We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #60 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best of New Orleans”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great hotel, location, and staff. Our room had a King size bed on the 29th floor. We had a great view of the city and its location could not be better as it was within walking distance of great restaurants and entertainment. The St Charles streetcar was a short block away. We had 4 great days in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    831
    309
    98
    48
See reviews for
372
701
75
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I came here for a fun weekend trip with my best friend and my sister and we did not regret staying here! The location was great. It is great to be close to Bourbon street, but also out of the annoying hustle and bustle of it all. Canal St. is pretty busy, but in a good way. You feel safe walking to and from your hotel at late hours of the night. I do not feel the same way if you stay in the French Quarter where it is fairly dead at wee hours of the morning. It is so close to the French Quarter though too and that is great. There is also a street car stop right in front of the hotel that is great. The rooms are nice and the staff is wonderful and inviting as most people of NOLA are :) We had breakfast sent up to the room and the breakfast buffet downstairs during our stay and both were good and enjoyable. The shops in the hotel are nice as well. The hotel is extremely pretty. One of the coolest amenities is the roof top pool. It is a lot of fun to go and cool off in and there are a lot of fun people to meet and mingle with. Loved this hotel! Loved the staff and loved the stay! Will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Laughing D,

Thanks for taking the time to review your weekend stay. We are so glad to know that the three of you enjoyed your time at the JW Marriott; we always love to be a part of a special trip with friends and family.

You certainly picked the perfect place for exploring all that New Orleans has to offer. As you noted, we're just steps from the action while simultaneously enjoying a bit of peace and quiet. It's a unique combination that continues to surprise and delight guests from all over the world.

From the sound of it, you experienced a little bit of everything that makes our hotel stand out, from the rooftop pool to room-service breakfast. We hope to see you again soon so that you can discover even more to love.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie

General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The JW Marriott on Canal is a gorgeous hotel with excellent service. The rooms are nice although small, and the bathrooms were also small and the ceiling in the bathrooms is very low. Concierge lounge is very nice, and includes one of those illy automatic coffee machine, yum. Also had a nice dinner of penne with bolognese, or chicken something something that also looked delicious. Changed out at 8 pm to a wonderful desert assortment. Location is close to CBD as well as the FQ.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mayan_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Grove, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is ideally located. It is just a walk across the street to the French Quarter and a couple of blocks from the waterfront. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. My husband and I had a great time with George the bartender. He was helpful with suggestions regarding where to eat or tour and overall just a fun, friendly gentleman. My husband was actually excited when he came back from his days off!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

First and foremost, the staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean. We had access to the lounge on the 27th floor. The breakfast and afternoon food was very good. It did get quite crowded around mealtime, and the air conditioning was not adequate for the amount of people. It felt like a steam bath. I would recommend going early or late to avoid the crowds. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay, and I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you have concierge access, go early or late to avoid crowds and air conditioning problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice Hotel, Clean Rooms and close to the French Quarter (a block or two). Can't beat the Marriott rooms. On this trip, discovered the "JW" is a more "exclusive" brand of Marriott, so that welcoming basket of apples on arrival, or in the mornings, just wasn't there. But overall this was a great stay for the 4 nights. Seemed like nice restaurant, but never did get to try it. Coffee was good, too! Everyone at hotel were very helpful!

Room Tip: 20th Floor facing French Quarter, room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFool4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the JW Marriott the weekend of the Bayou Classic and, maybe not to the hotel's entire fault but, the hotel was noisy, the corridor was dirty (empty room service trays, garbage, etc.). Other than that the hotel was fine, people were nice but I don't feel this is to the standard I'm expecting from a JW Marriott.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear GemmeFamily,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're so glad you chose to stay with us while you were in town for the Bayou Classic. With basketball, football, and the holiday season in full swing, it's a very popular time to travel to New Orleans, and we've taken all the necessary steps to be prepared. Regardless of how many guests are here, we strive to provide the same level of exceptional service that you've come to expect. It sounds like we didn't quite achieve that during your visit, and for that I'd like to personally apologize. There's no excuse for a lack of cleanliness, and you can rest assured that all the issues have been addressed internally. As you noted, our staff is dedicated to providing great service, and we would love nothing more than to earn back your trust.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,422 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,219 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing