We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat in heart of French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently had our second five night stay at the Place d'Armes and it's perfect for a couple with no car. The location, just off Jackson Square means you can walk everywhere in the Quarter but it is so peaceful and quiet with a lovely interior courtyard. The front desk manager, Ms.Dionne Alvarez is a gem. She is calm, courteous and very efficient, and always tries to make things as easy, pleasant and convenient for the guests as possible. The hotel is spotlessly clean and offers a very nice continental breakfast. It is only steps from great restaurants and Ms. Alvarez is very knowledgeable about all of them.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard. Ours was a great junior suite with king bed, sofa, mini-fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDH198123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you're going to New Orleans to spend a lot of money and time in a luxury hotel room, then this is not the place for you. After spending a lot of money for luxury hotels in the French Quarter in many previous visits, we decided that we would rather save some money to spend on more fun things in New Orleans, such as eating, drinking, and shopping for antiques!. If you just need a comfortable bed and a quiet room that is clean and has Wi-Fi, then this will do. Plus as a major PLUS, it has on-site parking!. The courtyard is beautiful, but in January, it was too cold to swim in the swimming pool. We love to go to New Orleans for the food, and yes, we've been known to stop in and drink a Hurricane. We love people watching and it doesn't get much better than in New Orleans. There are two main reasons to stay in this hotel. It is reasonably priced, unlike most hotels in the Quarter, and the location could not be any better. It is literally just down the street from the St Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square and just beyond that is Café du Monde, so even though the breakfast was minimal, we didn't care. We were going to the Café du Monde for beignets and chocolate, anyway.

We like to party on Bourbon street, but as we are older now, we enjoy listening to the bands playing for tips and watching people dance in the street, and then we like to leave the party scene and go back to a quiet area to sleep at night. Just remember that if you get a hotel on Bourbon street, you may have people screaming and bands playing very late. Our room opened onto the interior courtyard and even though there was also a window that opened onto the courtyard, it was very quiet. It's several blocks from Bourbon Street so you can go have fun and then get away when you're ready to recharge your batteries for the next day.

As noted earlier, parking is at a premium in the Quarter and you need to make sure what the price is and where it is located. The parking was included in our room rate, but it was a special off-season rate that may not be available all the time. You need to verify it. The cars are put on an elevator by taken by the valet attendant upstairs. We did not get our car out the entire time we were there because the location is so great. We walked all over the Quarter and down to the ferry to go to Algiers and then stopped by to check out the Casino. We don't gamble at casinos, but walked through it to check it out. By definition, casinos are built to take your money, and do an excellent job of it. (Yes, I know Poker and Blackjack are the only skill games and if you're good enough, you have a chance to make money, as long as you don't drink alcohol which screws up your judgment which is the only edge you have in gambling -- knowing when to hold them and when to fold 'em!).

It is sometimes hard to get a room here because of the location and lower rates and parking, but we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: As noted, our room opened onto the interior courtyard and was really quiet. I don't know if all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent five nights at Place d'Armes on our recent trip to New Orleans. The location is as good as it gets - on a relatively quiet street a half block from Jackson Square and close to everything in the Quarter. Front desk personnel are business-like but do their job, although they are constantly trying to sell tours. Bell staff were very friendly and helpful. Needed them to get luggage to and from our room (no elevator). Corey, especially, was very accommodating. Night before our departure we asked her how to get a cab to the airport. She offered to take care of everything, ordered a cab for 8 the next morning and made sure our luggage was down and loaded into the cab. Good job, Corey! Our room, 226, was on the second floor off in a smaller side courtyard. It was so peaceful and quiet with a lovely view overlooking two courtyards, fountains and the pool. The room was large and fairly up to date. Corners could have been a bit cleaner but overall it wasn't bad. And the room was serviced well each day. Lighting could have been better. One smaller window plus insufficient lighting to put on make up at the bathroom mirror, and for reading in bed. The beds were very comfortable. Pillows (3) were foam rubber and too thick to be comfortable. Also, air conditioner is in the wall next to one of the beds, so we had to block the airflow so cold air was not blowing directly on the bed. We pretty much avoided the continental breakfast except for coffee and juice. It consists mainly of sugar laden grocery store pastries. Can't say enough about the great location - perfect for sightseeing in the Quarter and dropping back to the hotel for rest breaks and to drop of purchases, etc. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 226 is in the back, is larger, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It's a great location but the hotel is tired. Towels were as thick as Bounty. Dust on all the surfaces. e stayed 2 nights and when we got back after the 1st day the coffee maker had not been touched. I called the desk who sent up a guy with new packs of coffee but did nothting about dirtied mugs and coffee maker.
It's noisy. We could hear the people next door and conversation in pool area. I susct people who opened onto the street could hear that traffic. The 'no window' rooms are super tiny and very depressing.
The hotel building has been around awhile .. after it is the Quarter .. but no excuse for the condition of upholstery worn carpets dirty wood work.

Every one was 'fairly' pleasant and helpful but the attitude was more 'I have to do it it's my job' rather than "happy to help." Cab from airport was $33 plus tip .. if you ask them to call a cab for you a van shows up and charges $50. Cal the cab company yourself and save $17.

Breakfast is easy missed unless you like convenience store style pastries and the use cold cereals.

AND serious caution!! I was quoted the lowest discounted price at $224 plus tax. I met another couple who had paid $164 for same room. Every thing was equal.

There are better value accommodations if you wish to stay in the quarter.

Room Tip: View into courtyard can be noisy because of pool .. And while we did not stay in one I would worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcharlesnola, Owner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Sorry hotel wasn't able to satisfy this guest - but - real issue here was room rate. Guest wanted deep discounted travel agent rate on sold out weekend. Once denied, difficulties arose from every angle. Rates are consistent across all room categories - room and service quality are just fine - as evidenced from scores of other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at Place d'Armes hotel and found it very clean, friendly and well priced. All the support personnel were helpful giving us information and arranging our tour reservations when we needed them. They were very willing to accommodate changes we needed to make during our stay. We would definitely recommend this pretty hotel as a great location to get to all sites in New Orleans particularly in the French Quarter and nearby neighborhoods.
We had a great time and will return.

Room Tip: The hotel in general was quiet. We had an interior room and after first not being sure it we liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was a very nice hotel in a PERFECT location! I can't imagine it getting much better for the location and charm of the Place d'Armes. We were in room 221 which had a wonderful balcony overlooking Chartres. We had a nice view of Jackson Square, and the neighbors across the street always had great jazz playing! The room was small but functional. The bathroom could use a little updating. Staff was friendly. The courtyards and pool area were lovely! The setting could not have been more inviting! We did not experience any paranormal activity, which I'm happy to report :) I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: 221 - Queen room. Its smallish but the balcony is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CVALEXANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is an oasis in the French Quarter. Our well appointed room had a HUGE balcony from which one could see Jackson Square. It's a lovely place, and the staff is very nice and helpful with suggestions. If you drive, there's a huge bonus in that off-street parking is available.

I hope to return soon with my husband. This was a trip to take a young friend who had never been to New Orleans, and she loved it.

Great location.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, choose one that faces the courtyard, but we enjoyed our balcony that loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
1,487 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 167 in New Orleans
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,355 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £93 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing