We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not ask for more in a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I am sure all reviews will tell you that this place has a fantastic location, which it does. It is minutes from everything which makes it so easy to enjoy your day. We would come and go from our room all day as we would pass by it as we went out to things. We had a room looking in toward the courtyard which were recommended by other Trip Advisor comments as it would be quieter. Room was clean, quiet and staff were helpful. There is good security and gates and door are locked at night. The courtyard has a very cute French feel with a fountain and tables to sit at. We did not use the pool as its quite small and seemed to always have kids in it, but no big deal. The complimentary breakfast is good. It provides basic pastries, tea, coffee, and juice. Compared to other free breakfasts we had experienced in the South this was heads above the rest. On a side note, if it interests you, pop in to the cigar shop next door - we bought a couple of cigars from a crazy sales lady and sat on the patio outside our room looking in to the courtyard watching the sunset with a couple of beers and was a great treat from the chaos of Bourbon Street. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biggiesalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,298 - 1,304 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

This place couldn't have been in a better location in the French Quarter!! We were between Bourbon and Royal street. The pool and courtyard were beautiful. The only problem was our room had an odd smell the whole time but it was always clean.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Chose this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews and as usual the reviews were right. Last time in NO we stayed in Garden District, this time we wanted to be more in the heart of things, and you can't do much better than Place d'Armes. We never moved the bike the entire trip, walked everywhere or took the trolley. We had an awesome room overlooking the courtyard, it was the end room so wide room with a sofa sitting area and queen bed. Yes this is an older property like most here so hallways, elevators and bathrooms are on the small side; but the property is well maintained and very clean. Hubby walked to Cafe DuMond just down the street for beignets and we had breakfast in the courtyard. Very nice. And always finished our night off with a drink & cigar in the courtyard. It is very shelted with trees, lots of flowers...just feels so comfortable just like being at home. Continental breakfast is included but its just juice, coffee and pastries. Be prepared for parking fee, it's extra like most NO hotels.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small so be sure to talk with staff to get the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My family (me, my husband, and our two young children) stayed at Place d'Armes Hotel for two nights in August 2012. It was everything we were hoping for in a hotel. The hotel staff were so sweet and great at their respective jobs. Everyone, from the valets to the front desk staff to the cleaning staff, was wonderful.

Our room was beautiful. We stayed in one of the interior rooms (without windows), and I have to say I really liked it. My only complaints with the room are that the door to the bathroom didn't shut all the way and the TV reception wasn't great. Other than that, everything was perfect. The decor was very nice. We could hear some outside voices through our fireplace, but it wasn't ever a problem (none of us were ever kept awake by it).

We did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfasts the two mornings we were there (I heard from other guests that it was pretty good, as far as hotel breakfasts went) because the hotel was just a block away from Cafe du Monde. Jackson Square is right outside the hotel doors, pretty much. So, you can enjoy the view of the cathedral, some museum buildings, and a small park as you make your way to your delicious beignets at Cafe du Monde. There are also artists and musicians all along Jackson Square every day, as well as a few shops.

The French Market is only a couple of blocks down from Cafe du Monde. The hotel is within walking distance of Bourbon Street, as well. We did walk down to the Audubon Aquarium and Audubon Insectarium (both are only about a mile away from the hotel) on one of the days we were in New Orleans. It's not a very long walk, and you get to see so many shops and things along the way that it makes the trip fun.

The prices was also very, very good. We payed about $80 per night (on a Sunday night and Monday night), before taxes. Valet through the hotel is a bit expensive (about $30 per day), but if you don't plan on driving until you leave, I'd recommend doing it through the hotel. You never know if you'll find public parking near the hotel.

If we're ever in New Orleans again, we'll be staying at Place d'Armes. The location, staff, and quality of the hotel made our trip so wonderful. I will recommend this hotel to others who might be traveling that way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have stayed at the Place d'Armes several times and it's the only place we will stay. Not interested in trying another hotel. Unbelievable price for the location, so close to Cafe Du Monde you can smell the beignets. We have stayed in the spacious, balcony rooms, as well as the cozy interior rooms and have been completely satisfied. Friendly staff and beautiful courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with lots of charectar. We had a room in the Courtyard and it was just lovely. Lots of trees and plants, water fountain, swimming pool. You could almost forget where you are sitting there. Continental breakfast was okay. Same thing everyday, would had been nice if it was mixed up a bit...maybe bagels one day or sweet rolls. Room was a little dark for my liking. I would have preferred a brighter room. Cold water seemed to not exist...we were there in August so maybe the pipes are just not bringing cold water up. Room had a safe to use which was nice to have.

Hotel is located about 1/2 a block from Jackson Square. Lots of restaurants located close by. Best place if you want to be close to everything. River was 2 blocks away.

We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be careful when reserving your room. Do not reserve inner rooms...they don't have windows..unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed two nights August 16& 17, 2012. Desk clerks were rude, hardly ever spoke to us. Had to wait 3 hours for our room to be ready. Hotel was very rustic and courtyard was beautiful. The cleaning staff was very nice. Good location, but just felt like they need some customer service training.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,777 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,348 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £88 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing