We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming boutique hotel, close to Jackson Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A charming boutique hotel, close to Jackson Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

When I travel for pleasure, I avoid modern "glass and steel" hotels in favor of the smaller, more interesting places and Place d"Armes filled the bill. Consisting of several 19th century buildings surrounding a theoretically haunted courtyard full of lovely plantings, the hotel offers a range of rooms from small to suites. Friendly staff and great location just steps from Jackson Square and Cafe du Monde. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as St. Ann Street can get a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from St. Ann Street that can be noisy; if you want to avoid steps, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,040
    824
    189
    90
    66
See reviews for
420
950
90
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for our last night in New Orleans and can't wait to come back. The rooms are beautiful, staff is amazing, beds are so comfortable, and location is perfect. I really can't believe how fantastic their prices are on weekdays. I really thought I must have misunderstood and wanted to go back and verify but it really was under $100 a night. Seeing how beautiful it is I now think their weekend prices are more then reasonable too. There is a beautiful courtyard and pool in the middle and many of the rooms have their own private entrance off the courtyard. It was also very quiet even though it was right on a busy street.

If you arrive early they will happily park your car for you and check your luggage until your room is ready. Once you are ready to check in just let them know and they'll quickly deliver your luggage to your room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is an old, charming hotel very close to everything one would like to see in the French Quarter. It was perfect walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, Jackson Square and best of all, Bourbon Street. We had the perk of being close to Bourbon Street but it being nice and quiet at night. The hotel itself is beautiful with a gorgeous inner courtyard and outdoor pool. Our room was a bit disappointing, very, very old furnishings, tattered bedspreads, very noisy air conditioner. When the room was hot, it was stifling hot, when the air conditioner came on, it was an icebox. BUT… our view was amazing, we had a great balcony with a view of Jackson Square.
Our family had a different room and it was considerably better than ours, so we know there are better rooms. If asked if we would have traded rooms, the answer would be no as they didn't have a balcony or view. Great value at this hotel…we would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Lovely hotel, great location, nice staff but paper thin walls. Could hear neighbour snore, talk and cough.
Breakfast was the same every morning... Danish, muffins and croissants! It was very clean, large room and lovely surroundings.
great location, close to everything but still in a nice quiet area.... no noise from the street, except the neighbour in nextdoor room or upstairs.
Staff very kind and helpful.
Shame, about hearing noises next door.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I tried to book the "interior room" at Place D'Armes Hotel in New Orleans only to find out from one of the reviews that the interior room is WINDOWLESS (basically a closet of a room). The hotel purposefully hides this information from customers. Beware! Particularly if you are booking a non-refundable reservation. This is unacceptable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
9 Thank julezzz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Place d'Armes has offered windowless rooms as a clearly described category for over 50 years without difficulty or complaint. It is actually one of the most popular of our room types because of great value (most affordable room type) and the fact that most hotel guests spend little time in their hotel rooms in New Orleans. This room category is clearly indicated and described on all materials, booking processes and written confirmations - no reason to allege otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We went to NOLA in Nov, and were lucky to stay here. Blown away by the gorgeous, amenities, & stellar service. We enjoyed having a balcony in a room with character and the feel of New Orleans was evidenced at every turn. The free continental breakfast was a great start to the day, and we particularly enjoyed it on the patio. Special thanks to Ernest in reservations for making us feel so welcome and special. It takes a very knowledgeable person to truly listen to a person making trips and add to the experience of this wonderful city. KUDOS to all!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony if you want to enjoy the lovely grounds more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAGBGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here for my birthday weekend in mid Sept 2013. We had a room that was in between the consessions and the eating area just before you go outside to the courtyard. The room was clean (no windows) which was fine we like it dark in the mornings. The room was very loud and would not want to stay in that room again. The walls are very thin so you can hear everything. The courtyard is gorgeous and the pool is filled with saltwater. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. Great place to stay for the price. Your a block away from Bourbon and half a block from the Square. Next time were in NO we will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing