We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Orleans Best Bartender: George!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“New Orleans Best Bartender: George!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After driving seven plus hours from Atlanta to New Orleans through severe thunderstorms, what my mom and I needed most once we arrived was a good drink. We found our savior George at the JW Marriott bar that night, and our stay quickly became 100x better. He made us all the classic New Orleans cocktails, and even made me a new drink free of charge when I tried (and ultimately disliked) the classic Sazerac. In addition, he provided us with recommendations for delicious local restaurants, the best walking tour companies, and even encouraged us to go to the oldest bar in America, Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop & Bar (bonus: it's haunted!). If I haven't convinced you to visit the JW Marriott and George yet, check out the attached picture ... with a visit you may be lucky enough for him to take a selfie on your own phone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for the time you took to share your experience with us. George receives many compliments but this may be the first time a guest has sent us his smiling picture! This is a fabulous example of how excellent service and a well-crafted cocktail can truly make our guests' stay memorable. We would be honored to host you and your mother any time at the JW Marriott New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    795
    285
    91
    44
See reviews for
345
672
70
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I can say our brief stay was enjoyable. Check in was effortless and every employee we encountered was more than helpful. Specifically Ebony (front desk) William (bellman). Rooms could be updated, however, very clean and comfy. Lobby great!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjones08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mrsjones08,

We're thrilled to hear that you experienced exquisite service during your stay at our luxury hotel. William and Ebony are wonderful examples of the exemplary hosting we strive to deliver to every guest and we are delighted that they contributed to making your experience a very good one. We'd be delighted to deliver yet another flawless stay to you on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Not to be confused with the more prominent New Orleans Marriott across the street, the JW Marriott is located on the south side of Canal Street with parking entrance on Common Street. The JW Marriott is a nice, full-service property conveniently located to the French Quarter. Parking is by valet only and the retrieval was quick for us. Check-in went smoothly and we used bell service for check in and check out. The bellmen in both instances were very courteous and helpful. Our room was comfortable, but I was disappointed to find bits of debris still on the floor in the bathroom. The bathroom was cramped but the shower and tub were full-size and nice. We were on the 30th floor with a nice view facing the water and Quarter. This hotel close to streetcar stops, and you can do so much in the area without ever using your car. Jazzy Day Passes are available for $3.00 and make hop-on, hop-off easy. Since this was our first visit to New Orleans, we did the touristy things and walked around the French Quarter, visited Jackson Square and took in the sights. This JW Marriott was a great base for our sightseeing adventure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear apswen,

Thank you for your beautiful photos of our property as well as your kind words about your stay. It was our pleasure to be the base for your first New Orleans experience. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be conveniently located and our service to be very courteous. We are however sorry to hear that we did not exceed expectations in every detail and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us continuously elevate our guests' experience.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Paul always spotted is out each day and made sure we were enjoying our stays. His smile and cheerful personality was always a warm welcome. He is a great asset to this hotel. The hotel was nice and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Melinda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. Paul is a bit of a TripAdvisor celebrity at our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you received his excellent service. We certainly appreciate him and we are very proud to have wonderful ambassadors like Paul on our team. We would be honored to host you the next time you visit New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

A plea to hotel companies, just let us park our own cars. Probably waited 45 minutes to get my car and I even called down 10 minutes before heading down. But what do you expect for 42 bucks. I'm also pretty sure they damaged my car to boot. Note that to get to valet you have to go in back alley, not the destination spot of your gps. Follow the sign. That being said, hotel was nice, good service at check in, well supplied breakfast buffet. Room good. Internet good (luckily status kept me from paying high price).

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gottdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Gottdownunder,

Thanks for the positive comments about the wireless internet, breakfast buffet, service at check in and the hotel overall. However, we are concerned about your valet parking experience. Please contact me directly to discuss further. We truly want your entire hotel experience to be flawless and your feedback helps us achieve this goal. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

1. When you enter in the back to valet all the men are most helpful to assist with your bags and opening the door for you. Paul is one that I remember the most as I have stayed at this hotel for several work trips. Paul greets you with a warm welcome and gives you specific directions to make your stay most comfortable.
2. The drinks at bar are delicious. Please ask for George. He has an outstanding personality and makes you feel at home.
3. The rooms are clean, neat, and located near most attractions.
4. Jim Fein and Carmen Joseph are hands on if you need to make group reservations. They both follow-up to ensure that you are happy.
5. Needless to say "I will only stay at the JW Marriott when traveling to New Orleans"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Amber,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay at the JW Marriott! We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Jim, Carmen, Paul and George, who are all outstanding examples of the service we consistently deliver at our luxury property. George makes a mean Hendricks martini and we hope you had the chance to try it! We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,
Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Room: First night I had a hole in my bottom sheet and a broken AC. I felt like I was staying in a budget hotel and not a top of the line hotel. On the second night I found out the maids threw away something important. The cleaning staff need some training.

The front desk staff are great and very helpful but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor if you don't want to hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Citygir,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that the Front Desk Staff were great and very helpful to you. However, Please accept my apology for your experience in your guest room. We would agree with your sentiments and will take the necessary steps to address this situation with our staff to help improve our performance. Please contact me directly as I would like to speak to you further regarding your experience. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel and pay us a return visit.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing