We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I absolutely LOVE this hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I absolutely LOVE this hotel!!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Place d'Armes Hotel is an absolutely WONDERFUL charming hotel. We stayed for 6 days this time and thoroughly enjoyed the courtyard and pool area. This rustic hotel is beautifully maintained and the ENTIRE staff are very friendly and fun. We visit New Orleans every year and have stayed at Place d'Armes many times. It is now our permanent vacation destination. The hotel is reasonably priced and you meet people of all ages. So don't worry if you're too young or too old. You will just LOVE the courtyard. It's quiet, centrally located right near Jackson Square in the French Quarter so you're close to lots of shops, restaurants, casino, EVERYTHING! It's just a perfect, wonderful, cozy atmosphere. I recommend this hotel to everyone. We had a great time & I can't wait until it's time to go back next year.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — There's nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCFellowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    837
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
433
975
92
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Beautiful atmosphere! The rooms were a bit dingy for the price but you don't come to New Orleans to stay in your hotel room for hours. Also, we were put in a ground floor room directly across from the elevator. Avoid at all costs if you can!! Reception was very nice and the location can't be beat. My only complaint is that as soon as we checked out and were in the cab heading to the airport I realized with alarm that I had left my brand new, very expensive prescription glasses on the nightstand in the case. I called the hotel immediately (we had only been gone 10 mintues) and they said that room service had not found anything. I know they were lying so that was a bit of a let down. But other than that, it's a charming hotel.

  • Liked — courtyard
  • Disliked — lying housekeeping staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey81597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Going to the Big Easy?

Want a hotel that is quiet but close to all of the action in the Quarter?
Interested in escaping from the heat of the afternoon sun to a pool nestled in one of the Quarter's most beautiful courtyards?

Have I got a hotel for you!

It's none other than the wonderful Place d'Armes hotel.

Literally steps away from Jackson Square in the heart of the French Quarter, the Place d'Armes hotel is, in my opinion, the BEST in ambiance and value. My wife and I have stayed at a number of other hotels in and around the French Quarter over the past 20 years and none of them compares to Place d'Armes. We simply won't stay anywhere else, it is just that great.

The staff was decimated by Katrina and things were a little shaky for about a year but they have gotten everything back together and the hotel is better than it was pre-Katrina. You won't find a nicer bunch of folks from valets, desk clerks, maid service, etc.

Here are some reasons why we love the Place d'Armes so much:

* Less than two blocks from Bourbon St. and our favorite spot: Fritzels European Jazz Bar
* Less than two blocks from Cafe Du Monde (gotta hava java & beignet to start the day!)
* A short walk to Frenchmen St.
* Obscenely quiet despite its location in the center of the French Quarter
* $20 a day in & out parking facility (Katrina taught us to ALWAYS rent a car when in NOLA)
* Courtyard and pool is always well tended and essential on hot afternoons
* Close to all the great shopping everywhere in the Quarter

In closing I will say that we have never had a bad experience at the Place d'Armes and we've been staying there for about ten years now. This hotel is the delicious icing on the beautiful cake of New Orleans. Bon Temps!!

Bob & Cheryl

P.S. Check out the pix we took of the courtyard in May 2008. If these photos don't convince you then.........

  • Liked — Quiet! Ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing! It is flawless
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NotarySojac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Stayed at your hotel, Place de Arms, May 27-30, how interesting to lodge in a strange city and have the privilege to meet so many hotel guests due to the uniqueness of your court yard. We had researched and thusideas as to where to visit, tour or dine. Yet during breakfast or other times when one wishes to enjoy the courtyard the ambiance allows for guests to visit which allows for one to know first had if the proposed establishment is really good. We had planed to dine at a well advertised restaurant, however the talk that morning from others was very negative, so we dined at another recommended and it was GREAT. I will return and will strive to get a reservation with you. By the way, your staff are very well trained in how to make patrons deserving of their stay. It is a wonderfully centrally located establisment, thank you!
Glenn L. Miller

  • Liked — Location, Courtyard, Price
  • Disliked — Room without window
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank glennmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverly hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2008

This is a hidden jewel in New Orleans! The location is prime, the staff is hilarious and soooo helpful and the courtyard is TO DIE FOR. Quiet, serene and private. And the exposed brick walls are a gorgeous reminder of the history and charm that brings me back to my home turf again and again. You can't go wrong. The city is ALIVE and RUNNING! Don't miss out!

  • Liked — The atmosphere and QUIET.
  • Disliked — Expensive vending machines and no mini-fridge in the room.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffany1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariposa, California
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The location really cannot be beat. The hotel is about 2 blocks from Cafe DuMonde (24 hours by the way). It's on the western edge of the square. Basically the hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter, with the French Market and such towards the south east, the steamboat cruises and casinos/shopping to the west. Bourbon Street is walkable in about 5 minutes, but also far enough away that the craziness can't be heard from the hotel.

Everyone entering the hotel has to walk through the small lobby to get to the rooms, which seems like a small but still nice security measure.

Parking is an extra $25 a night, but this is typical for the area. Had no problems leaving the car for 2 nights. Valet was very nice.

We were in a room with no windows, and knew this going in since it had the lowest rate. The room was smaller than some, with a king size bed, but with ample walking room. The sink/toilet and a closet are separated off from the main room. Air conditioning/thermostat worked well, and there was also a ceiling fan. The bed was just ok...it had a significant slope towards the middle, but was comfy nonetheless. The rooms are definitely a bit older. The comforter had a couple of cigarette burns. Carpet a tad worn. But the place was very clean, which is what I care about.

There is a nice small courtyard surrounding a smallish pool. A nice place to read or rest the feet after a long day of sightseeing.

For the location, safety of the area, and character, this hotel can't be beat. The staff was very helpful and nice. I would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marmot1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, wa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days, 3 nights in May of 2008. Here are the highlights:
- clean, large, charming room
- nice pool by which to lounge
- free breakfast snacks
- central to the French Quarter
- super helpful, friendly staff

...and the price was great. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The *best* place to stay in the quarter

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
1,276 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
2,555 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#52 of 163 in New Orleans
1,631 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,154 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing