We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nawlins!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very nawlins!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

have stayed here a few times. Love it. It is so close to everything. Reasonably priced. Wonderful charm. After reading Brian M's review - he needs to realize that staying in the French Quarter is nothing like staying somewhere like South Beach. Yes, you get a little funkiness in all of the hotels here. Check out the history of each one. Complaining about the size of the pillows - please!!! This is not a 5-star hotel - go to the Omni or some other chain hotel if this is what you are looking for. We stayed upstairs in what was once the slave quarters. Very narrow stairs up to the second floor. Elevator? The stairs were part of the charm. And remember the age of some of these hotels - yes, the water pressure can be a little frustrating but I didn't stay there for the showers. Love the courtyard. Would return in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the "back" section - couldn't be more secluded! Very quiet. Ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    832
    189
    91
    66
See reviews for
425
960
90
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed in room 218 in October 2011. It's a lovely room with two beds and a private balcony facing Charters St. You will enjoy a beautiful view of Jackson Square and the area in front of the Cathedral. You will hear the Cathedral bells, the street musicians & the clip clop of the tour carriage horses, but you will also hear the real life sounds of the Quarter, ie:the occasional sirens and the garbage trucks in the morning. If you want to truly experience the French Quarter, stay here. There's a beautiful courtyard, a simple continental breakfast to start your day, and once you park your car, you can walk everywhere. The staff is helpful. Especially the bellmen.

Room Tip: Room 218 has a private balcony, access via an elevator, and gives you a true New Orleans French Qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cajuncass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port O''Connor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have been visiting New Orleans for the past 21 yrs; of that time, 19 stays at the Place d'Armes; and generally in the same room with the balcony overlooking St. Ann Street and across from the Cathedral. Although their prices have risen to stay in line with the economy, and a few changes have been made, this IS the hotel for the French Quarter. The lack of a bar and restaurant gives the guest the opportunity to visit so many places in this stunning city. Arriving one finds Chris at the garage to take your car, Robert to take your bags to your room, and Ms. Dionne at the front desk. And if you are very lucky, you may find Lyn Casteneda, the manager of the hotel too. We've known Lyn for many yrs and have seen her rise from handling front desk duties to the managerial position, for which she is very capable and well suited.. The room we stay in is a king-sized room with a balcony that prompts you to sit, whether summer or winter. My only complaint is that Community Coffee is no longer available in the room; instead another brand is supplied and the taste is abysmal. But ... Going down to the breakfast room in the morning, one finds good coffee and muffins and croissants with the morning paper too. I could say more re the layout of the room and its furnishings, but this has been said already. Do ck out the art work by Audobon; it's delightful.
And down the street is the Café du Monde, an establishment that has been in operation for well over 150 years; across the street the Cathedral and Jackson Square, and heading slightly north for one half block, is Royal Street, which is delightfully set with many antique shops. And next year, we will be back! God willing and the creek don't rise!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a balcony room; 302 is reachable via the elevator; 228 & 229 via t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I'm rating this 2 stars instead of 1 because of the excellent location. Other than that and a charming courtyard, we'd have no reason to recommend it.

With older small hotels in the French Quarter, you have to expect a little funkiness, since most are converted from connected old buildings. We stayed here at the recommendation of friends who grew up in NOLA, and the pics of the rooms with nice little balconies and all are great, but our room (410) was nothing like that.

When the bellman(who left us waiting on him) finally took us to our room, we were initially pleased. After all, it was a suite, with two good-sized rooms. However, the only window was in the living area....NO windows in the bedroom. The "window" in the living area was accessible only by crouching down to clear about a 5' headroom height and down 3 steps. And then it only looked out on the roof. I've had better lighting in a dungeon.

The whole room was, I guess, a converted attic, and the furnishings were a peculiar collection. The king bed was OK, but I kinda like KING pillows on my KING bed. The bath was just the basics, with very low water flow, and it took ages for the hot water to come out.

The "free breakfast" consisted of juice, coffee, store-bought pastries and a little fruit. There was a large tip jar placed strategically right in front of the coffee dispenser.

We only saw one tiny elevator, and the housekeeping staff used it as well. if you don't mind riding up to your room with a big mop bucket full of dirty water, or two housekeepers arguing with each other, this place is for you.

On the plus side, hardly a better location, but that apparently is what they rely on to attract guests, because there is nothing else that would cause us to return.

Room Tip: Get a guarantee of a specific kind of room, or get another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few nights after spending a few nights at the bourbon orleans. Maybe it is because it's so cold but I shortened my stay here to return to the other hotel. Though the room was very comfortable, I felt like I was at a motel, as you had to walk outside to get to the breakfast/coffee and desk. There is no lobby to speak of, no restaurant or bar. For the same cost, I was able to get a room at the bourbon orleans, which I felt had more amenities. There is really noting wrong with place d'armes, maybe a bit outdated, yet very comfortable. Perhaps if staying here in better weather it would have been more enjoyable.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Place d'Armes is a lovely hotel in renovated 1800's townhouses. My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a a spacious balcony room with a postcard view of St Louis Cathedral. Soaring ceiling, exposed brick walls, the original fireplace and furnished with antique reproductions. The 2 double beds had comfy mattresses, smooth white lines and 5 pillows each. Furnishings included a large chest of drawers, large night stands with additional storage, generous closet space and a safe. The lovely dressing area outside of the bath had a sink and adequate counter space. The balcony room got quite a bit of noise from the street during the day but was reasonably quiet between 11pm and 7 am. My daughter and son-in-law stayed in an interior room which was dead quite. This was also a lovely room with a king bed and identical bath and dressing area to the balcony room but was much smaller. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast consisted of pastry, juice, and coffee and was fresh and convenient. We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Stanley's which is just steps away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have wonderful views. Light sleepers may prefer an interior or courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbyAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Although we have visited New Orleans several times, this was our first visit to Place d'Armes Hotel. We were very pleased with the selection. There is not better location in the Quarter. The courtyard was beautiful, very relaxing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It was little noisy as you could hear the guests upstairs walking. And, also, when guests would walk by the windows in the courtyard. But, really, we were not in the room all that much. We arrived late on a Thursday evening, without luggage because it was not on our plane. The night personnel were so very helpful. I wish I could remember their names. I cannot thank them enough. All information regarding the hotel was given to us. Room location, breakfast times and location, ice machine/soda machine location. He even gave us directions to a local market to get toiletries (our airline did not provide them). We plan to stay here on future visits!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorib91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing