We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, pleasant staff, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, pleasant staff, great value”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is as beautiful as its pictures, and is an excellent value. Keep in mind that much of it is genuine 18th and 19th century construction, so it will not look as "perfect" as a new hotel. I started in one of the inside economy rooms, which is a good value if you're looking for a bargain room, but isn't anything special. I decided to upgrade to a balcony room for my last two nights. It was small but very lovely, and having a private balcony with a view of Jackson Square off to the side added a lot to my New Orleans experience. There are also balconies accessible to those who don't have private ones, and the courtyard is a beautiful place to relax with breakfast or a drink. For the price, it was elegant, beautiful, fabulous location and views. The staff was consistently helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: The interior rooms are great if all you want is a place to sleep. For more of a bed-and-breakfast e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    822
    189
    90
    66
See reviews for
418
949
90
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I recently blocked several rooms for our class reunion and everyone loved this charming hotel that was just a half block off of Jackson Square. The rooms were adorable with the exposed brick and views of either the courtyard or Jackson Square. The location was absolutely perfect - close enough to everything in the quarter, yet quite enough to get a good night's sleep. No one would ever get full on their continental breakfast that only consisted of coffee and muffins, but that didn't bother me much. The staff was extremely helpful and always willing to give us tips on restaurants, tours, etc. One other perk - I loved the fact that the pool never closed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel provided a wonderful stay. It is beautiful, nestled in a great location to all areas of the French Quarter. The staff, from the parking attendant to the desk receptionist to the breakfast server, was gracious and helpful. As other reviews have stated, not all rooms provide a window view, but that was of little concern. A return visit is a must!

Room Tip: You may prefer a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just a stones throw from Jackson Square and a short walk to Cafe du Monde, this charming hotel is in the perfect location. Far enough from Bourbon St to avoid the noise, but close enough to it to walk. The hotel is clean and has the classic charm of the French Quarter that we were looking for. Staff is friendly and accommodating. We had a room with two double beds with no windows. I worried about it feeling "stuffy" since there weren't windows, instead we found it perfect for sleeping in after a late night!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon week and just loved it! Location is perfect, near the Quarter but far enough away for some quiet time! The complimentary breakfast was good to start our day. We loved this hotel and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is always our place to stay ij New Orleans. I know that everyplace calls itself "the heart of the French Quarter" but this really is. The staff is helpful, friendly and goes above to make sure that things are right. The hotel is old, but so is New Orleans. That's part of the charm. Place d' Armes is clean and has one of the most beautiful courtyards anywhere. Give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_steeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our second stay at this hotel, the first was two years ago for my sons 21 st birthday. I was surprised then how nice and well located it was. When we arrived this time I was prepared , learning last time Forget about early check in! After 4 pm. Service was attentive, greeted us in lobby. The Valet service ($28 per day) was quick and very courteous. Other hotels valet is $32-36 in the Quarter! Great room 508. Nice. I will return to this hidden gem

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
1,190 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
591 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
2,427 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
2,972 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing