We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard View?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2007

I had booked this hotel 4 months in advance asking for a courtyard view. My "courtyard view" looks at a wall. I went to the front desk, and they told me TECHNICALLY that is a courtyard view. If you have to use the word "technically", something is wrong. They wouldn't give any type of credit for the room. I don't know who is writing these reveiws, but every time I walked through the lobby, someone was complaining and wanting to switch their rooms. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable - you can feel the springs, and the rooms are musty. I love the location, but I will NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYNY12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,107 - 2,113 of 2,384 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2007

This hotel was wonderful. It is in the French Quarter right at Jackson Square and beside St Louis Cathedral. It has a great setup with the inner court yard and a pool. we found it very clean and the staff friendly. They were able to make tour arrangements and even go on-line to confirm plane reservations. The rooms we saw were quite large, and ours looked out onto the street but was still quiet. Some of the rooms are windowless, which is great for sleeping in, but not to my taste. Continental breakfast had fresh croissants and buns.
New Orleans is still hurting from Katrina, but with in the Quarter there was almost no sign of the damage. The sign we saw was in the conversations with the locals who all had their own personal stories of horror and destruction. They are trying hard to overcome the past, and seem to be doing a great job of it. Touism is down, so in fact there are lots of good travel deals which make this asuperb time to travel to this historical city

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Tuscan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We picked this hotel based on the reviews we had seen and its location. If you want to stay in the heart of the French Quarter, then this is the place. You can walk to almost everything. It is only 1/2 block from Jackson Square, 1.5 blocks from the Cafe du Monde, and about two-three blocks from Bourbon Street.

The room we had was on the second floor and faced Chartres St. Unfortuntely, the only access to the room involved a climb up two flights of stairs - no elevator access. The room was spacious, but a little dark; the lighting left something to be desired. Our room had a lovely fireplace with an ornate wood mantle. The king bed was the size of a footbal field! The room was releatively clean, but there were some maintenance issues that need to be addressed - nothing significant, though. For example, the door to our room had a pretty good size gap between the door and jamb that allowed the mosquitoes easy access to a meal. There was a balcony that could use an application of stain or sealant on the wood floor. It could be accessed through a huge window on the landing outside our room. The hotel has a beautiful, but small, courtyard that always seem to attract a few folks lounging at tables, or sitting around the postage stamp sized pool.

The staff was OK, but only one person was extremely pleasant and he worked in the garage. The front desk staff, bellman, and breakfast room attendant weren't UNfriendly, they just didn't seem to exude much New Orleans hospitality.

After we got home, we found out that the Place d"Armes Hotel is considered one of the most haunted of all of the NO hotels. Best of all, the room we stayed in (223) was suppose to be the epicenter of the hauntings!! We saw and heard absolutely nothing out of the ordinary (darn it). The story is that the building formerly in that location was a boys' school in which there was a fire. A number of students and the headmaster were killed. The haunting is suppose to consist of the sound of children playing in the courtyard and/or the sighting of an older gentleman with a white beard who disappears when spoken to or followed. Other folks claim to have taken pictures with blue "fog" in them.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you want a French Quarter experience. There is enough atmosphere and charm to offset the older facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paperclip1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

If you want to be in the heart of the historic French Quarter, there is no way to improve on the location of this hotel. Just check a Google map and you'll see what I mean.

The courtyard is also a lovely example of a historic French Quarter staple. This is the real thing, folks, not some Disneyesque approximation. The hotel has two courtyards. The larger one has a pool, but both are beautiful and relaxing. You can't leave the hotel without walking past the pool, so don't feel as though you have to ask for a "pool view."

The hotel comprises several old buildings around two small courtyards. From the reviews I've read here, I get the feeling that the rooms themselves are hit-or-miss. Even though I booked months in advance, I was given a first floor room that, while clean, was a little worn down. It looked like it had last been remodeled in the '60's or '70's. Water pressure and temperature were fine. Biggest disappointment: the "exposed brick" wall was painted brick, which really diminished the charm of staying in an historic property.

If I ran the hotel I would refurbish the rooms and increase the rates to recoup the costs. If I were staying at the hotel again I'd ask to see other available rooms before accepting one.

I would not be afraid to stay at the hotel again. Parking, at $22 a night is a decent deal for the Quarter, and I do believe the staff is trying to provide a good experience.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank David_and_Allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Do not stay in a lower level room especially room 108 near the pool/courtyard! Horrible mold smell/problem. We had to move to the 4th level to a room with no courtyard view, but not being around the mold was worth not having a view of the courtyard if you can image that. The manager was only able to credit us $20 a night, which was more then if we would have booked a 4th level room with no view prior. Great Location. Beautiful grounds. The room we ended up staying in was decent. Would stay again because of the location and price, but I would check the from 1st before paying.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank riishthrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Ah, New Orleans

New Orleans is back baby ! The staff and rooms at the Place De Armes are great. Location is super......Great cental spot for all of your French Quarter activies.

Kudos to the managment.

Basinger family.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We just got back from staying three days at the Place d'Armes Hotel and everything was wonderful. The hotel is just like, if not better, than before Katrina. We go to New Orleans every year and always stay at this hotel if there is availability. The rooms are alway nice and clean and the courtyards are beautiful. The continental breakfast is delicious. We will stay here again and again.

The Basingers from Georgia

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Dothan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,431 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,774 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £87 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing