We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to JW Mariott - New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #75 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What an ABSOLUTE wonderful experience! From arrival to checkout was one of the most pleasurable experiences my wife and I have ever had at any hotel!

Two of the doormen - Paul and Alfred were by far the most friendly and knowledgeable of the area - offering many suggestions and alternatives for eating and entertainment.
THANK YOU PAUL and ALFRED!.

If you are reading this - and go to this location - please hookup with Paul and Alfred - you wont go wrong - and tell them I said hi!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

​Dear Bob,

We're delighted that we provided you with one of the best hotel experience of your life! We will certainly pass this on to Paul and Alfred, who are both well-known for their kind service and knowledge about the local area. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and mention our fine staff members. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

not having much time for a quick anniversary getaway we chose New Orleans for a variety of reasons.. The hotel of choice was a JW marroitt right on Canal Street.. What a pleasure! What a location! Right across the street to the French Quarter which is where so much activity is. The restaurants are wonderful! Within walking distance to almost everything--the Mississippi River, Casino, outdoor concerts, and of course Bourbon Street.. The hotel is beautiful and very friendly staffed.. Very helpful !Canal street is the best location for travelers wanting to be near the action.. And by the way--Marriott has the MOST comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank correia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

​Dear Correia4,

We're honored to have hosted you during your special anniversary celebration! We loved to hear about your tremendous experience with our comfortable beds, friendly staff and beautiful environment. Most of all, it's spectacular that you found us the perfect location to experience New Orleans. We are indeed well-situated, located right by the French Quarter and near both of New Orleans historic streetcar lines. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had to spend only one night there and catch a plane the next day. The people next door were playing their TV so loud at half past nine, it was disturbing. I think the hotel should have better soundproofing, it is not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlyneDelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear vlyneDelmas,

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott New Orleans for your one night stay. We appreciate that you choose our hotel over the many options for lodging in the city. We apologize that the guests in the neighboring room caused a disturbance for you as a result of the television volume. We appreciate your feedback and will look for ways that we can improve the guest experience pertaining to noise. I hope that you will considering returning to our hotel upon your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms could be a little bigger, but they certainly are well maintained, good furnishings and amenities. Breakfast is a delight, and is served in a shopping arcade that is part of the hotel. You have 2 choices: either continental or American. The hotel is located directly on the main street, and within walking distance of the famous French Quarters. Fast food restaurants, and tourist attraction ticket offices are just outside. I would definitely return to this hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have any good views to look out on.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 550hashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

​Dear helloq8,

It was wonderful to read about your excellent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our immaculate and comfortable rooms, as well as our breakfast. We're sorry to hear that you did not experience the excellent views that are available at the JW; the highest floors, particularly the Presidential Suite, offer incredible panoramic views of the entire city. It would be our greatest pleasure to host you on your future visits from Kuwait.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We stayed on the concierge level. In most upscale properties the cocktails, etc are complimentary. At this particular property, you were expected to keep up with your cocktails on a honor system. Those rules should have been explained at check in or a system put in place where you could swipe your room key for each beverage.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

​Dear NJFP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. It's fantastic that you found us the ideally situated hotel for your New Orleans visit, with easy access to the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, the famous French Quarter, and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. We're delighted that you also experienced the friendly staff and amazingly comfortable rooms typical of our property. We especially thank you for your feedback about our cocktails in the concierge lounge and we will use your note to see how we can continue to improve our guests' overall experience.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel was situation well for access to any sights and walking distance to most all. Alfred and Isabelle were amazing folks at the hotel and glad we met them. Friendly and helpful. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: room faced Canal street and on weekend nights the obnoxious motorcycles were a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thefamilythattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

​Dear The Family That Travels,

We are delighted that Alfred and Isabelle helped make your experience an especially memorable one. They are endlessly knowledgeable about the local area and truly enjoy helping our guests to have the best possible New Orleans experience. We couldn't agree with you more about our hotel being well-situated- located directly on historic Canal Street, our hotels is steps away from Bourbon Street, Royal Street, and many of New Orleans' major downtown attractions like Jackson Square and Harrah's Casino. It's regrettable to hear that you experienced some noise from passing motorcyclists and we will certainly continue to see what we can do to improve our guests' comfort. We hope to host you again on your next visit from San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Staff at the JW Marriott always went "beyond" at all times; from the Head Concierge, desk and front door personnel. Additional, mention of Deborah, in the Lobby Lounge must be made. She is the model for all lounge host. My wife left her sun hat on the sofa and later that evening Deborah notice us walking through the lounge and "chased" us just to personnally gave the hat back.

Thanks to everyone at the New Orleans Hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Charles,

Thank you for sharing your story of extraordinary service! Our staff takes service very seriously and we relentlessly strive to deliver the ultimate hospitality experience to each guest. It delights us to hear about your excellent experience with Deborah as well as the rest of our associates. We hope to have the pleasure of providing flawless service to you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 167 in New Orleans
3,646 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
3,229 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 167 in New Orleans
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £142 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in luxury in the French Quarter at JW Marriott New Orleans. Our hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana features one-of-a-kind elegance and style. Discover our vibrant setting moments from the French Market, Jackson Square and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing