We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Return Trip as good as the First” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
pontoon beach, il
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Return Trip as good as the First”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our group of 5 ladies returned to NOLA and this hotel for a long weekend. Staff was and is friendly and fantastic. Love the Courtyard for sharing experiences over wine with other guests, a quiet respite steps away from the heart of the French Quarter. Coffee, juice and rolls are a nice plus for breakfast. Rooms are basic but pleasant. We had a few repeats of the paranormal we experienced before but nothing really scary. Just pleasant "spirits" all around!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojosgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    806
    187
    89
    66
See reviews for
406
930
86
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ryegate, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Would not stay here again. Very loud. Uncomfortable bed. No hot water to shower with the day we left and no apology offered. The room was clean and beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room was street level and so incredibly loud. People would pause to talk, shout, laugh etc. rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have been staying at Place d'Armes for 25 years. Situated just off Jackson Square, this is one of the most conveniently located hotels in the French Quarter. If you are looking for the cookie cutter convention hotel/one size fits all environment, well, this is not it. No two rooms are exactly alike. A new adventure awaits each time you visit. The hotel features balconies overlooking the street, or if you prefer, the courtyard. We have always found the rooms to be clean, neat and orderly. Bear in mind that the hotel is very old and modernization has occurred over the years on an "as-needed" basis.

Continental breakfast is served each morning just off the courtyard. You can enjoy croissants, juice and coffee around the pool if you like, or take it back to your room. Breakfast staff along with the rest of the hotel staff is always helpful and friendly.

An absolutely wonderful experience whether for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: Most upstairs courtyard rooms allow you to leave your curtains opened if you wish, as opposed to gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlinchaser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I called the Place d'Armes Hotel on October 25 to book a room for one week in May 2012.The woman was so rude and told me that there is a $200 booking fee for this room.We travel extensively in Europe and here and have never heard of this practice so we are staying at the Rosevelt Hotel .They were very helpful and have already sent brochures on their property.
thanks bev de la Pena

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Guest called to reserve a room during Jazz Festival special event weekend, which requires a $200 deposit, typical of all hotels in the French Quarter area. The hotel reservations agent was cordial and professional at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varies
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Although we were only here two nights, they were the best two nights of our holiday (the rest was spent at Lifestyle Crown Villas--see review).

Not only is the location a delight, the rooms were lush, the staff cordial and helpful--I can say I love this hotel, and, even though I'm a NOLA native, it will be the only place I'll stay when I'm in the City.

There was a slight incident that occurred, and, I'm pleased to say the Manager, Bobby Valentine, called me to make sure all was well, and asked if there was anything he could do to correct things. What a refreshing attitude!! Culpability!!

Stay here... you won't regret it in the least.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing St. Ann.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FuntoTrvl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in the Hotel D' Armes for the Colts/Saints game. The location is absolutely excellent and the breakfast was very nice. Just pastries, fruit, & coffee, but yet very good. Sat in the courtyard which was very nice. We stayed in a room for only $79, an amazing rate for the location which was only 2 block away from Bourban. The hotel itself was right next to the Cathedral and open park area. 1 block away from Cafe Du Monde. The only issue was that the room we were in was like being in a shoe box. No windows and very very uncomfortable. The shower did not work at all. The TV in the room was from the 1960's. A small 12" box. It was a very uncomforable feeling from the moment we stepped in the room. Felt like something was in the room with us. Couldn't sleep all night. Next morning asked if we could have a room with windows, but none were available. We decided to check out due to the uncomfortable feeling, and as we were gathering our belongings and about to leave, we were in the bathroom and right in front of us something or someone, sounded like a little boy went pee right in front of us. My husband and I got chills. It was unreal! We knew something was in there.. Come to find out we looked up the history of the hotel, and well, you can figure on your own what was going on. So we left...Have to say though the staff was very nice and as we walked by other rooms they looked nice, ones w/windows, but I will never stay in a room without windows ever again there.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a windowless room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuntoTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband & I and another couple stayed at the Place d'Armes the w/o 10/17. My 4th trip to NOLA and the other couple's first. We loved the Hotel, would stay there again. At first I did not like the location of my room, so they changed it and we were next to our friend's room and each of us had the balcony overlooking Chartres St. and Jackson Square. Every AM, my husband would go get all of us coffee & brkfst and we would sit out there and see the sights, sounds of the French Qtr. It was AWESOME. The front desk clerks and bell boys were so very nice and accomodating. The courtyard was so warm, welcoming and secluded - we met a few people who have stayed there many times. Well, if we return to NOLA, that's where we will be. Also, across the street was Stanley's Rest. Delicious brkfst & food!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms # 223 or 221 w/ balconies, Next time I would like the rooms w/ the balcony at the corner of S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing