We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to let the good times roll”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Abruzzo, Italia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good place to let the good times roll”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel has a great location. Depending on the purpose of your visit to NoLa I would say perfect location. Easy walk to Frenchmen street (real music scene unlike Bourbon Street), just a few steps to Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde and the French Market. Close enough to Bourbon Street, but still quiet. Hard to imagine a better location really.

The central courtyard is really very lovely... nice place to have a coffee in the morning, or an evening nightcap. There's even a small pool if you feel like a swim.

Other aspects are average or mixed. The staff is mostly friendly, but at times not particularly enthusiastic (with the notable exception of one bellhop ... a lady whose name I can't remember ... she's fantastic). The rooms are small and dark as you would expect in the French Quarter, and while our room was not shabby, it was a bit drab, and the bathroom could use an update. Bed, linens and pillows are not great. The A/C was very loud.

Overall though, no major complaints, and the price is reasonable, especially when you consider the overall atmosphere of the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headin_on_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    832
    189
    91
    66
See reviews for
425
960
90
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a great balcony room on St. Ann. We went during the week rather than going during the weekend. Same great service and a bit less hectic than the weekend. Ann at the front desk made sure that we knew where to go for great dining and all of the other staff members were just as helpful. Location of this hotel is second to none-close to just about everything yet just off the beaten path.

Room Tip: We like balcony rooms, but you will hear all the noise from the streets! So if you want a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetieshotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel is very elegantly decorated with a real french feel. The garden courtyard area is just lovely, with a small pool and canopy of trees. Unfortunately we couldn't get a balcony room, so didn't have much of a view. Breakfast is limited, but nice pastries are on offer which you can sit with in the courtyard. Good location- close enough to Bourbon Street but without any noise at night when you're trying to get to sleep. Staff were helpful. But beware- you will not get wifi in your room, you will have to sit in the reception area. Very easy to get to from the highway, and parking is available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for the major sights in New Orleans. Turn left out of the hotel and walk a few paces and you're at Jackson Square. The other direction and only a couple of blocks and you're on Bourbon Street. The Place d'Armes is a beautiful quaint hotel with a lovely courtyard with seating and a pool. I would suggest though that you don't book an interior room. Our room was meant to be with balcony or street view, which is kind of what we got. There were no windows in our room but it did at least open out onto an interior balcony overlooking the pool but my daughter's room at the front of the hotel only had a couple of small windows. Therefore the rooms did seem rather dark but they were at least very tastefully decorated and were very clean and spacious. I would imagine that the interior rooms could be a little claustrophobic not having any windows. (only my thoughts!) Breakfast wasn't really great but adequate with only croissants and muffiins and juice, coffee etc. The desk staff maybe could have been a little more accommodating but we actually didn't really need their services while we were there. Robert though was very friendly and helpful!! We took a trip on the Natchez steamboat which was really nice and relaxing and took the bus to the Garden district which was also well worth the trip. The Natchez is only a short walk beyond Jackson square and the buses and trolley buses were available from Canal Street, again only a short walk. There are some fabulous restaurants and bars to be had very close by on Bourbon with non stop music! You must go to Fritzels on Bourbbon, the band were absolutely amazing (drinks were very expensive here but at least we took advantage of some great music) Another must is Cemetery No.1. Not too far to walk (close to Louis Armstrong Park) and well worth the visit if you get the unofficial tour from Walter Ross Jr.!! He told and showed us so many interesting facts about the cemetery that we really didn't mind giving him his suggested tip!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room, either front or inner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefamilyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

You can't ask for a better location. Directly on the side of Saint Louis Cathedral within walking distance to everything. Far enough from Bourbon so it is quiet! Staff was very friendly and helpful ! Courtyard is nice to sit instead of a hotel lobby. Will definitely stay here again! Oh and complimentary continental breakfast each morning!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smileymamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel has a good location. Your very close to Jackson Square & also Bourbon Street.
This was our 2nd. trip in the past 3 yrs. to New Orleans. The 1st. time we stayed at The Chateau. So we have pros and cons from both hotels.
Place d' Armes is a little closer to everything we wanted to go to.
We ask to be changed from our 1st. room because the wall air conditioning unit had mold all over the vents, etc. and the tub dripping was noisy.
The 2nd. room had central air & was much cleaner.
When I talked to the office about the mold on the air conditioner, they were very concerned about it and got us in another room right away.
The rooms are a little dated looking, but our 2nd room was clean & we didn't spend much time in it anyway.
They have a place to park your car which there is a daily fee. At the Chateau there was no fee because we were AAA members.
I would say the best thing this hotel has going for it, is the location.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level in the courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Hotel location perfect, Lots of character, hidden courtyards, every room is different. Balcony room to street can be noisy, but excellant for watching the crazy french quarter. The courtyard rooms depending on quests much quieter. Interior rooms have no windows. Our friends did not realize when they booked and felt as if they were in a closet.

Our room could use an upgrade. Please ditch the bedspread, yuck. Carpet too, needed a clean. Balcony was the saving factor.

The courtyards are fantastic. Great place to sit cool down have a drink and meet other quests if you so choose. Did not go in pool but it looked inviting.

Front staff was friendly, and helpful. Breakfast- muffins, croissants coffee, will get you started.

Room Tip: Spend the money upgrade to courtyard or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank citytour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing