We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orleans Guest House
Ranked #60 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the New Orleans Guest House during Jazz Fest and we feel we got an excellent deal. The place is quaint and charming. The hosts are all lovely. Its location is excellent, just across the street from the French Quarter and about four blocks (maybe five) to Burbon Street. Personally I wouldn't want to be any closer. Plus it was very reasonably priced, especially considering Jazz Fest was on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_in_Hanoi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this place for a few nights in mid November, 2011, while coming to a close on a two month roadtrip around the USA. It was one of a few places that we actually booked early due to the good location and relatively low price.

When we finally rolled into New Orleans, we couldn't be happier. In a big, bright pink French / New Orleans-style house, this guest house is full of New Orleans character, with lush gardens around the rear courtyard and planter pots hanging everywhere.

The hosts were brilliant - really friendly and helpful when it came to suggestions and directions, and good for a chat, too. Each morning one of them would meet us in the courtyard to serve us coffee, juice, fruit salad and a croissant for breakfast, which was a really nice way to start each day.

The location is great, being a few minutes walk from the end of Bourbon Street and the centre of the French Quarter (tourist area), yet just far enough to be in a quieter neighbourhood.

Our room was a decent size with the only downside being that it was located near the stairs so we could hear people moving about. The walls are also quite thin which means noise can be a bit of a problem.

With that said, it is a guest house, and they are usually more intimate than hotels and motels, so you expect it to be more of a family home with people moving about, so it didn't bother us. We'd definitely recommend this place to people wanting to explore New Orleans, and we'll definitely be staying here when we get lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: If you think noise is a problem, you might want to request a room upstairs so you don't hear peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dion-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This location had gotten good reviews, but i think we got a bad room. It was musty smelling and pretty gross. There was black mold on the walls and in the bathroom. Lots of schmutz on the walls. It really needed a good scrubbing. Everything else was good. A little variety at breakfast wouldn't hurt. It is the same thing every day. I might try it again because the location was good. I would definitely make sure we got a different room. (it was number 4)

Room Tip: Do not choose room# 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnapolisTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this B&B. As it is on the outskirts of the French Quarter, it's very quiet. The owners have a wealth of information on anything you want to visit in New Orleans, as they have lived in this city for many years. Our room was on the first floor, and tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques. Breakfast is served on the outdoor patio from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.. The only problem with this is we had to leave early one morning to catch a tour. The owners will not serve breakfast before 9 a.m.. The building is from the late 1800's and very quaint and picturesque. It does have A/C in case it is warm when you are visiting, and the bathroom has been remodeled to bring it up to date.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be quiet, as you are on a street where tourists are not walking or drivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our family has stayed at the NOGH twice in the last few months. We have been visiting New Orleans regularly for several years, and don't really have anything bad to say about our stays in other places, but now that we've become accustomed to Alvin and Ray's hospitality we would reschedule any future visit if they didn't have a room. They're truly nice people who (and this takes almost saintly attitude) seem to actually like every guest that stays with them. Anything else I might add would only repeat other glowing reviews. Please check with me before you book with them - you might be taking the room I wanted for those days (just kidding). Oh yes, the wi-fi is spotty at best except in the lobby/living room-but that just means that for the time you have to be on your laptop (this is New Orleans, put that thing away and hit the street!) you'll have the pleasure of hanging out with Alvin or Ray.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My group of 20 stayed here for 6 days over St. Patty's day. Alvin and Ray were great hosts and let us take over the place. The courtyard area they use for breakfast also makes a great area for a "gathering" place for large groups. If you are looking for a clean place, close to bourbon street - but far enough away.... this is it. A huge THANK YOU for putting up with my group as we over indulged a bit on New Orleans!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We lucked out on our first trip to NOLA and I don't think we'll stay anywhere else now. The location is perfect, just north of the French Quarter and there's PARKING! Love it and I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Illona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 166 in New Orleans
342 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#94 of 142 in New Orleans
291 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 142 in New Orleans
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 142 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#34 of 142 in New Orleans
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Guest House

Address: 1118 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2306
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £76 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Orleans Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing