We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We loved this hotel! The location is great - very convenient to the Harrah's area, and also to Bourbon/French Quarter. The hotel itself is beautiful and comfortable. The only problem was that the first day we were there, our room did not get serviced at all - and we were out of the room the entire day! When we went to the front desk later that evening to request some towels because our room had not been serviced, they didn't even apologize. Not that we were expecting anything, but just an apology would have been appreciated. Our room was serviced the following day, and we did love the room and the hotel - would consider staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniJayKhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    817
    299
    95
    47
See reviews for
360
694
73
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bluefield va
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

the continuity of the staff is the greatest asset of this hotel. it is comforting to be welcomed at the door (tim, alfred etals), isabelle at the concierage desk, and our friends deborah and heather at the lobby bar. we have nevered stayed at a hotel where the staff remains constant and knows their guests the way the jw does.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Overall a great place to stay if you don't mind spending a little more for the ambiance. New Orleans is amazing and there are lots of great hotels to choose from. I have nothing bad to say about this one. The rooms may be a little small but other than that great location, style and feel for a hotel in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrambled_legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2010

While on an annual business trip to Louisiana we switched from a hotel in the northshore area to this hotel on our last night to be in the French Quarters. The location is perfect to go out in the quarters as its right on Canal Street. The facilities are very nice, both the lobby and the rooms.

When we arrived they could not find my reservation and that was quite a hassle but it finally worked out, but not without frustration and 30 minutes waiting for the receptionist to figure it out. My mini-bar was broken so there were no snacks. When I got back from a night on Bourbon Street I wanted a bite to eat but room service was closed (what happened to 24 hour room service!). I did not use the gym or the restaurant so can not not attest to those.

I got a corporate rate for $130/night so that was an outstanding price for a JW, so I would stay here again at this rate, but I would not say this hotel is worth paying rackroom rate. Parking was almost $30/night - outrageous, but fairly standard for most hotels in the French Quarters.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houston_traveler120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

My boyfriend and I travel frequently and always stay at a Marriott hotel. We have always had a great experience at Marriott hotels worldwide until our recent stay at the J.W. Marriott in New Orleans, LA. Considering it was a J.W. Marriott, we were expecting to have the best experience yet which was not the case. The room was nice but each time we called for something we had to call at least twice to get what we needed. This started on the first day when we called for a refrigerator to be delivered to our room. After waiting for almost an hour for it to be delivered we left to get something to eat and it was still not there when we returned. After calling again and waiting another 20 minutes it finally arrived. We ordered room service another night and ordered chicken fingers and gumbo along with some other stuff and had to call twice to get sauce for the chicken fingers and a spoon to eat the gumbo with. The gumbo was luke-warm by the time we had a spoon to eat it with! Everyone may not need sauce with their chicken fingers but a spoon for gumbo is a necessity. We thought with the price of the food we would at least have the proper utensils to eat with! When we were checking out we had to call twice for someone to come and help us with our bags. We were packed and ready to leave and after calling and waiting 40 minutes we called again to get some assistance. Once we were outside, it was another 15 minutes before our car was brought down even though we had called for it over an hour earlier. Parking was more expensive than what it says on the website. Although the hotel grounds were exquisite, the service at this Marriott was disappointing to say the least. Considering the price of the room, we were expecting the service to be comparable and it definitely was not. The service at this Marriott was unacceptable. We love the dependability of Marriott but are very disappointed in our most recent experience and will think again before investing so much money in a J.W. Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krob1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

If you are a seasoned traveler, you understand that things can go wrong anywhere, but its how problems are handled, that makes the difference in your impressions. This is a nice, clean, "JW" that was a retrofit of another hotel...smallish baths, but otherwise well equipped rooms, tasteful, great Marriot bedding...We seemed to have a variety of things go wrong, but Kim and the front desk, went above and beyond to try to make things right, and you really get the sense that these employees love the business and this hotel....That alone will win us back for another stay....I have renewed faith in service industry employees.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed at the JW from Oct 30--Nov 2, check in was easy, check out was even easier. Did not spend a lot of time at the hotel but it has a nice pool area, lobby was nice all in all and the JW met all my expectations I have in a hotel or JW calibre. Room was nice, king bed was so comfortable and room met all expectations and was cleaned very well daily by the cleaning staff (keep up the good work). New Orleans is awesome, JW is perfectly located on Canal street and close (walking distance) to almost everything you want to visit in NOLA. Somethings of interest, Casamento's for oysters (4 thousand and something Magazine street), Surrey's for breakfast (have to have the banana's foster french toast (to die for), (I think 1482 Magazine street) both are located on Magazine street with Casamento's being the further away. Gotta love New Orleans, 3rd time back and hope not the last.....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,344 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing