We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #63 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Rooms were very clean, and the toiletries were also very nice. I was impressed and I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area. Plus, it was like 2 blocks from Bourbon St. and other shops.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFXTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

​Dear FFXTravelers,

It's delightful that the JW Marriott New Orleans was the perfectly located luxury hotel for your New Orleans stay. We're glad that you found our rooms meticulously cleaned and that you enjoyed our Aromatherapy Associates amenities, which are specially tailored to combat the dry air and fatigue that business travelers often encounter. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,256 - 1,262 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the J.W. Marriott. It is very convenient to the French Quarter, without the noise and disruption. It is actually across the street from Royal St and Bourbon St. The people at this Marriott were super friendly and very helpful. The accommodations were outstanding. We will go back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

​Dear Cheryl,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans! It's wonderful that you and your husband adored our convenient location right by the French Quarter as well as the thoughtful staff. Our hotel is indeed perfect for those who would like to walk easily to Bourbon Street and major downtown destinations but would also like to sleep in a luxurious and serene environment. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pleasant stay, lovely view of the beginnings of the French Quarter. The rooftop pool was especially nice as we could see a storm rolling in over the city. Delicious Pimm's Cup cocktails from George down at the hotel bar. Super friendly guy. Door and concierge staff helpful and very friendly as well.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 746sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear S C,

It's an honor to have hosted you during your first trip to New Orleans! We're glad you had the chance to take a break from business and enjoy our rooftop pool. It's great that you received the thoughtful and friendly service typical of this property, as well as a Pimm's Cup by George! We hope you were able to explore the French Quarter and see some of the famous sites nearby our hotel, such as Jackson Square and the Mississippi River. It would be our pleasure to host you during your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I have travelled to New Orleans on business many times, have stayed at a few hotels, but this was my favorite by far. Location was great, room was clean, staff was friendly, bar food was great. George the bartender was the icing on top of the cake during the trip with his hospitality and excellent service. He is an A+!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

​Dear Gerard,

Thank you for your kind words! We're proud to be your favorite New Orleans hotel. It's especially pleasing to hear about the superb service you received during your stay. George is a bit of a TripAdvisor celebrity and we hope you had the chance to try his stellar martinis. We'd be delighted to host you on your next visit to New Orleans!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel. I came with my sister to do some sightseeing. Everything is lovely and to the tee. We were able to check our bags early since we arrived before check in and we got some advice on where to get a delicious beignet. We also got some wonderful gimlets from the hotel bar from George. He made us great drinks and helped us plan out all of our destinations. We felt very taken care of here!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addie765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Addie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans! It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your sister during your leisure visit. We're delighted to hear that George not only crafted excellent cocktails but also helped you plan out your visit. That's truly a perfect example of the thoughtful, helpful service we strive to always provide our guests. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've stayed at the JW Marriott every time I've been in New Orleans for work. Overall, I have put in well over 100 nights here in the last year and a half. Every time I stay here, I'm very impressed with the caliber of the people working at this hotel. From Pauline and Ernesto at Breakfast to Gracie at the front desk and the gentleman in the lounge at night (sorry, I'm terrible with names), I have always had a pleasant experience.

The problem with the hotel is more about the structure itself. My hotel sink has never drained properly in the majority of my rooms; shaving is a nightmare when you can't clean your razor properly. I have had my room reassigned in the middle of my trip. I have found a soaked carpet twice and a bathroom that smelled so strongly of bleach that they had to put a purifier in my room.

When it comes down to it, I keep coming back to the hotel for the people, in the hopes that they solve the other problems that never seem to go away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner king if given the choice. The higher your floor, the less noise you'll hear fr...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vin314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Vin314,

Thank you for your glowing comments about the hotel staff and service that they provide. I will be sure to acknowledge Pauline, Ernesto, Gracie and Tom for their attentive service that they have given to you in the Executive lounge. Additionally, thank you for sharing the information related to the poorly draining sink, the wet carpet and the strong odor of bleach that you have experienced on your business trips to our hotel. We will use your feedback to make improvements and eliminate the issues you have experienced. We truly appreciate your continued patronage and loyalty to the JW Marriott New Orleans. We look forward to your next visit and we will strive for perfection to make your stay completely distraction free.
Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What an ABSOLUTE wonderful experience! From arrival to checkout was one of the most pleasurable experiences my wife and I have ever had at any hotel!

Two of the doormen - Paul and Alfred were by far the most friendly and knowledgeable of the area - offering many suggestions and alternatives for eating and entertainment.
THANK YOU PAUL and ALFRED!.

If you are reading this - and go to this location - please hookup with Paul and Alfred - you wont go wrong - and tell them I said hi!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

​Dear Bob,

We're delighted that we provided you with one of the best hotel experience of your life! We will certainly pass this on to Paul and Alfred, who are both well-known for their kind service and knowledge about the local area. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and mention our fine staff members. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,483 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
2,979 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 166 in New Orleans
2,287 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £127 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing