We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and a great location! We were very happy with our stay and the kind staff at all hours. The only complaint I have is the $40 valet parking for one night. Other than that I would highly recommend this place. We were within 10 minutes of everything and felt very safe!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlustnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Wanderlustnat,

We always strive to provide exceptional experiences and are so pleased you felt happy, safe, and welcomed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and thank you for recognizing the kindness of our staff. As it relates to our valet parking price, we attempt to make our parking rates competitive with other comparable options nearby. Upon your return to New Orleans, please allow us the opportunity to explain a few other parking options that may suit your needs. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to see during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    806
    292
    92
    45
See reviews for
352
682
72
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is located right on Canal Street across from the regular Marriott Hotel and across the street from the French Quarter. If you are driving to the hotel, please note that the entrance is not on Canal Street but on Commerce Street one block off Canal. the bell staff is very welcoming as were the registration personnel. The rooms are very nicely equipped and furnished. We were on the 29th floor which had great views of the city and the river. The lounge on the lobby level has very friendly bartenders. We did not use the restaurant so we cannot say anything about that.

Again, the French Quarter is right across Canal Street. During the day time hours we felt safe walking around the area, but after dark, we felt s bit uncomfortable even walking on Canal Street near the hotel as there were large numbers of young people gathered on all street corners. If you have never been to New Orleans before, try one of the city tours and/or river boat tours. they are very informational and can be booked through the concierge desk in the main lobby. There are so many restaurants in the French Quarter area and nearby, you have a range of choices to dine depending on your tastes.

We highly recommend the JW Marriott for a stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeg3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear jeg3894,

Thank you for your kind words! It's great to hear you would highly recommend our hotel for travelers to New Orleans. We love hearing that you found the bell staff welcoming and the bartenders friendly. We definitely look forward to providing an outstanding experience for you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We held a destination wedding at the JW in NOLA. Our guests stayed almost a week. The staff was amazing. Nothing was ever a problem. Jim Fein took very good care of our every need. He predetermined things that we would need and had bubbly for the bride ready, had limo suggestions, food for the bridal party, the bridal suite set up for hair and make up teams, and more. The food was over the top fabulous. The bar was premium, and the staff was uber attentive. They sent food to the bride and groom's room as well as to the parents. He helped us orchestrate the grand finale parade into the quarter. If I called and said I needed a room frig, it was delivered in minutes. The lobby staff and bellmen were like family. The rooms were spacious and comfy, and immaculate. If I could give them 50 stars, I would!

Room Tip: The rooms are very well insulated and quiet. No one had a bad room... and we had over 30 for our gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Event Management at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Dianne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are honored that you labeled us as the "Best Destination Wedding Ever." While we always strive to provide exceptional customer service, it's nice to hear that you noticed the special attention that the team provided. We wish we could take 50 stars!

Sincerely,

Jim Fein
Director of Event Management
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keedysville, MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first stay at a JW Marriott, and based on this visit, I would gladly return. Many many positives:
--exceptionally friendly and helpful staff: including front desk staff, valets, waitstaff in the restaurant, and bartenders.
--I could not operate my room safe the first day--someone showed up amazingly quickly when I called. He was unable to solve the problem immediately, so they gave me a safe deposit box to use until the safe issue was fixed.
--I was traveling alone to a medical conference, so utilized room service several times. The service was prompt and the orders were always correct. Food temperature good. Morning service could be ordered in advance and was always completely on time.
--restaurant choices not huge, but everything I ordered was fresh and well-prepared.
--location of the hotel is great: within easy walking distance to many of the NO spots you want to see.
--bed wonderfully comfy, room clean, bathroom supplies nice. Bathroom towels of adequate size and softness (not 5-star, but Better than many places I've stayed. I experienced no distracting nighttime noise.
--I am not a usual business traveler and therefore never have enough points or miles to be any kind of elite traveler, but I felt like I was treated as if I were.

Overall highly satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak13197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear ak13197,

Thank you for your kind words about the JW Marriott New Orleans. Our favorite part of your feedback was that you were treated so well by our staff. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed room service as well as our fabulous location in downtown New Orleans. We hope you had a chance for a bit of sightseeing in the historic French Quarter or the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District during your conference. We're happy you were highly satisfied and it would delight us to host you again.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean room, prime location, AMAZING SERVICE
particularly, Paul Reed, the bellman, was super sweet. Took care of our every need and directed us to the best restaurants and bars. When I return, I'm staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 327kaala .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear 327 kaala,

Yet another great review about Paul! We're always happy to see our staff mentioned on TripAdvisor and some of them are something of TripAdvisor superstars. It's delightful that you found our hotel clean and well-located in the bustling downtown New Orleans area. We certainly hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay tremendously, JW has surely filled the gap between Ritz Carlton and Marriott's full service brands, a roll I thought Renaissance was to fill, but has never been consistent at. This was our first time staying at a JW Marriott, because we usually stay at a full-service Marriott across the street or when available, we have even stayed at the Ritz Carlton a couple blocks north. My wife and I were very pleased with the extras that we noticed and the over and beyond customer service of all of the staff. First, Canal Street is where it is at, it does not smell that the French Quarter does, the vagrants are not as common as you will find at hotels further in the "trendy" warehouse district. The views from this property, at least from our room, are unmatched (views at the Ren, Ritz are non existent). The Marriott, across the street, is more convenient to the French Quarter, but the feel of that hotel is very busy, somehow the JW, manage to operate a big property, while still feeling intimate. You can enter on the lobby side or from right off canal, you are blocks from the Casino and from many nearby restaurants. Check-in and check-out was efficient and our room was well appointed and clean. The rooms are small, for a JW, but for New Orleans they are average, in this case I was upgraded to a corner room, it is not something to insist on, as the standard rooms were the same size. For those Marriott Elites, the concierge lounge snacks and food were great and inspired by NOLA, which is unique and great on there part. The lounge attendant was on her toes as well. The bellmen and valet were extremely friendly and helpful as well my only drawback was it was a rainy weekend and the large drive-in cover at the Ritz and Marriott is a real plus. The location is great for walking to main attractions and you are directly on the trolly route. We had a car, but purchased all day trolley passes, which were very helpful and easy, I will note that in the later hours, (after the supervisors go home) the trolly attendants are a little less attendant (but that has nothing to do with the JW). I witnessed no worn furniture, linens or negative appearance in any way, which is something I can not honestly say about any other property, even the Ritz Carlton, in New Orleans. The JW was great and made our visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback about your recent experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand and are delighted to hear that your first experience with a JW Marriott was at our property. We pride ourselves on outstanding service from the concierge lounge to the valet. For its size, our hotel does retain that intimate, luxurious feel, yet while ideally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Thank you again and it would be our pleasure to host you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were right in the French Quarters and it was convenient to everything we wanted to see. Staff was great, room was perfect - and we enjoyed the heated pool the first day we arrived. The restaurant was good - breakfast was excellent! Staff recommended restaurants for us to try and tours we should take. It's within walking distance of all major sights - the gym and pool are wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so if you're a light sleeper you won't be bothered by traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Gina,

It's so nice to hear about the splendid service you received during your stay. We pride ourselves on being very knowledgeable about the local area so we can best direct our guests, whether they are on a quest for gumbo or searching for a scenic running path. It's also great that you enjoyed the pool and Chef Rene Bajeux's amazing cuisine at Canal Street Grill. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
3,297 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing