We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you know what it means to miss New Orleans . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Do you know what it means to miss New Orleans . . .”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We love this place and when staying at the Place D'Armes you get the real feel for New Orleans living, since this hotel is made up of eight historic town homes in the center of the French Quarter. The courtyard is a fantastic secret garden to explore, and where you can relax or take a swim. We love that it takes just minutes to walk to anywhere in the Quarter, and it's so nice to just go out the front door for a stroll around Jackson Square, where musicians, performers and artists entertain travelers from around the world. The staff at Place d'Armes is so very helpful, and they take good care of you, while making you feel right at home in their wonderful city. (Thank you Dionne, Chris and Lynn!)
We already miss New Orleans, and can't wait for our next trip there, and our stay at Place d'Armes!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyandAlycia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    832
    189
    91
    66
See reviews for
425
957
90
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Rooms excellent if you ask for quiet room. Our room had separate bedroom and good facilities; also plates, cutlery, table and chairs etc. TV in our lounge and bedroom.

Continental breakfast is bit sparse, danish and tea/coffee, apples.

Location good as far enough away from Bourbon Street but in nice restaurant area.

Room Tip: You can here noise from all directions but just ask for quietest room. You have to accept this is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is so cute, and in such a great location. We took a cab from the airport and just walked everywhere. It's an older hotel, but it is classic New Orleans. We had the two rooms in the back with the private courtyard for a big party. It was perfect. And they were very accommodating with splitting the rooms 8 ways. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenb0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Was on a Carnival Cruise and met some really nice people that we had a wonderful time with sailing on the Carnival Conquest. They recommended this hotel as they frequent yearly. We were not disappointed at all. This hotel is in the French Quarter walking distance from all the fun! But the hotel itself was quaint, beautiful, rich in history, had a beautiful courtyard with a pool, french rod iron table and chairs, lush gardens, and a wonderful view of the lovely rooms. Our inside room on the 4th floor appeared recently remodeled but kept the charm and beautifully decorated with historical antiques. Mrs. Clean was here prior to obtaining this room. They had coffee, fruit, and French pastries for breakfast in the morning in a sun room that had comfortable table and chairs. The staff was friendly and directed us whenever we asked for help. They gave us a 3am wake up call and had our taxi waiting for us when we were ready to leave for the airport. We are already discussing a return trip and staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: We booked this room at the last minute and they had limited selection and choose an inside room. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here this March for a large scale family reunion. The rooms were decent sized and clean but the real value were the courtyards and outside sitting areas. The hotel courtyards were great for sitting with family and catching up on stories. On a great street just down from Bourbon Street with none of the noise. Only a stroll to the river, parks, Cafe Du Monde, and lots of restaurants! Highly recommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matherdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I just returned from my most recent trip to New Orleans. This was my second stay at the Place d'Armes and I'll never stay anywhere else. I've visited NOLA dozens of times and stayed in several French Quarter hotels but none compare. The rooms are great with nice deep bathtubs for soaking, the location is incredible and it's quiet. Just those things are enough for a great stay but then when you add the beautiful courtyard and the fabulous staff it makes for a beyond belief experience! Mario was our concierge during most of our stay. He was friendly, helpful and a lot of fun to chat with. On the very first morning of our vacation we had the pleasure of meeting Carlos the maintenance man when we were drinking coffee in the courtyard. He stopped to chat for a minute or two with us every morning after that and, on the last day, he brought us a small bag of Mardi Gras beads to take home to our grandkids! He gave us all a hug, told us to have a safe trip home and said that he'd be watching for us on our visit next year. What a wonderful man! Mario & Carlos will always be remembered by us as very special parts of a great stay at Place d'Armes in New Orleans.

Room Tip: You can't beat a ground floor courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanmariegaskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Loved, loved this hotel. It was quaint and quirky and maybe a little bit haunted. (We had a couple of unexplainable experiences, but oddly they were not too scary and only added to the hotel's unique charm.) We had a ground floor room in the back near the smaller courtyard which was extremely private and felt like it was just for us. When we first walked in I was immediately aware of a musty odor in the room. We turned on the AC and I sprayed some Febreeze and soon it was gone. I think it was from being unused for a while and maybe a little of the smell of NOLA itself. I guess you get used to it. The room was large and clean enough, but we stayed three nights and never once had a visit from housekeeping. The lobby was small and you must go through it when leaving and entering the hotel. There was a lovely gated walkway right outside the lobby that could have been used to enter and exit without going through the lobby, but it was kept locked the entire time we were there. The lobby staff and valet were friendly and helpful but not overbearing. The absolute best perk of this hotel is the location, location, location! I loved being minutes away from Jackson Square and my favorite, Cafe Dumonde. Bourbon Street is close, but far enough away to not be bothered by the noise and craziness. I can't wait to go back to NOLA and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimblyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing