We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #75 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just left this wonderful hotel. The staff were amazing! My girlfriends and I stayed her for a weekend girls trip. Check in was a breeze, I forget the young lady's name who checked us in, we arrived at 10 am Thursday 6/29, but she was amazing!
Room was great, (we had connecting rooms, one king, one double). The only complaint was there weren't any robes in the room and the bathroom toilet drained slow. Housekeeping didn't clean our bathroom when we asked but we made a call and that was quickly handled.

All the staff was great, Paul at the entrance handled every request we made, he handled it with ease and respect, also Bridget in the bar was a sweetheart.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank loves2go7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear loves2go7777777,

Thank you for your kind words! We're proud to have made your girls' weekend such a special trip with incredible service. New Orleans is one of the top destinations in the country for girls' getaways and we hope you enjoyed every moment! Paul and Bridget are exceptional and I am so pleased they delivered amazing service to you. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay was not completely flawless and we will certainly use your experience to see how we can improve the art of service. We hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We just returned from a quick trip to New Orleans. The JW Mariott is a really nice hotel with a perfect French Quarter location. The front of the hotel is actually one block off of Canal St which makes it nice and quiet. The back entrance exits onto Canal so it's a easy walk to the French Quarter. The rooms are really nice and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which adds some size as well as a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinTexMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear AustinTexMan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We agree that the JW Marriott New Orleans is perfectly located by the French Quarter- as you noted, our entrance on Common St. gives our guests a bit more peace and quiet than they would experience in a typical French Quarter hotel, yet the hotel is steps away from Bourbon Street, Royal Street, and other French Quarter destinations. We're pleased that you truly enjoyed your spacious corner suite as well as superb service typical of our property. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again.


Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I booked this hotel for the night after my wedding as we were flying out of the New Orleans airport on Monday. We checked in and the concierge politely asked what brough us to New Orleans. We gladly told him how it was the first night of our honeymoon! He told us congrats and went on checking us in, gave us the room number and sent us on our way. We took the elevator up, walked to the door and realized we'd been upgraded. After entering, we realized we'd been upgraded to the best room in the hotel.

My husband and I were speechless! I could not believe we were so lucky and the hotel was so sweet to give us such a great present. The staff was all incredibly nice, we ordered room service while there and couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. This has now become my favorite hotel in New Orleans and I know we will stay there next time we visit. Maybe we'll hit the jackpot someday and get lucky enough to stay in that gorgeous suite again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanore w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Eleanore,

Congratulations on your recent wedding! We're honored to have had the opportunity to give you and your husband such a sweet surprise on the first night of your honeymoon! The Presidential Suite is truly stunning and we're so pleased that you enjoyed it. We look forward to hosting you the next time you visit New Orleans and creating many more happy memories.


Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

JW was the perfect place for a small business meeting. For a small, executive leadership meeting the staff treated all the attendees great, worked with us on all the meals and special requirements and were VERY accessible. The location is great and no one needed to rent a car as so many great restaurants and bars were within walking distance.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mycomments25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear mycomments25,

We couldn't agree more about the JW Marriott New Orleans being the perfect spot for a downtown business meeting! You really can't beat our exquisite meeting space, attentive service, and of course the location directly on famous Canal Street. As you probably experienced, our attendees can actually see the streetcar passing by the balcony windows! We are delighted that you had such a great experience and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It would be our greatest pleasure to host you on your next meeting or trip in New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Everything you want to see is within a short walk of this hotel. Friendly staff and nice rooms. You can't park off Canal street to drop off and pick up and should be mentioned everywhere because driving into NOLA is hard enough without trying to drive around the block which took 20 mins because as a visitor nobody would catch on that quick to the special driving that is downtown NOLA! But overall everything was good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tav071175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear tav071175,

We're delighted that you found the JW Marriott New Orleans so conveniently located during your visit! We are indeed perfectly located on New Orleans' famous streetcar line, steps away from Bourbon Street, Harrah's Casino, and other famous French Quarter destinations. It's also wonderful to hear that you were very satisfied with the quality of our service as well as our comfortable guest rooms. Thank you for your suggestions about signage for our entrance; we are always working to see how we can make this easier for our guests and we appreciate your feedback. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

love the location staff very friendly and helpful
rooms are nice and clean
not happy with the grill took very long to get order and waitress not friendly
being on canal and common is very convenient
corner rooms very nice
good security
nice lobby area bell men extremely nice

Room Tip: corner rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear mmt50,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans! It's wonderful that you were so pleased with the friendly, helpful staff and our convenient location. We're also glad you felt safe and that you loved our freshly renovated lobby area- it's the perfect place to enjoy a drink or read a book. I am sorry to hear that Canal Street Grill did not exceed your expectations. We will train the staff to provide warm and hospitable service.. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and a great location! We were very happy with our stay and the kind staff at all hours. The only complaint I have is the $40 valet parking for one night. Other than that I would highly recommend this place. We were within 10 minutes of everything and felt very safe!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderlustnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Wanderlustnat,

We always strive to provide exceptional experiences and are so pleased you felt happy, safe, and welcomed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and thank you for recognizing the kindness of our staff. As it relates to our valet parking price, we attempt to make our parking rates competitive with other comparable options nearby. Upon your return to New Orleans, please allow us the opportunity to explain a few other parking options that may suit your needs. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to see during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
3,643 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
3,226 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,618 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 167 in New Orleans
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £146 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in luxury in the French Quarter at JW Marriott New Orleans. Our hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana features one-of-a-kind elegance and style. Discover our vibrant setting moments from the French Market, Jackson Square and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing