We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite hotel, diappointing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite hotel, diappointing service!”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

My boyfriend and I travel frequently and always stay at a Marriott hotel. We have always had a great experience at Marriott hotels worldwide until our recent stay at the J.W. Marriott in New Orleans, LA. Considering it was a J.W. Marriott, we were expecting to have the best experience yet which was not the case. The room was nice but each time we called for something we had to call at least twice to get what we needed. This started on the first day when we called for a refrigerator to be delivered to our room. After waiting for almost an hour for it to be delivered we left to get something to eat and it was still not there when we returned. After calling again and waiting another 20 minutes it finally arrived. We ordered room service another night and ordered chicken fingers and gumbo along with some other stuff and had to call twice to get sauce for the chicken fingers and a spoon to eat the gumbo with. The gumbo was luke-warm by the time we had a spoon to eat it with! Everyone may not need sauce with their chicken fingers but a spoon for gumbo is a necessity. We thought with the price of the food we would at least have the proper utensils to eat with! When we were checking out we had to call twice for someone to come and help us with our bags. We were packed and ready to leave and after calling and waiting 40 minutes we called again to get some assistance. Once we were outside, it was another 15 minutes before our car was brought down even though we had called for it over an hour earlier. Parking was more expensive than what it says on the website. Although the hotel grounds were exquisite, the service at this Marriott was disappointing to say the least. Considering the price of the room, we were expecting the service to be comparable and it definitely was not. The service at this Marriott was unacceptable. We love the dependability of Marriott but are very disappointed in our most recent experience and will think again before investing so much money in a J.W. Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krob1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    819
    299
    95
    47
See reviews for
361
695
73
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

If you are a seasoned traveler, you understand that things can go wrong anywhere, but its how problems are handled, that makes the difference in your impressions. This is a nice, clean, "JW" that was a retrofit of another hotel...smallish baths, but otherwise well equipped rooms, tasteful, great Marriot bedding...We seemed to have a variety of things go wrong, but Kim and the front desk, went above and beyond to try to make things right, and you really get the sense that these employees love the business and this hotel....That alone will win us back for another stay....I have renewed faith in service industry employees.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed at the JW from Oct 30--Nov 2, check in was easy, check out was even easier. Did not spend a lot of time at the hotel but it has a nice pool area, lobby was nice all in all and the JW met all my expectations I have in a hotel or JW calibre. Room was nice, king bed was so comfortable and room met all expectations and was cleaned very well daily by the cleaning staff (keep up the good work). New Orleans is awesome, JW is perfectly located on Canal street and close (walking distance) to almost everything you want to visit in NOLA. Somethings of interest, Casamento's for oysters (4 thousand and something Magazine street), Surrey's for breakfast (have to have the banana's foster french toast (to die for), (I think 1482 Magazine street) both are located on Magazine street with Casamento's being the further away. Gotta love New Orleans, 3rd time back and hope not the last.....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I came to New Orleans in celebration of our 10th anniversary. JW Marriott's location is perfect: walking distance to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Riverwalk etc. Front desk staff were professional, not especially go-out-of their-way. Room was ok, but comfortable bedding. There was not enough hot water if you showered at night. Restaurant manager was courteous, but the omelette station woman was quite unpleasant. Despite her giving my husband an attitude when he ordered his omelette, he continued to be polite. She came around and told us her sob-story of how she's sick etc. (TMI). Not very professional. Chef Frank came around the tables to find out how everyone liked the breakfast. We reserved the room with breakfast; so if you did too, make sure that you are not charged for the breakfast. Somehow the restaurant's system does not communicate with the front desk, we were charged for breakfast. It was all straightened-out eventually, but it was not hassle-free.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaidowFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My friend and I booked our trip through JetBlue Getaways. We felt that we got a great deal. This hotel was very clean, upscale and we felt we had great service. The room was small but nice. We requested double beds. We had a great view of Canal street and the French Quarter. We were also able to see the river. We ordered breakfast for the morning the night before, using an order form placed in the room. You select the time that is should be brought. You have to place the order on the outside of the room door before midnight.There were great selections. Our breakfast arrived on time and it was fresh tasty and plentiful. There is a gym on the 8th floor and internet service is available for a fee.
The location of the JW is perfect - 5 minute walk to the Quarter and a 10 minute walk to the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. We were very happy and will stay at this hotel whenever we come back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sablewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel was nice, but we had a couple of crazy things happen. The shower wouldn't stay on without holding the handle. Took a couple of calls to get it fixed. Fire alarm went off a couple of times. We all evacuated in the middle of the night down 22 flights of stairs in our pajamas and robes and the front desk looked at us like they didn't know what was going on when we got to the lobby. Very frustrating. The alarm went off again during the day. It was a nice hotel in a good location. Clean with big rooms and Marriott worthy. They just need a little help with some of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I am a silver Marriott member and we stayed in 7 different Marriott Hotels in last two months with my wife. My wife has chosen this hotel to try a "JW". We liked the location indeed. However, we payed almost 2 times of what we payed to the other Marriott hotels and this one did not stand out. Overall I think the hotel is nice but a little overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ersinbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing