We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right in the center of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #32 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“right in the center of everything!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Location was amazing! We came to New Orleans for a bachelorette party - 6 girls and 2 rooms (119 and 120) and couldn't have asked for a better location to be. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to party and walk home!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    840
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
439
977
93
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A friend had recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. What a special find to enjoy an elegant lush courtyard just for us guests - right in the middle of the French quarter! You can walk nearly everywhere you would want to go in New Orleans. A quiet oasis in the middle of the city. Rooms were charming. Only small issue was the hard pillows (bring your own if you like soft ones). Other than that, the staff was incredibly helpful, going above and beyond ordinary attention to answer our questions and meet our needs. Hotel is highly recommended and we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percy763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Place d’arms for New Year 2010 but I am not able to select that date on trip advisor. This is a great great little hotel, what it lacks in modern decor it makes up for in location and charm. Located right off Jackson Square you could not be better placed for the French Quarter. The rooms are good but not great, quite old and could do with an update, but that is part of the charm of most New Orleans hotels. If you expect bang up to the minute hotels in this city you will pay a very high price for it and it will be a far more corporate experience. The hotel is great value; the staff were wonderful and really made our stay memorable.
New year in Nola is a crazy time, with the New Year celebrations as well as the sugar bowl college football, the town is filled with revellers. However you are never far away from a quite street or bar to take a rest from it all.
This hotel has charm, its like stepping back in time, from the gas lamps on the streets you could very well be in the 19th century.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Delightful European style hotel with secluded courtyard. Friendly helpful staff. Right in the heart of French Quarter with next-door parking facility. Had trouble c bathtub draining and they fixed it right away. Great price.

Room Tip: Ask about street view vs courtyard view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottingkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We love this place and when staying at the Place D'Armes you get the real feel for New Orleans living, since this hotel is made up of eight historic town homes in the center of the French Quarter. The courtyard is a fantastic secret garden to explore, and where you can relax or take a swim. We love that it takes just minutes to walk to anywhere in the Quarter, and it's so nice to just go out the front door for a stroll around Jackson Square, where musicians, performers and artists entertain travelers from around the world. The staff at Place d'Armes is so very helpful, and they take good care of you, while making you feel right at home in their wonderful city. (Thank you Dionne, Chris and Lynn!)
We already miss New Orleans, and can't wait for our next trip there, and our stay at Place d'Armes!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyandAlycia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Rooms excellent if you ask for quiet room. Our room had separate bedroom and good facilities; also plates, cutlery, table and chairs etc. TV in our lounge and bedroom.

Continental breakfast is bit sparse, danish and tea/coffee, apples.

Location good as far enough away from Bourbon Street but in nice restaurant area.

Room Tip: You can here noise from all directions but just ask for quietest room. You have to accept this is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomball, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is so cute, and in such a great location. We took a cab from the airport and just walked everywhere. It's an older hotel, but it is classic New Orleans. We had the two rooms in the back with the private courtyard for a big party. It was perfect. And they were very accommodating with splitting the rooms 8 ways. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenb0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 164 in New Orleans
1,303 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,585 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,195 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,817 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#43 of 164 in New Orleans
3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing