We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is in a good location with a very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This hotel is in a good location with a very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The hotel is adjacent to the French Quarter so it is vey convenient to the many, many restaurants, bars and shops. The staff was so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    833
    311
    98
    48
See reviews for
373
702
75
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I was in town for a medical convention. Originally I was booked at the New Orleans Marriott across the street but was bumped up to the JW due to overbooking. This hotel is very clean and the staff are incredibly accommodating. Be sure to talk with the concierge on great places to eat! In the five nights we stayed, he never led us astray!! The location is great- walking distance to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. I would skip Bourbon and see the French Quarter first- it's very beautiful. My room was well cleaned daily and it was very quiet in the rooms at night despite the downtown location. There was a fee for internet in the room. We never tried the restaurant on site, but the bar did ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller3486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I am sick of writing/talking about my experience here, so I will just cut and paste my last email to their customer service. So many things went wrong during our 2 day stay there, I believe it really is a process problem. Staff are so disconnected from each other, it is not funny anymore. (and I am a Marriott elite, this is the worst service I got at a Marriott)

--------
Hello,
Could you please check your records again on the 2nd charge of $XXX.00. This was taken out of our bill by the manager on duty when we were checking out BECAUSE MARRIOTT MADE SO MANY MISTAKES during our stay there. We didn't ask for it, we were given by the manager because there were so many problems and mistakes by Marriott staff. I see this charge as ANOTHER MISTAKE in a chain of mistakes during our stay with JW Marriott New Orleans!!

I thought this was behind us but obviously it wasn't so here I go again telling/writing someone what happened.
1) We made a reservation for the "romance package" which included champagne and strawberries when we arrived. When we arrived it wasn;t there, so we called and asked that it be ready in the evening when we get back from dinner. When we came back, it STILL WAS NOT THERE. Then the manager came late with the package, apologized, etc.

2) Our breakfast was charged to our room eventhough it was in the package

3) In our last day, even though our package included late check out, and further, even though we asked again for confirmation of our late check out, and further more even though there was a "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the door, here came loud loud knocks on the door (as if a landlord knocks on a unpaying tenant). There she was, the cleaning staff!!! I remember staying in W and ordering room service, and I received a call saying "Sorry sir, our room service is outside your room but can't knock the door since you have a do-not-disturb sign on".

4) Now this!! I get charged the $xxx which was provided without asking for it as an apology.

How incompetent a hotel management system and staff can be!!!!

Obviously, it is a system, process and HR problem. I will write directly to your CEO because nobody through out the chain could get it right!!!

Marriott New Orleans does not deserve the JW classification if JW really stands for something!!!

Good day!!

XXXXXX

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detroiter248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We went to New Orleans for a 3 night trip over MLK holiday. We had booked a different hotel through Priceline that turned out to be a nightmare and once we checked out from that place, I called Marriott to find a hotel nearby using our points. We ended up at the J.W. Marriott at Canal Street and loved it.

The staff was super friendly, we got a great room at the 9th floor - spacious, quiet, nicely decorated, wonderful bed. We got a roll away bed for our 3 year old daughter, and still had lots of room around it. The only thing that could be nicer in this room was the bathroom, which is small for this level Marriott. Everything was very clean and looking fairly new. We only stayed for 2 nights but were able to sleep wonderfully (hey, we came from a hotel where we couldn't sleep the night before, so that was much appreciated).

Our daughter had an accident and got her clothes wet while we were out, and I was able to use their guest laundry on the 8th floor, which is complimentary (you pay for detergent or bring your own). While I washed and dried her coat she and her dad stayed in the room watching cartoons on TV. In 1 hour everything was dry and we were able to go out again and continue our tour of the French Quarter, which starts right across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Marriots are usually great and this one was too. Everyone was friendly and happy and accommodating. Great proximity to everything and wonderful views. It's so close to Bourbon St. that I heard the street musicians bounce music around 7pm and it called me out...don't worry it wasn't loud...I have great hearing and it was slight but enough to draw a music lover like me. The place was packed due to American idol auditions being in town. The second night I stayed in a different room to get another perspective/view. This building has a very interesting design with large windows in the outer corner of the room which really optimize the view . The only very small details that did not "wow" me...the pool seemed a bit small and kinda luke warm and very urban with only concrete in site even so I enjoyed it and suprizingly the restaurant closes at 10 with last orders placed at 9:30. After gallavanting around town I noticed the rooftop pool at the Westin so as soon as there was a room available I moved over there to enjoy yet another perspective of this crazy town. Loved it!!! Oh I was gallavanting around town via bike and both hotels were very bike friendly!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsChi-V-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrier, AR
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We booked our room through Priceline so we got it cheaper than regular price. I loved the location and the room was fantastic. We upgraded to a corner room and the view was nice. Shula's Steakhouse was really good. The bed was really comfortable. Really close to Bourbon but far enough away that you could sleep at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

JW Marriott is what you'd expect of most mid-range chain hotels. It's clean, well maintained, welcoming -- but nothing to write home about. The design and guest experience is what I expected it to be.

The staff are nice and friendly. The gym has good equipment, the pool is on the smallish side but was empty because it was winter.

The location is great, right in the French Quarter and the street car lines, so you can pretty much get anywhere in the city.

It's a great option if you want to be in the center of town, and don't care about having super design-focused customer experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themelissard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,426 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,226 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing