We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I have travelled to New Orleans on business many times, have stayed at a few hotels, but this was my favorite by far. Location was great, room was clean, staff was friendly, bar food was great. George the bartender was the icing on top of the cake during the trip with his hospitality and excellent service. He is an A+!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
​Dear Gerard,

Thank you for your kind words! We're proud to be your favorite New Orleans hotel. It's especially pleasing to hear about the superb service you received during your stay. George is a bit of a TripAdvisor celebrity and we hope you had the chance to try his stellar martinis. We'd be delighted to host you on your next visit to New Orleans!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    809
    292
    92
    45
See reviews for
353
682
72
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New orleans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel. I came with my sister to do some sightseeing. Everything is lovely and to the tee. We were able to check our bags early since we arrived before check in and we got some advice on where to get a delicious beignet. We also got some wonderful gimlets from the hotel bar from George. He made us great drinks and helped us plan out all of our destinations. We felt very taken care of here!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addie765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Addie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans! It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your sister during your leisure visit. We're delighted to hear that George not only crafted excellent cocktails but also helped you plan out your visit. That's truly a perfect example of the thoughtful, helpful service we strive to always provide our guests. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've stayed at the JW Marriott every time I've been in New Orleans for work. Overall, I have put in well over 100 nights here in the last year and a half. Every time I stay here, I'm very impressed with the caliber of the people working at this hotel. From Pauline and Ernesto at Breakfast to Gracie at the front desk and the gentleman in the lounge at night (sorry, I'm terrible with names), I have always had a pleasant experience.

The problem with the hotel is more about the structure itself. My hotel sink has never drained properly in the majority of my rooms; shaving is a nightmare when you can't clean your razor properly. I have had my room reassigned in the middle of my trip. I have found a soaked carpet twice and a bathroom that smelled so strongly of bleach that they had to put a purifier in my room.

When it comes down to it, I keep coming back to the hotel for the people, in the hopes that they solve the other problems that never seem to go away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner king if given the choice. The higher your floor, the less noise you'll hear fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vin314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Vin314,

Thank you for your glowing comments about the hotel staff and service that they provide. I will be sure to acknowledge Pauline, Ernesto, Gracie and Tom for their attentive service that they have given to you in the Executive lounge. Additionally, thank you for sharing the information related to the poorly draining sink, the wet carpet and the strong odor of bleach that you have experienced on your business trips to our hotel. We will use your feedback to make improvements and eliminate the issues you have experienced. We truly appreciate your continued patronage and loyalty to the JW Marriott New Orleans. We look forward to your next visit and we will strive for perfection to make your stay completely distraction free.
Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

What an ABSOLUTE wonderful experience! From arrival to checkout was one of the most pleasurable experiences my wife and I have ever had at any hotel!

Two of the doormen - Paul and Alfred were by far the most friendly and knowledgeable of the area - offering many suggestions and alternatives for eating and entertainment.
THANK YOU PAUL and ALFRED!.

If you are reading this - and go to this location - please hookup with Paul and Alfred - you wont go wrong - and tell them I said hi!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
​Dear Bob,

We're delighted that we provided you with one of the best hotel experience of your life! We will certainly pass this on to Paul and Alfred, who are both well-known for their kind service and knowledge about the local area. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and mention our fine staff members. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

not having much time for a quick anniversary getaway we chose New Orleans for a variety of reasons.. The hotel of choice was a JW marroitt right on Canal Street.. What a pleasure! What a location! Right across the street to the French Quarter which is where so much activity is. The restaurants are wonderful! Within walking distance to almost everything--the Mississippi River, Casino, outdoor concerts, and of course Bourbon Street.. The hotel is beautiful and very friendly staffed.. Very helpful !Canal street is the best location for travelers wanting to be near the action.. And by the way--Marriott has the MOST comfortable beds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank correia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
​Dear Correia4,

We're honored to have hosted you during your special anniversary celebration! We loved to hear about your tremendous experience with our comfortable beds, friendly staff and beautiful environment. Most of all, it's spectacular that you found us the perfect location to experience New Orleans. We are indeed well-situated, located right by the French Quarter and near both of New Orleans historic streetcar lines. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had to spend only one night there and catch a plane the next day. The people next door were playing their TV so loud at half past nine, it was disturbing. I think the hotel should have better soundproofing, it is not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlyneDelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear vlyneDelmas,

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott New Orleans for your one night stay. We appreciate that you choose our hotel over the many options for lodging in the city. We apologize that the guests in the neighboring room caused a disturbance for you as a result of the television volume. We appreciate your feedback and will look for ways that we can improve the guest experience pertaining to noise. I hope that you will considering returning to our hotel upon your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms could be a little bigger, but they certainly are well maintained, good furnishings and amenities. Breakfast is a delight, and is served in a shopping arcade that is part of the hotel. You have 2 choices: either continental or American. The hotel is located directly on the main street, and within walking distance of the famous French Quarters. Fast food restaurants, and tourist attraction ticket offices are just outside. I would definitely return to this hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel does not have any good views to look out on.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550hashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
​Dear helloq8,

It was wonderful to read about your excellent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our immaculate and comfortable rooms, as well as our breakfast. We're sorry to hear that you did not experience the excellent views that are available at the JW; the highest floors, particularly the Presidential Suite, offer incredible panoramic views of the entire city. It would be our greatest pleasure to host you on your future visits from Kuwait.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing