag as the rooms were not noisy. You were close to Bourbon Street if that is your thing or Royal if you prefer the antique shops over the bars, with a short walk through an extension from the lobby past shops and the hotel bar, and across Canal. We thought the rooms were OK - maybe a bit small and underwhelming but the room rates were very reasonable and a really good value, particularly since breakfast buffet was included. (Tip: Starbucks is in the Sheraton half a block over). We also liked the location as it is in the vacinity of the business district, with good restaurants that are not the standard tourist traps (see my Peche review). The one aspect of the hotel was that I thought the service was inconsistent: The valet were not especially pleasant but the waitstaff at breakfast were great. Bottom line - if you can get a screaming deal, take it. If you are paying top dollar and want luxury, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
141 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a one night weekend stay here. The hotel is on Canal so its well situated in that its close enough to the party zone but far enough when you need to escape it. Parking at the hotel is pricey but that isn't surprising, however look around and you will find cheap to free parking.

Checked in, which was quick and was assigned a room. Go up to the room and honestly its a room with a rubbish view for lack of a better word. Seriously not what you expect as a Platinum member (75 nights a year with Marriott) with the Marriott program. Pretty disappointing. Go back downstairs and let the front desk know and this time assigned a new room with a really good view. Don't know why its so difficult to do this on the first go round. Hotel management needs to understand that the first 5 minutes really sets a tone on the stay, especially someone who stays a couple hundred nights a year at hotels.

Was also given a $10 voucher as a welcome amenity which could be used for expenses. Luckily it could also be used to upgrade our complimentary breakfasts to the full buffet ($5 each for the uograde). The room itself was just fine and the internet worked well. The pool at the hotel was pretty tiny. The nice part of this hotel is the executive lounge. The lounge itself is rather small but there weren't a whole lot of people there. Note that this lounge is closed Friday and Saturday and opens up Sunday night. Another thing which really blows....why cant the lounge be kept open over the weekend? The food on offer was actually really good. From fish to Jambalaya to bread pudding. Quite varied offerings and most of it tasting really good.

Breakfast was at the restaurant downstairs and is fantastic. If the crab omelette is on offer, do yourself a favor and get it. Amazing! Lots of the usual offerings like bagels, salmon, eggs bacon etc. But the crab omelette really stood out. We were able to get breakfast to go since we were in a rush and the folks there were kind enough to get stuff packed for us to go.

On the whole the stay was good but knowing that you weren't given a good room to begin with despite being a loyal member doesn't make one feel very appreciated. Might or might not be back next time....I guess price will decide that but for now there certainly isn't any deciding factor that will make this my first choice in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear sandyjb83,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize that your initial room did not meet your expectations. I understand that spending so many nights in hotels can be challenging, so we try our best to bring you an experience as personal and unique as New Orleans itself. We pride ourselves on our exquisite dining options, amenities and integration into the city, all of which you were kind enough to mention. And despite the oversight upon your arrival, we also value customer service and loyalty enormously, most of all with our Platinum members like you. We sincerely hope that you consider visiting us again, and please don't hesitate to contact me directly with any questions.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had to make a fast trip to New Orleans for business and the JW had rooms, so we stayed here. What a great location for easy walking to scores of great eating places and sights.
Room was very nice and quiet. Everything I have come to expect from a JW.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear TexasJimC,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're so glad you were able to find comfortable accommodations while on the road for business. Though we try to provide everything you could possibly need right here on property, our central location does indeed offer plenty of options for post-meeting dining, drinks, and diversions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, whether for leisure or business. Either way, we'll be ready to roll out the red carpet and provide more of the great service, exceptional comfort, and unique amenities that you've come to expect.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing