We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard room > Interior room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Courtyard room > Interior room”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Place d'Armes Hotel. As stated in other reviews, this hotel has a fantastic location. Initially we had booked an interior room to save a little money. After the first night we decided we didn't care for a room without a window and upgraded to a courtyard view room. We found this to be much more pleasant. The courtyard room was much bigger and the addition of some natural light made the mornings slightly less groggy. Our courtyard room also had an exposed brick wall which added lots of charm to the place. The breakfast in the morning is very basic - coffee, juice, muffins and danish. None of it was spectacular, but it was nice to have a cup of coffee in the morning in the courtyard. The courtyard is very nice and there is a pool that I'm sure would be great to use in warmer weather. The one thing I think that the hotel really needs is some remodeling to the bathtub/shower area. Right now the white grout shows every spot of mildew and in our second room there seemed to be something going on behind some of the tiles along the tub. If they updated the bathrooms a bit I think it would really go a long way to making the entire room seem nicer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieJo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    835
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
429
972
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel has the most beautiful courtyard and the location is the best! Our rooms were in the main courtyard, and the rooms were perfect. I booked a balcony rooms first, but then changed to courtyard rooms....so glad I did. This hotel is the true New Orleans charm with character!

Room Tip: To get the authentic New Orleans charm stay in a courtyard ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyMC621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Cannot be beat for location in the French Quarter--just steps from Jackson Square, nor for the hidden courtyard and old NOLA feel that one would expect to get at a hotel in the Franch Quarter. The beds were quite comfortable and the room very nice. Please keep in mind though this is a very old building and therefore there are ussues inherent to this one can expect. One was the bathroom. There was water all over the floor due to a toilet tank leak that fortunately got fixed within a couple of hours. Also, the bathroom fixtures are pretty outdated and I think the bathrooms could use an upgrade. There appeared to be mildew and peeling paint on the ceiling in the shower. Other than these things, the room was very nice and we loved the courtyard with all the beautiful gardens. Also, staying here you don't even need your car because you can walk everywhere(Beware though about bringing a car as it is over $20 a day for the hotel valet to park you car on the premises!There is no self parking available). For tours of other parts of the city there are ammenities available for reasonable prices where you can do hop on and hop off type tours and the tickets are good for multiple days. The French Market is around the corner, as are many famous restaurants. From this hotel you can easily immerse yourself into the fascinating history, sites, and wonderful food the French Quarter has to offer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Love. Loved. Loved Wonderful friendly staff. Amazing courtyard area. Old New Orleans charm. Our room was towards the back of a courtyard. High ceilings. Four poster bed. Very comfortable. Large soaking tub. We will return. Short distance to everything in French Quarter especially Cafe du Monde and Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cmbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Place d'Armes Hotel during the New Year holiday. It was cute, quaint and clean The hotel is 2 blocks from Bourbon Street, Jackson Square and you can easily enjoy the walk to Canal street, great restaurants, cemetary #1 and the casino. Hop on and Hop Off bus terminal is on Jackson Square.
Parking is available and the staff is wonderful, especially Dionne who is the best multitasker I've seen in a good while!
We will definitely go back and check out the other rooms near the pool and courtyard!

Room Tip: My room was on the inside with no windows - which was great because I was able to sleep in in comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVallenari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Location is perfect for the Quarter. Walking distance to everything. Will have to say that we had a wonderful stay with no complaints. Friendly staff, everyone we met starting with check in at 11:30 pm until check out, smiled, talked with us and made sure our stay was going well. We had room 222 which was a junior suite. I could live there...it was so big, comfortable and just so clean and well taken care of. This is my 2nd stay there and will most not stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed at the Place d'Armes several times over the past 5 years, and always found it to be such a good value in terms of location, service, and value for the money. And the courtyard there is lovely! However, I am sad to say that my last visit was disappointing. My "courtyard view" room actually faced the brick walls in the back of the hotel, and there was a thick layer of dust on all of the fixtures hanging on the walls, to include picture frames and mirrors. I'm sorry to say that they need to do a big deep clean before I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure your courtyard room actually faces the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,254 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,519 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,156 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing