We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel many years ago, and loved the location. We enjoyed this hotel again. It is located virtually steps away from the main sights in the French Quarter. Our room was small but nicely decorated and quiet. The people tending to the breakfast bar and the valet for the parking lot were very friendly. The receptionists seemed to have tended to too many guests to be friendly, but they did their job in a professional manner. The room prices tend to be high for the modest size of the rooms, but we can forgive that because of the beautiful courtyards and the convenience of having the best of the French Quarter right outside the doorway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif0rniadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,384 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently spent 3 days in New Orleans and this hotel was the perfect location!!! We were close enough to Bourbon street to walk and enjoy the nightlife but far enough away to have quiet and relaxation at the end of the day!! We were also a block from Decatur street and Cafe Du Monde.The room was cozy and quiet for sleeping and the internal garden was lovely for sitting and relaxing. Great value for the money!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Any hotel that warrants repeat visits must be doing something right; such is the case with
the Place 'd Armes. Great location, excellent and friendly staff, and a very nice courtyard
to gather for an unofficial "happyhour" every evening and a chance to meet other guests
and perhaps share information about places to shop, eat, or visit while in New Orleans.
Our group is already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just off Jackson Square perfectly located for exploring the Quarter with a lovely little courtyard with lounge chairs sprinkled around a small pool BUT...the inexpensive rooms are inexpensive for a reason. Rooms marked 'inner' do not face the courtyard. They face nothing. They have no windows. This wouldn't be so bad except the lighting is inadequate with one, dim general illumination lamp and only one, dim bedside lamp. If you're there with a date, better hope she's illiterate because only one of you can read in bed at a time. Breakfast is included but it is minimal, couissants, coffee and "fresh" orange juice which wasn't.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the term "Inner" rooms. It doesn't mean courtyard facing it mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowntownAby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

To our knowledge, the term "inner" is not used anywhere in our descriptive materials or on any 3rd party sites. Our "Interior Windowless" room category is actually among the most popular of our room types for guests who desire our great location and lovely historic facility, but at the best value possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Location was amazing! We came to New Orleans for a bachelorette party - 6 girls and 2 rooms (119 and 120) and couldn't have asked for a better location to be. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to party and walk home!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A friend had recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. What a special find to enjoy an elegant lush courtyard just for us guests - right in the middle of the French quarter! You can walk nearly everywhere you would want to go in New Orleans. A quiet oasis in the middle of the city. Rooms were charming. Only small issue was the hard pillows (bring your own if you like soft ones). Other than that, the staff was incredibly helpful, going above and beyond ordinary attention to answer our questions and meet our needs. Hotel is highly recommended and we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percy763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at the Place d’arms for New Year 2010 but I am not able to select that date on trip advisor. This is a great great little hotel, what it lacks in modern decor it makes up for in location and charm. Located right off Jackson Square you could not be better placed for the French Quarter. The rooms are good but not great, quite old and could do with an update, but that is part of the charm of most New Orleans hotels. If you expect bang up to the minute hotels in this city you will pay a very high price for it and it will be a far more corporate experience. The hotel is great value; the staff were wonderful and really made our stay memorable.
New year in Nola is a crazy time, with the New Year celebrations as well as the sugar bowl college football, the town is filled with revellers. However you are never far away from a quite street or bar to take a rest from it all.
This hotel has charm, its like stepping back in time, from the gas lamps on the streets you could very well be in the 19th century.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,432 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,774 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £88 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing