We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Place" To Be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Celebration, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Place" To Be!”
Reviewed 26 February 2008

One of our BEST travel experiences is when we stayed at the Place d'Armes Hotel in New Orleans. Being from New Orleans - it helped me renew my love for this new and improved City. My husband being an artist - felt so inspired that we booked again the very next day for our return visit. We have family in town, but will make each stay to include time spent at the Place d'Armes. The staff, ambiance and rooms were unique New Orleans. My family visited our room at the Place and confirmed our feeling. It felt like we were staying in Europe, but with a Southern charm.

Previously being in the hotel industry for 17 years, we've stayed at unique hotels all over the globe, but the Place d' Armes, like my husband, is the only one that has my heart.

Sandra Sigur & Richard Sznerch
Celebration, Florida

  • Liked — Staff, location and room/hotel ambiance
  • Disliked — Loved it all.
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ssigur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    822
    189
    90
    66
See reviews for
418
949
90
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We stayed in the Place d'Armes on February 7th to 10th , the weekend after Mardi Gras, and we found it to be a great hotel !

We booked the hotel by contacting the staff directly. We were worried after reading some of the tripadvisor reviews that we might get a room without windows, especially when the written confirmation did not give us any assurance. However, when we called the staff, they assured us that we would get the room we asked for. We stayed in a room on the third floor, which overlooked Chartres Street, and has easy access to the balcony that runs the length of the chartres st side. Whatever street noise there was at night was no worse than Hoboken, New Jersey, where we live.

The Place d'Armes hotel is a complex of old buildings clustered around two courtyards. We were able to eat breakfast in the courtyard, which was a great way to start each day. There is a small swimming pool, but the weather was not warm enough to use it during our stay.

The greatest advantage of this hotel is its location, which could not be better. It allowed us to get tickets for the 9am National Park Ranger tour of the French Quarter, and allowed us to wander around the quarter during our stay. We ate at three great restaurants which were all a few blocks walk: Irene’s Cuisine and Café Amelie, which are literally only two blocks away each, and Olivier’s, which is on Decatur, close to Canal Street. The hotel is two blocks away from the river bank in one direction, and two blocks from Bourbon Street. This part of the French quarter seemed to be very safe, any hour of the day or night. We toured the Cabaldo, and we browsed around the shops on Royal Street and elsewhere. The staff at the Place d’ Armes, particularly Laura and Sandy were helpful. They recommended a plantations tour, which we took during our stay.

There were a couple of negatives: the people in one of the rooms on our corridor were smoking throughout their stay, despite the fact that this is a non-smoking hotel. Also, during the stay, the locks on the doors in our corridor were changed. We were not told why, but I guess this shows a willingness of management to take some post-Mardi Gras precautions !

Overall, we would recommend this hotel, primarily because of its location, and its historic feel.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

The entire experience at Place d’Armes was delightful. Everyone, from the staff at the parking garage when we entered to the bellmen, front desk staff, and support staff were the finest that I ever encountered in New Orleans. I travel quite a bit for my job, and I can tell you that the Place d’Armes outclassed every hotel that I have seen anywhere in Europe and the US. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The staff went above and beyond expectations to make the stay memorable. The setting, the class, and the experience was true New Orleans Southern hospitality. The location is just a few feet from historic Jackson Square, and is an easy walk to the French Market, the antiques on Royal Street, or the nightlife on Bourbon Street. There are many wonderful and unique shops nearby where treasures from around the world can be found. The restaurants nearby range from family eateries to fine dining. We were there because a member of our family was getting married on Valentine's day. We did the ceremony at the hotel in their spectacular courtyard. The hotel staff did everything that we asked to make that very special day one to remember. I strongly recommend the Place d’Armes for your next stay in New Orleans.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank johntlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Business fan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We frequent New Orleans on business throughout the year. We have stayed at different hotels, but found this little secret that is only blocks away from business associates as well as fine dinning right next door, also in the surrounding area.We have stayed during the best and worst (convention times) there and found the rooms are safe,secure,quiet,clean as well as COOL !! That is very important when you are staying in New Orleans.The parking is secure and they are excellent in giving you driving directions. The staff is excellent !!

The breakfast is a french pastry, cinnamon roll, orange juice, french coffee, regular coffee and all the fixings. !! Very good for most standards today.

Try this Little Secret place and you will not be disappointed !!

  • Liked — Quiet, secure COOL room
  • Disliked — Needs more light in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEABusinessfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

I booked 2 nights at this hotel because of how beautiful it looked. Thinking it would be the same on the inside but I was wrong. The room smelled moldy and the bed was very uncomfortable. The location is nice but this place really needs to boost security. We parked our car in their "garage" thinking it was safe but to our surprise, we had some articles stolen. We tried contacting the owner. After many attempts, he reached us back and offered a one night stay here. One night stay at a hotel where we had something stolen from us? I dont think it would be very pleasant.

  • Liked — Area
  • Disliked — Security
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia_Tourist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

After a 12 hour road trip, my friends and i were ready to shower and hit the french quarter. the guest attendant who checked us in was rude to one in my party who simply asked for the restroom. after we were given the keys to our room...we all remarked at how everything looked just as it did on the website, the swimming pool, fountains & courtyard...until we reached our room. it was nothing like the picture, small, cramped, and we found cigarette butts in the fireplace, the bathroom floor & tub had hair in it and none of us wanted to guess what the black ring was in our toilet...so it wasn't clean either. after complaining to the gm Mr. Valentino, who told us they were booked for the weekend. we decided to get something to eat and weigh out our options. as we were leaving the hotel we passed by our room. or at least the one that made us book with this hotel. the door was open and had not been attended to by housekeeping. what really got us angry was that it was well after 5 by this point, which means that no one was checking into this room..and your hotel is completely booked???? we immediately requested to speak with Mr. Valentino, who stalled us for another 10 minutes. we explained our dissatisfaction and treatment since arrival and requested that our room be changed. it's right in the heart of the quarter, close walking distance to the french market, bourbon, and some of the best restaurants. but if you book here be prepared to put up a fuss if you want a room that looks anything like the one they advertised.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHELLE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Place D Armes between February 10-17. Although we normally stay at Hotel Monteleone; we picked the Place D Armes for this trip due to its location and the reviews on this site.

PROS:
Location - The location of this hotel at Jackson Square is excellent.
Courtyard - The ambiance of the large courtyard gives you the feel of the French Quarter.

CONS:
Room - We stayed in Room 319 which was a deluxe one bed room that was in the three story building at the end of the main courtyard. One of the problems with this type of older hotel is that there can be a lot of inconsistencies from one room to the next, which is bore out by the varying reviews on this hotel. Some of the problems noted were: / We found that the sitting area of the room was very dark. When we checked it out there was a light bulb missing from this two bulb lamp. / One of the bedside lamps was broken and not functional. / The window curtain to the common use balcony had a torn lining and would not close tightly. / The electrical receptacle which had been added to the brick wall in the sitting area was not securely anchored to the wall.
Bathroom - There were louvered doors leading in to the sink area and subsequently into the toilet & tub area. This meant privacy was somewhat limited and the noise from the hairdryer would overpower the TV. / There was not a exhaust fan in the toilet & tub area. / Sink area was small and very cluttered after adding our toiletries.
Ice Machine - The only ice, soda, and snack machines were located close to the reception area. We couldn’t have been much farther away and during a stormy night you had to go through the courtyard to get there.
Staff - We found the receptionists to be indifferent.
Hot Water - When we arrived on Sunday night, my wife found the water for her bath that night was not particularly hot. The next morning, though, the water was nice and hot.
Mice - We had an unexpected visitor one night - a mouse. Would guess that he came in under the door which had a gap of at least an inch between the bottom of the door and the floor. The hallway outside the door led directly outside. Although this intruder did not bother me, I did not tell my wife about him until we got home.

NEUTRALS:
Breakfast - The breakfast included in the room price consisted of croissants and sweet buns with coffee and orange juice. We only ate the breakfast once during our stay. I either liked a full breakfast or, more often than not, went to the Café Du Monde for café au lait and beignets.

Although the negatives far out number the positives in my review, this hotel is not really as bad as it may seem. Too often the faults of a particular room seems to stick in the mind more than the good aspects of the overall stay. Also it seems that by reviews from others that have stayed here there are some excellent rooms within this hotel. Yet, will probably not stay at the Place D Armes again. Although the location is excellent there are a lot of great choices within and at the outskirts of the French Quarter.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Specific Room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max42044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
1,188 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
591 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
2,427 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
2,968 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing