We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #69 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My friend and I booked our trip through JetBlue Getaways. We felt that we got a great deal. This hotel was very clean, upscale and we felt we had great service. The room was small but nice. We requested double beds. We had a great view of Canal street and the French Quarter. We were also able to see the river. We ordered breakfast for the morning the night before, using an order form placed in the room. You select the time that is should be brought. You have to place the order on the outside of the room door before midnight.There were great selections. Our breakfast arrived on time and it was fresh tasty and plentiful. There is a gym on the 8th floor and internet service is available for a fee.
The location of the JW is perfect - 5 minute walk to the Quarter and a 10 minute walk to the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. We were very happy and will stay at this hotel whenever we come back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sablewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,134 - 2,140 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel was nice, but we had a couple of crazy things happen. The shower wouldn't stay on without holding the handle. Took a couple of calls to get it fixed. Fire alarm went off a couple of times. We all evacuated in the middle of the night down 22 flights of stairs in our pajamas and robes and the front desk looked at us like they didn't know what was going on when we got to the lobby. Very frustrating. The alarm went off again during the day. It was a nice hotel in a good location. Clean with big rooms and Marriott worthy. They just need a little help with some of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I am a silver Marriott member and we stayed in 7 different Marriott Hotels in last two months with my wife. My wife has chosen this hotel to try a "JW". We liked the location indeed. However, we payed almost 2 times of what we payed to the other Marriott hotels and this one did not stand out. Overall I think the hotel is nice but a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ersinbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We loved this hotel. Located on Canal Street, the JW Marriott was central to many of New Orleans main attractions. You could walk to Bourbon Street, Royale Street, and the Riverwalk. The staff is very friendly and our room was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I was in New Orleans for the first time recently with a group of church friends. We stayed at the JW Marriott and had a great stay. The rooms were large and comfortable and the service was terrific. They brought us extra pillows, extra towels pretty much anything we needed they provided and did it all with a smile. I would stay here every time I come to New Orleans which is a great city, by the way.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubby4823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

While in New Orleans for the Atlanta Falcons - New Orleans Saints game we booked a deluxe corner room for two nights. I typically try to stay in 5 star or more boutique style hotel but I was traveling with a group who had opted to stay here.
Upon arrival we were greeted with very warm customer service. Check in time took less than 5 minutes. The room size was a little small but served it's purpose. The bed was very comfortable. The mini fridge has a disclaimer on the door stating that it only chills items and it not designed to get items "cold". So please do not think you will be able to store leftovers or your personal beverages in the refrigerator. However one of the couples traveling with us requested a mini fridge be brought to their room and it was quickly brought up and this fridge kept items extremely cold. So just know that this is an option.
Please note 24 room service ends at 12 midnight. We did order room service for breakfast and it took less than 30 minutes and it was delicious and very plentiful.
The hotel was located 2 blocks from Bourbon street and approx a 4 - 5 minute walk to Harrah's Casino and Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponder72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Traveled here for five days on the first leg of our honeymoon, absolutely loved new Orleans ! The French quarter is a bit of a crazy place, i don't think i would have liked to stay down on bourbon street or any of the parallel streets , unless i was just there for 1 or 2 days to soak it up . This hotel was perfect , you come out the front door , cross the main street and you can head down bourbon , 1 minute max.
When we checked in and told them we were there for our honeymoon , the lovely girl at the desk said she would have an even nicer corner suite upgrade ready for us the next day ! And guess what , the next day she did !! Although there was nothing wrong with the first room but this was bigger and had a great corner view of the city & the Mississippi .
The have deluxe goose or down feathered bedding and they fluff them up in the evenings , bliss after a hard day of partying or sightseeing . Well worth the money for the hotel , id nearly pay more :) ps its no smoking but many guests , including me , went down to there side entrance to smoke , where it was safe to be out on the street caus the many bell boys were there , who always opened the door for me

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrieM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,570 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
3,121 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £127 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing